1. This website uses cookies to improve service and provide a tailored user experience. By using this site, you agree to this use. See our Cookie Policy.
    Dismiss Notice

[Suggestion to Improve Marketplace] Easy to find Positive and Negative Reviews for Buyers

Discussion in 'Forum Suggestions & Feedback' started by fas66, Sep 26, 2019.

  1. fas66

    fas66 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Online
    Hey,

    I just read a thread here. where the OP says to remove the images and add them to spoiler by default after the First post.

    Reading through that post I got an Idea.

    Why dont we have a positive/negative section for each thread in the marketplace.

    Such that once the Marketplace thread is made

    And a Mod approves it.

    The 3rd post should have like the 2 buttons (links) that each opens a separate Thread with headings like

    • Fas66 Positive Review for NordVPN
    • Fas66 Negative Reviews for NordVPN

    Such that the buyers can easily post the negative and positive reviews.

    And to-buyer can see them clearly without the need to scroll through multiple pages.

    As time is vital these days, I think this feature would be a boon to everyone.

    > Any buyer before posting a negative/positive review on the respective thread should post the same review on the actual sales thread. And the reviews in the negative/positive thread should link to the review in the sales thread. (This helps the to-be buyers to see when the review was placed and how it was addressed by the OP)

    > Anyone other than the buyer should not post on those threads, and if they did. there should be consequence.

    > The seller should not be able to post on the review threads, they could reply the relative reviews on the sales thread.

    Some may think that shitlist is there, but shitlist is completely different from the Negative review. To put in simple terms, shit-list is where you post scams , and Negative review is where you post your negative experience.

    I really hope this gets done as it would be a more transparent marketplace, with the rapidly growing pace of the BHW Family :)

    I just typed in all in a hurry to put out the ideas asap.

    Excuse my mistake if any is committed in the above sentences.

    And let me know how you feel about the idea!

    Cheers
     
  2. BassTrackerBoats

    BassTrackerBoats Super Moderator Staff Member Moderator Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    27,741
    Likes Received:
    50,944
    Occupation:
    Generic Human Being
    Location:
    As Close to Heaven as One Can Get!
    Home Page:
  3. MisterF

    MisterF Moderator Staff Member Moderator Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    17,648
    Likes Received:
    21,348
    Occupation:
    Conference Organiser, Business Advisor.,
    Location:
    JADIP
    Home Page:
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. fas66

    fas66 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Online
    @BassTrackerBoats The itrader, cant be made understood easily for newbies. Though it shows the overall trader score , and does link to the thread. tracking individual thread of big sellers would be quite not possible without individually clicking them each.

    The method I suggested, would give a direct insight on the total negative and positive feedback for a single BST

    @MisterF Chances are less for it to be abused. As if a Non-buyer leaves a negative feedback the OP of the thread could report it. And as violaters would have serious consequences. I think it would less likely happen. As the Op can only report if the reviewer is not a buyer, and as every buyer has a right to post atleast 1 review on the BST. so I think it wont be abused.

    If we implement this we would be the first to provide a more member friendly marketplace that is transparent.
     
  5. sturose

    sturose Elite Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,230
    Likes Received:
    2,963
    Gender:
    Male
    Don't think there is a need to separate positive and negative reviews. As @MisterF said, it could lead to abuse of the system.

    Simply separating the promotional posts & order placed posts from the constant reposting of sales graphics and old reviews will make BST threads easier to understand and read.
     
  6. fas66

    fas66 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Online

    Well, we cant restrict an OP what to post on a BST after they have paid for it. As the BST takes a rigorous testing for approval process, and there is a bump post limit.

    So, instead of placing additional restrictions to the OP, I suggested this idea.

    Also, it cant be misused as I already explained why. The OP could report the false negative review post, and it would be dealt with necessary consequence.
     
  7. TheVigilante

    TheVigilante Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    8,382
    Likes Received:
    5,521
    Occupation:
    ↓ USA-Native Author↓
    Location:
    ↓ Money-site Quality↓
    Home Page:
    Sadly very few people use it
     
  8. fas66

    fas66 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Online
    Most people dont know how to use it.

    I actually asked some of my buyers to post iTrader feedback, but they were unaware of how to do it. I had to explain them step by step. Some did post others didnt.
     
  9. MisterF

    MisterF Moderator Staff Member Moderator Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    17,648
    Likes Received:
    21,348
    Occupation:
    Conference Organiser, Business Advisor.,
    Location:
    JADIP
    Home Page:
    Reporting the negative review post means a staff member would then have to contact both parties to make sure the transaction actually happened to begin with.
     
  10. fas66

    fas66 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Online
    Very true, but instead of hearing detailed explanation from both parties (like shit-list). Only the part if the reviewer is a buyer or not is to be validated.

    I truly understand its some additional work. But it makes the Marketplace more transparent and professional.
     
  11. sturose

    sturose Elite Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,230
    Likes Received:
    2,963
    Gender:
    Male
    Nobody is suggesting restricting what to post, just separate the promotional stuff from the feedback. eBay do it so why can't we have a similar set up here.
     
  12. Sherb

    Sherb Jr. Executive VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    17,428
    Home Page:
    I don't like this idea. Here is why.

