1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

the big g's places and reviews

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by monk13, Mar 20, 2012.

  1. monk13

    monk13 Power Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    279
    I was recently browsing in the whitehat side of this site, saw a thread about changing google places reviews, removing bad ones etc...
    reminded me of this article i saw on giz
    Code:
    http://gizmodo.com/5825059/software-can-detect-fake-reviews-with-90-accuracy
    the important take-away from it is this
    that in turn reminded me...
    i may have to be doing that for clients at some point in the future
    and i haven't seen much discussion on the subject addressing the fact that style of speech can be used to detect false reviews
    so...

    what techniques do you guys use to make sure your not quite so legit reviews look real?

    the actual whitepaper from cornell is located here
    Code:
    http://www.cs.uic.edu/~liub/FBS/fake-reviews.html
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2012
  2. monk13

    monk13 Power Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    279
    wow, 71 views and not a single person mentioning anything about what they are doing to help their reviews look legit

    either...
    a. nobody knew about this and thus were not acting on it
    b. nobody wants to share how they evade this for fear of teaching the filter
    c. nobody cares enough to read the whole thing

    i doubt it's a since a lot of the people here are rather intelligent and there have been no responses showing the kneejerk denial common when faced with something that shows the work you've been doing could very well be harmful

    it's probably not c since most people here read much longer threads and respond to them

    so that leaves b, nobody wants to share their technique for fear of it becoming too saturated and possibly training the filter
     
  3. honzarox

    honzarox Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    52
    Dont post fake reviews. Make sure the good ones outweigh the bad ones [by a long shot] and dump a few backlinks on the good ones. Respond to the bad ones in a good manner.

    If I c a restuarant that has 200 5* reviews that say "This was the best restaurant ever. 5*" I will not go there. If software can find fake reviews, be sure that ppl can as well. And it looks worse than having a few "bad" reviews.
     
  4. monk13

    monk13 Power Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    279
    honzarox, that's all well and good, but the question wasn't should i post fake reviews
    it was
    how do you go about posting fake reviews and making them appear legit?
    as in, i'm asking for help using a black hat technique
    kindly keep your whitehat opinions to the whitehat section

    also, if you read the article, it goes a fair amount more in depth than to detect 200 5 star reviews with a simple line in them saying something to the effect of
    "best resteraunt ever"

    only an idiot would post 100% max rating fake reviews
     
  5. elvis1973

    elvis1973 Power Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    274
    Occupation:
    Digital Signage Consultant
    Location:
    St Helens, UK
    Home Page:
    i have been thinking a lot about this lately, I have a customer in the party niche with an ecom site so they need:

    1. on site product reviews
    2. off site trust pilot type reviews

    Its quite hard to fake this stuff, sure you can write a few but it then starts to get harder and you are faced with the problem of it all looking contrived. i.e everything 5*

    What I have noticed is that when I look at reviews its the bad ones i seek out, so im thinking that leaving yourself some bad reviews may be the answer and then also responding to these bad reviews showing that you care and are trying to sort out any issues.

    A hotel for example could respond to a fake bad review by apologising and asking the guest to contact them directly while they address the issue, or an ecom site could respond to a bad review about poor delivery service saying that it was an issue with the courier that day and it has now been resolved and here is 10% off you next order.

    Most people will look at bad reviews and make judgements on how the issue was dealt with.

    I have set myself the following guidelines:

    1. few is better than bulk (3 good reviews is better than 100 spammy looking ones)
    2. be specific (most people are happy or annoyed about a particular thing)
    3. if you are outsourcing, use a few different providers to keep it varied
    4. leave the odd 1* or 2* and complain about a minor/petty issue such as item was delivered 2 hours late (most people will just think this is a fussy customer and wont judge you too much on this)
    5. go and scrape a big list of real reviews from amazon or the big catalogue sites and spin them (hand spin them)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. monk13

    monk13 Power Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    279
    good insight, thanks, i hadn't considered faking the occasional easily managed bad review, that's a unique approach