1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Target One Type Of Products Or A Full Review Site?

Discussion in 'BlackHat Lounge' started by Brad100, Dec 21, 2014.

  1. Brad100

    Brad100 Supreme Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    966
    Gender:
    Male
    Ok, I can't figure out a better title, but here's the thing. Me and my partner have a website which is getting about 12-14k pageviews and 1-2k unique visitors everyday. We are already earning decent money from that website, but we are planning to build a website and monetize is with Amazon associates and use the traffic from our existing site to monetize.

    Anyways, so we have a domain which doesn't target one category, it is a general domain (example, reviewsofproducts.com) that suggest that the website is a review website. We're not able to decide what's best, should we buy a new domain which targets one category (example, sportsreviews.com), or should we target everything and hope to get ranked for a few keywords?
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2014
  2. Brad100

    Brad100 Supreme Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    966
    Gender:
    Male
    Sorry to bump already but we want to start the site today and really need quick advice.
     
  3. godspeed007

    godspeed007 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    272
    That will depend on the interest of the existing traffic. Try to coincide them. That way you will be able to get the best out it.
     
  4. Brad100

    Brad100 Supreme Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    966
    Gender:
    Male
    Ok, but we're not going to depend upon the existing traffic, we'll rank the site too. So, in terms of ranking, whats best?
     
  5. Bestindabiz

    Bestindabiz Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    173
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    I have many
    Location:
    United States
    Home Page:
    Its kind of hard to read all that red text, you may receive more responses if you modified it.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. gtull2

    gtull2 Power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2013
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    341
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Stuff
    Location:
    The Deep South
    Home Page:
    Why are you concerned with building a new review site when you already have a successful one? Why not just increase the current/successful review site?

    I must be missing something.
     
  7. xgnux

    xgnux Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    151
    Occupation:
    STudent
    Location:
    Germany
    The broader you go the more links you need. But for a review website you can of course do something like kitchenreviews.com or something like that. Also i would go for a brandname no need for pmd or emd.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. Brad100

    Brad100 Supreme Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    966
    Gender:
    Male
    Because we pay our users, and if we earn more, thats because of them, and we've to pay it back, on the long run its great because we do not have to worry about Google at all because our traffic keeps coming back and refer new users but right now we're thinking of converting this traffic into something profitable.

    Ok, thank you, so I guess targeting one category is better.