1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What happens when you write an honest review

Discussion in 'BlackHat Lounge' started by M4XW3LL, Nov 3, 2015.

  1. M4XW3LL

    M4XW3LL Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    1,274
    I must say that I am a big fan of review copies. Whenever I see a review copy offer, I grab it and use it for my side-projects on which I barely invest my time.

    Unlike a lot of other BHW members, I always write honest reviews. Most of the times I go back later to the review thread to post ranking updates and screenshots.

    There was a review copy offered on this thread. I grabbed the review copy, and posted my review right after I got the report without further investigation.

    A friend from BHW also got a review copy for this service, and shot me a PM asking about the quality of the review copy I got since he checked the PBN website and found out it was an old porn domain and had crappy links to it. As soon as I read the PM, I went and checked it myself to find out that what I read was true. I went to the review copy thread and made another post:

    [​IMG]

    After my post, the thread was closed by Apricot on OP's request. On that post I mentioned that I'm risking the website for which I got the review copy for, and that is what happened. All the keywords I was ranking for on top 100 got deindexed:
    [​IMG]
    I also started getting a lot of errors on search console:

    [​IMG]


    I've got two lessons to share with you guys from this outcome:
    1. For service prodivers - Don't offer review copies unless you have a good service and you want get 100% honest reviews
    2. For reviewers - Be careful when writing honest reviews. If the service is shit, ask the provider to undo it. Don't write a review at all, unless you want your site getting spammed to death.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 8
  2. RuthSam

    RuthSam Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,814
    Likes Received:
    979
    Gender:
    Male
    Home Page:
    Thank you for posting this and shed some light on this issue!! I always write honest reviews, and when service providers have shitty services I writes this too when I do so many of them try to scare me and actually threaten me, some even ask me to remove this review lol.

    My answer is always the same, go to hell and if you provide shitty you get a shitty review so it is no longer :)
     
  3. Asif WILSON Khan

    Asif WILSON Khan Executive VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    12,622
    Likes Received:
    34,782
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Fun Lovin' Criminal
    Location:
    London
    Home Page:
    The problem is that there are a lot of freebie hunters out there that just like free shit.
    They have no idea what that are requesting or how it may impact their site but hey, it was free so they leave a good review.

    I think it might be time to abolish free reviews and just offer discounted reviews, at least if you have paid for something then you are more inclined to be honest.
    I know some sellers like to bump start their new BST's by giving out freebies but not sure if this is giving a true indication of quality.

    I know it is difficult to leave a bad review because of the fear of NEG SEO/spam by unscrupulous sellers maybe BHW needs to introduce a Verified Sellers Program where the seller provides their identity/business address/company website etc
    I have seen several threads created by relatively new accounts offering services but when you actually look at what they have posted in the past it is clear they are noob, remember it is easy for any clown to start a service, numerous cheap panels/resellers out there.

    I still think the cost of opening a sales thread is ridiculously cheap, maybe it's time to think about raising it.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  4. Apricot

    Apricot Administrator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    13,540
    Likes Received:
    8,510
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    BHW Admin
    Location:
    Station 2E
    Home Page:
    People respect your opinion.

    As long as the review is presented reasonably without any abuse or hyperbole, then it's always a good thing. Obviously, hijack a sales thread by spamming complaints isn't allowed but buyers are allowed to leave one negative review in a sales thread to cover their experience. We'll only ever remove these if the poster requests it.

    Sometimes sellers don't like it but I find the good ones won't demand to get a negative review taken down. Buyers can be entirely reasonable but sometimes they have unrealistic expectations. Good sellers will deal with the problem and get it resolved, ideally in an amicable with a happy buyer. There are occasions when a seller has done all they can but a buyer's not happy, then they post a reply stating the issue and resolution and let the matter stand for people to judge their actions.

    Honestly, I genuinely don't understand the fear of negative reviews. If I'm evaluating something with hundreds of reviews, a couple of bad ones won't stop me buying. If I can see the seller's been responsive and reasonable throughout then it'll actually encourage me to use them.
    Good reviews are great but no-one, ever, has a 100% perfect customer service. Mistakes happen, so I want to know how a seller handles problems if they occur.

    So, when I see a bad review that's been well handled, I'll trust that seller significantly more than one who's got an unbroken string of perfect reviews.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 5
  5. Asif WILSON Khan

    Asif WILSON Khan Executive VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    12,622
    Likes Received:
    34,782
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Fun Lovin' Criminal
    Location:
    London
    Home Page:

    This is definitely true, when I see somebody go into meltdown and take a negative review as a personal attack I would definitely avoid using that persons service, whereas when I see somebody act professionally and deal with the review in a reasonable manner, it makes me more inclined to give that person a chance. There will always be that small percentage of buyers that are never happy, no matter how the complaint was handled but as long as the seller has behaved reasonably to address the issue and done everything within their power to provide satisfaction, then there is nothing to fear from the odd
    negative review.
     
  6. Nonilol

    Nonilol Elite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,671
    Likes Received:
    567
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Media Informatics & Webdev Student
    Location:
    Hamburg, GER / Southampton, UK
    Home Page:
    I always write honest reviews, so if there is something to criticize, I always mentioned it. However, I have to admit that I've been FAR more tolerant when there were issues.

    Eg. I had a review copy once for a social media account where it wasn't delivered in time (2 days over TAT I think) and the interaction was really bad, but I just wrote it was delivered late and the interaction was a bit lower than expected.

    Maybe even offering 90% discounts instead of free review copies would help already.
     
  7. yuuzokun

    yuuzokun Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    716
    Likes Received:
    347
    Occupation:
    Who cares
    Maybe the mods that Approve threads needs more time to better judge the quality of the product.
    Why not putting a team of 5-10 people dedicated to only review products / offers before being approved on the marketplace ?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1