    If a seller wants to request you to leave a review, and provides you a link to do so, do you think they will link you to the positive review area or the negative review area?

    If a seller posts an update to their sales thread and says "Check our our reviews!", do you think they will link to the positive review area or the negative review area?

    There is a reason that in almost all aggregated review sites the reviews are not split into positives and negatives.

    This will lead to further issues with "sir I didn't know" corruption, review trades, and severely increased workloads for BHW marketplace moderators (who will be responsible for searching all reviews for all sales threads and sorting out the positive and negative? It in no way will assist with cleaning up the Marketplace.

    I am far more responsive to the ideas of:
    • Not allowing sellers to quote more than one member in a reply
    • Restricting character count on replies
    • Increasing character count requirements for members to post
    • Infracting members who post "samples plz", "ordered #00000", etc
    • Removing the ability for sellers to post images in responses to their sales thread
    • Increasing the bump rule from 24 hours to 72 hours in general, regardless of if they are responding or a general bump
    The solution is not in adding things, but removing them.
     
  13. fas66

    fas66 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Online

    Firstly, thank you for your deep insight.

    Honestly, I did think this point through.

    > If the Seller wants the buyer to leave a review,

    Usual way : The seller asks the buyer to leave a review on the thread

    Button way : The seller asks the buyer to leave a review on the thread and copy-paste the same review on the "positive thread" with a link to the actual review on the BST

    Negative reviewers will know what to do eventually as the buttons will be right under the OP, with rules on how to do it.

    > Seller will obviously link to the positive thread for the Checkout reviews

    > Regarding the defects you mentioned

    There is always such "i dont know" people, I have been just few days watching the New threads section and there are people daily posting on wrong sections, new members trying to scam etc.

    Review trades, it cant be stopped for the positive ones, as people just post positive feedback in the hopes of few extra links (for SEO BST). But the same cant be done for Negative ones, as if a person posts a negative feedback without being a buyer then there would be consequence (just like the other rules implemented here)

    Workload for Mods, this I completely agree. Its because of these Mods BHW is much respected. Unlike other forums the Mods here actually test the BST before approving them. So this process would just enhance the quality of the Marketplace.

    > I understand your concept of removing certain elements to make it better. Its the easiest way but not the friendliest ones.

    You see its always easier to remove/restrict the freedom inorder to maintain everything easily but that's not how democracy works.

    Once again thank you for your valuable feedback.

    My main reason as to why the Seperate Negative/Positive section is to be added is because, the future buyers should be able to find the Negative reviews easily and how OP handled them.

    Cheers
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  14. sturose

    sturose Elite Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,230
    Likes Received:
    2,963
    Gender:
    Male
    Just one problem with that statement, BHW is not a democracy, it's a business.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  15. fas66

    fas66 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Online
    Even in democracy we need to pay ridiculous taxes and bribes for normal work to be done.

    So, I dont know whether to agree or disagree to your sentence.

    Perhaps it depends upon the way we see it :)
     
  16. Sherb

    Sherb Jr. Executive VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    17,428
    Home Page:
    This right here. Please remember that every post you create, every thread you start, every contribution you make to this website is, in the end, a payment of time or money to a business entity whose entire business model runs on content provided for free by members like you and I.

    It is in BHW's best interests to have more and more and more posts created on their website in the Marketplace. This is content that is generated for free by members, some of whom pay the site to be able to do so, to assist the website in ranking higher in search results. Content generated in the Marketplace, providing increased exposure to the Marketplace, leads to more Marketplace threads created and Jr. VIP subscriptions purchased. tl;dr: Marketplace spam is good for BHW's bottom line.

    It is in BHW's best interests to allow sellers such as the ones put in the spotlight as of late to continue their purposeful misrepresentation of service offerings and low quality of services because these are the sellers who contribute more to the website's bottom line through purchases of ad space and email blasts. tl;dr: Low quality Marketplace threads and services are good for BHW's bottom line.

    If I was in Damien's shoes, I would not give two shits what members wanted to do or what members thought was a good enhancement. It's clear to see where the Marketplace traffic market share is going. This isn't the era where members like @t0mmy are paying for ad space and email blasts. The average member quality has taken a nosedive in the past few years. The focus has shifted from quality contributions to quantity of posts and paying members.

    The profits don't come from the high-quality services that cost $500 and the threads don't allow for "order placed" "sample plz" and thread real estate cannibalization by sellers. No. The profits come from sellers like @sarkark21 and @aka sam and @Parker2010 who urge bumping, strongly request "order placed" posts, ensure negative reviews are quickly buried in an avalanche of spam, and pay thousands of dollars for email blasts from the BHW email list.

    If you had to choose between the member falling under scrutiny who puts five figures a month into your pocket, or the member who spends $150 a year on you complaining about the quality of the Marketplace review system, who would you choose? I think the answer is obvious from a business standpoint. Hell, the Society Girl 20-word Marketplace review problems are still going on.

    Why should forum ownership give a shit about what you have to say?

    I don't think you understand the meaning of the term "democracy".
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 5
  17. fas66

    fas66 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Online
    I do my friend, and the very reason your post is not deleted, explains what I mentioned :)

    btw, you got a wonderful journey thread going on,