1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What's the best way to get reviews? Google+ and Yelp

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by mqs1000, Nov 21, 2013.

  1. mqs1000

    mqs1000 Power Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    56
    I understand the profiles that leave reviews have to be aged and they also need to have left reviews on more than one company. The review itself also needs to be content filled in order to not get filtered. I own 10 private proxies. Can I create 10 different Google and 10 different Yelp accounts, wait till they age, leave businesses reviews on a weekly basis (so it looks realistic) and then leave the reviews on my business? Will they stick if I do that?

    What are some other methods to generating positive reviews?
     
  2. originalposter

    originalposter Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    516
    Why bother going through all those trouble of creating age accounts, proxies, being careful with contents etc.?

    Why not offer good services to your customers, and encourage them to leave you LEGIT reviews that stick?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. kbos2hm

    kbos2hm Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    15
    Occupation:
    Anything that makes money
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    Home Page:
    Just get your customers to write about your great work. If there real its great plus i think google tends to care about them more if they can link them to you IE the person who is writing use google all the time and has plenty of trust with them. Its a slow process but pays. If its a new business google quite often sends the ads for free adwords
     
  4. Bostoncab

    Bostoncab Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    514
    Occupation:
    pain in the ass cabbie
    Location:
    Boston,Ma.
    Home Page:
    I reward customers for leaving reviews, even bad reviews. Print on all your promotional items that they should leave you a review.
     
  5. funkybunker

    funkybunker Supreme Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    1,760
    Occupation:
    BOSS
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    Incentive works. Why else did our parents do it all the time? Precisely.

     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. Logician

    Logician BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    581
    The problem I'm having is even the reviews I get that are legit are being filtered by yelp. Most of my customers don't have yelp accounts, but they check yelp reviews. I've offered discounts for customers who leave yelp reviews. A few of them have spent the time to create an account to leave a review, and then it gets filtered. Should I tell my customers, help promote yelp more, you need to age your account and leave reviews on other companies first and then leave one on mine? So if I try to go the legit route, then I will have no reviews. There is no such thing as legit when it comes to yelp.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. srinu0812

    srinu0812 Supreme Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    755
    Fuck Yelp. No matter how careful you are with them, your review gets filtered. Instead, concentrate on Google reviews. Offer your customers some bonus if they leave a review.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  8. mqs1000

    mqs1000 Power Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    56
    I already tried soliciting customers. I sent letters to around 40 past happy customers telling them to leave a review and we will send them a $5 dollar e-giftcard to Starbucks. Not even 1 bite.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. originalposter

    originalposter Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    516
    A few possibilities here:

    1. You service was really not up to par (no offense)
    2. 'past' customers: when was the last time they've been your store? Was it like 1 month ago etc.? Because most likely, that wouldn't work
    3. It's usually tell my clients NOT to ask for review, but ask for a 'feedback'. I find the right choice of words more effective. A review in someone's mind might be a long passage, where a feedback is usually short and easy.
    4. You didn't make it clear how to claim that $5 starbucks card, which might seem like a scam to them?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. Adam718

    Adam718 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    433
    Occupation:
    Freelance writer and SEO Specialist
    Location:
    NYC
    You just really have to satisfy your customers and push Yelp onto them. Right after you finish a transaction, explain how important Yelp is to your business. Get their e-mails and send them the link, print it on an invoice/businesscard, etc. If you can convince 1 out of every 10 customers to leave a review, your Yelp will be built up nicely even with filter.
     
  11. funkybunker

    funkybunker Supreme Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    1,760
    Occupation:
    BOSS
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    Yelp certainly is a double-edged sword. It's the first place you'll find perfect leads since low/no reviews are common there with small business. But that is also the point since reviews are constantly manipulated by them. If buying false reviews is the only way there then forget them, Yelp needs more negative publicity before average people realize they're nothing different from the BBB.

     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. Bostoncab

    Bostoncab Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    514
    Occupation:
    pain in the ass cabbie
    Location:
    Boston,Ma.
    Home Page:
    I was in a restaurant recently that had a big sign where the hostess stands that said "YELP HATES US AND WE HATE THEM TOO" below it there was a paragraph from the owner asking customers to text or call his cell if they felt the food or service was not up to par rather than leaving a negative review.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  13. Budgethoteldeals

    Budgethoteldeals Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Home Page:
    They fix this in a couple of days
     
  14. Teeheeindeed

    Teeheeindeed Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sounds like a lot of work that might now go in your favor :p
     
  15. boblaw

    boblaw Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Looking to trade or buy reviews for yelp. PM me if interested :)
     
  16. ThopHayt

    ThopHayt Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    5,394
    Likes Received:
    1,642
    And I say why not do both?..... hmmm

     
  17. BlackHat3

    BlackHat3 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    94
    The best way is to buy them or ask your customers to write them.
     
  18. pompano

    pompano Power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    221
    Occupation:
    SEO
    Location:
    Canada
    If you are doing it for your own site or Business's in your local area. You could get Local Students or friends to help out.
     
  19. JDIZM

    JDIZM Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    37
    There are too any spammers and the filters they have in place now are really good. You need to be getting natural, regular reviews consistently over time.

    You really want to be looking at legit reviews and one good way is by offering customers a handout or guide on how to do it.. something like this hxxp://www.whitespark.ca/review-handout-generator/
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2014
  20. Logician

    Logician BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    581
    Why are you commenting? I can tell you don't know what you are talking about, and what's up with all the random capital words in your post?