Zakch93
Elite Member
- Mar 7, 2020
- 2,309
- 856
Ebay help page reads this about data removal:
When your request to delete data is accepted, we'll delete all personal data that we are legally obligated to delete.
What data is deleted?
Personal data is deleted using approved methods such as direct deletion, anonymization, pseudonymization and aggregation. You'll need to clear your cache, cookies, and history from each browser you used to sign into your eBay account and delete the eBay app from your mobile devices.
Once your data is deleted and your account is closed, we'll let you know by sending an email to your registered email address. If you'd like to use eBay again, you'll need to create a new account.
What data is retained?
After deletion, we retain a record of your request and our response. We also retain some personal data that we are we're legally required or allowed to retain in order to:
We will only use personal data retained to fulfill these purposes and we will delete the data when we no longer need it. Please note that we may contact you after deletion if we need to resolve an outstanding balance or provide you with tax information.
- comply with eBay's financial and legal retention obligations
- detect and resolve issues related to security or functionality, including to protect against fraudulent or illegal activity
- exercise the right of freedom of expression and information
- exercise or defend against legal claims
- provide goods or services requested by you or otherwise perform a contract between eBay and its users
- resolve any balances owed to you or to eBay
- provide you with tax related information
- inform you if there is a public health issue
This text makes it seem like they delete nothing and keep everything. If you have a banned account and want to start new, is it even useful to ask them to delete your data? Has anyone tried it and registered with a new account with your real info and wasn't banned?