1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What's the longest time Apple has taken to review your app?

Discussion in 'Mobile Marketing' started by macdonjo3, Nov 5, 2014.

  1. macdonjo3

    macdonjo3 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    5,563
    Likes Received:
    4,317
    Location:
    Toronto
    Home Page:
    I have had updates live in less than 3 hours, and new apps usually under 10 days.

    However, what's the longest time Apple has ever taken to review your app?
    How long has Apple taken to REJECT your app?
    I have never had an app rejected, so I'm not sure what to expect.

    I have a viral-type social app that has been in review for about 30 days now.

    I'm wondering if the fact that its not rejected yet, means something? If it was definitely against TOS, it surely wouldn't take this long right?
     
  2. macdonjo3

    macdonjo3 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    5,563
    Likes Received:
    4,317
    Location:
    Toronto
    Home Page:
    Come on guys, I think someone here must have had some apps rejected. I don't think you all are whitehat enough to get them all approved. :)
     
  3. nexusgiants

    nexusgiants Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    a buddy of mine got rejected but it didnt take that long. i can ask how long it took
     
  4. Hella

    Hella Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    3
    There are often circumstances where apple have to do an "extended review". This is often for a minor issue with legality rather than a bug. For example, you have a single use of a copyrighted word on your app. Apple will have to extend the review while the reviewer asks for help in the specific circumstance. It can take up to a month sometimes. I would not try and read into this too much, it doesnt mean that you are any more likely to get approved or rejected.
     
  5. ObjectiveC

    ObjectiveC Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    7
    The process of having your app "waiting for review" generally lasts about 7 or 8 days. The time of it being "in review" anywhere from 1 hour to 2 days.. of course it will be faster if they find an issue and reject it.

    There are also some outlier cases where it is actually in review for longer periods of time. Generally you can expect them to approve your app then.

    Source: personal experience of over 20 submissions
     
  6. Hella

    Hella Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    3
    I wouldn't say that you can expect them to approve you app because its been in review for a longer period. It just means the issue is most probably not a bug / usability issue, and more likely a legality issue.
     
  7. BigBuddy

    BigBuddy Account Under Review

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6,421
    Likes Received:
    14,039
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    BHW
    14 days..

    30 days are longer, just mail them. Appe support is awesome.
     
  8. macdonjo3

    macdonjo3 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    5,563
    Likes Received:
    4,317
    Location:
    Toronto
    Home Page:
    Yep, they respond with something like "thank-you for continued patience as we continue to review your app".

    We are at 1 month and 2 or 3 days now. :)
     
  9. macdonjo3

    macdonjo3 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    5,563
    Likes Received:
    4,317
    Location:
    Toronto
    Home Page:
    Add almost another 3 weeks to that. They must be having a board meeting on it. lol :)
     
  10. BigBuddy

    BigBuddy Account Under Review

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6,421
    Likes Received:
    14,039
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    BHW
    damn, u can find resolution center in ur dev account. use it to mail them again..or remove and resubmit it again.
     
  11. whynotmakeit

    whynotmakeit Power Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    278
    All of the above seem to be correct from my experience of 30 odd apps now approved. Around 7 days, never less and anywhere from 2 hours to 36 hours (once) in review (usually under 1/2 a day). I would highly suspect they they are deciding on something as mentioned already and it has been escalated.
    Just a bit of advice, when you email them be pleasant. Last thing you want to do is piss someone off who has the fate of your app in their hands.....Googleplay on the other hand :)
     
  12. MafiaBoss

    MafiaBoss Elite Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,522
    Likes Received:
    1,031
    Occupation:
    Currently Un-Occupied
    Location:
    In granny's Basement
    Home Page:
    they will be injecting the secret NSA Spying code in your app because they know it will go viral (wait it will get approved soon)

    Insider Info
     
  13. macdonjo3

    macdonjo3 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    5,563
    Likes Received:
    4,317
    Location:
    Toronto
    Home Page:
    It was just approved! What's that, 2 months? :)