1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What are the risks of paid reviews?

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by Marketeeer, Sep 4, 2013.

  1. Marketeeer

    Marketeeer Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are there apps that have been removed from the stores because of having false or endorsed reviews?
     
  2. Endire

    Endire Elite Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    1,061
    Gender:
    Male
    Marketeeer,

    I'm not sure which app store you are talking about but I haven't heard of an app being removed especially if it is actually a good one. I would think it more likely that the actual review would be removed but not the whole application.

    Best,

    Shawn
     
  3. kaylanewett

    kaylanewett Power Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    547
    Location:
    NYC
    If you're that worried, just write the reviews yourself with a different IP address.
     
  4. gullsinn

    gullsinn Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,429
    Likes Received:
    2,210
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Jobless :D
    Location:
    Graveyard
    Home Page:
    It will be more easier to answer if you can mention the name of the store which you re talking about.
     
  5. noseo

    noseo Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    122
    I am pretty sure most of the Asian manufacturers (Samsung, LG, etc) are faking reviews on websites like Sears and Amazon, so the question isn't so much whether it is dangerous as whether it is worth the risk, if you are smart about it. On the other hand, if you have a product that naturally gets a lot of feedback anyway, you might not need to worry about it.
     
  6. dryheat360

    dryheat360 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    211
    On the Google Play store the reviews can be removed, even if they look good. You can also lose ratings and +1s, and possibly get banned. I haven't found a reliable reviews service anyway.
     
  7. ambctech

    ambctech Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    CEO
    Location:
    http://www.AmbcTech.com
    Home Page:
    Hey. PM sent with solution. pls check