1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What causes ads to be "under review"?

Discussion in 'Adwords' started by toptoptop, Sep 8, 2012.

  1. toptoptop

    toptoptop BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    157
    Hi.
    I have noticed that some ads are going "under review" and others do not.
    From my thoughts the keywords or ad text or is that causes that crap.
    I think so because some ads go under review just instantly be4 the bot visits the dest.URL so the landing is not the thing here.
    It looks like {keyword:sometext} causes that in most cases but not every time.
    So are there some stop words that tell G to send the ad for a review or it just does it at random.

    And the second question is how long does take for Adwords steff to review the ad? I had some ads "under review" on an account with a coupon but the coupon was fucked up and now on a new account my first ad is also marked with that status. Or I should just delete that ad?
     
  2. sonicpunk32

    sonicpunk32 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    472
    What makes your ad go into automatic review or not, is an algorithm that analyses the text you chose to use in your ad. But, either way, whether your ad runs immediately or is immediately placed under review, rest assured, a human will manually review it after a day or so. So your add could be saying approved right off the bat and you're receiving clicks, but a human will review it anyway.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. poppytea

    poppytea BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    12
    I think theres another system at play as well. unusual activity seems to trigger it. Raising your daily budget above thirty seems to trigger it. adding OR removing a large amount of keywords seems to do it. You have to keep a keen eye out for it especially if you need to swap your urls quick. The review period has never taken more than a day for me, usually a couple hours. Even the human review.
     
  4. toptoptop

    toptoptop BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    157
    I never had my aproved ads reviewed by human I guess.

    That's interesting. I used to put $100 to spend the coupon almost the same day.
     
  5. subster

    subster Elite Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,864
    Likes Received:
    1,448
    Location:
    Krauthausen
    using trademarked brandnames can cause that status for example.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2012
  6. toptoptop

    toptoptop BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    157
    Could it be due to using a word IPhone in the keywords?
     
  7. trance92071

    trance92071 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    848
    Occupation:
    Internet Marketing
    Location:
    BoosterBots.com
    Home Page:
    yes you are not allowed to use trademarked names in your ads they will flag for that. That is just one thing they look at among many..
     
  8. toptoptop

    toptoptop BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    157
    In ads or keywords?
    I have a lot of keywords like "... for Iphone" but no "IPhone" in ad text directly, though I have a {Keyword:...} structure there. That's the case? And I guess they will not approve that will they?
     
  9. melissalv

    melissalv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    6
    No you will not get approved for iPhone term. I have to learn everything hard way! All the information I needed to pass review and get ads approved is in this forum and in google Adwords terms etc. but yet I submitted ads with trademark terms. I submitted ads with direct linking. Now I know by experience! Lol I have bad some ads on review for I've week and trying get approved. I also have ads that get approved immediately only to be disapproved a day later. Guess the Reviewer rejected it
    As the previous poster suggested.
     
  10. ozzke

    ozzke Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    208
    Occupation:
    SEM Consultant ;)
    Location:
    in a galaxy far far away from here
    Home Page:
    It's a combination of trademarked names and locations. Trademarks in AdWords are registered by country, most of the time not worldwide. Which means that you can use certain trademarks in Canada without any problems and as soon as you include United states or some states of the US they will go under review.
    There are other factors too which can have a influence on that but that's the most common case.
    Ads go under review normally for 3 business days, but from personal experience, if they're not approved after 2 days you're screwed. If it's an aged account you might get away with it once or twice, but if it's a brand new account it will most likely be banned immediately.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  11. poppytea

    poppytea BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    12
    yeah because you spent it all before the manual review. Ive done that too. But id rather stretch it out over a few days and get more clicks. you dont wanna go into review with a daily budget of $100. they wont like that

     
  12. poppytea

    poppytea BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    12
    hey toptoptop, were buddies arent we? weve been talking on skype all day if i remember right? haha
     
  13. toptoptop

    toptoptop BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    157
    Yes that's true.
     
  14. swaggerboy

    swaggerboy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    17
    I'm also in the iPhone Niche. You can just use Phone 4s instead of iPhone 4s. It works great for me.

    If you like you can hit me a PM and we can share some information about our Niche. It's always usefull to learn from eachother. Goodluck with your PPC adventure. And btw, those adds get reviewed in less then a day and for me they all got approved. Goodluck son
     
  15. toptoptop

    toptoptop BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    157
    The main problem is that if my ad goes under review it never changes its status, so it stays "under review" forever, it doesn't get approved or disapproved
    2http://www.blackhatworld.com/blackhat-seo/members/157103-swaggerboy.html
    I'm not in the Iphone niche, I was promoting an applecation for IPhone.