1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Soliciting reviews can get your places page banned?

Discussion in 'Offline Marketing' started by mqs1000, Jul 31, 2013.

  1. mqs1000

    mqs1000 Power Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    56
    So I've read of a few case studies where if Google thinks you are soliciting reviews, they will take down your local page. Same with Yelp and some other sites. They can tell by seeing that the account was just created, and no other reviews are left before or after on any other businesses.

    With that being said, how could any kind of system like the 7878 system work? I wanted to offer a $5 dollar gift card to customers if they left a review (and give them choices of a few different review sites) - but being that most of them are going to create a fresh account right before they leave the review, how would this work out?
     
  2. mqs1000

    mqs1000 Power Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    56
    Guess I'm right and that method is shit
     
  3. originalposter

    originalposter Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    518
    Most people have gmail accounts. They don't have to create a fresh gmail account to leave a review?
     
  4. mqs1000

    mqs1000 Power Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    56
    Most people that I will solicit to will have gmail accounts? Are you sure?
     
  5. originalposter

    originalposter Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    518
    If your client's service is truly good (or even decent), you will be surprise how people are willing to leave a review, even for free. Think straight. Why go blackhat on easy stuff like this? Build a legit business with growing opportunities will get you going on a long run. You definitely don't want to end up like glowingreviews.

    7878 never suggested buying reviews. His system was to filter neg reviews and gave customers the choice to leave a review on platform they want.
     
  6. Sombrero

    Sombrero Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    955
    Occupation:
    Yo quiero
    Location:
    Papal States
    You could make cards or even post cards saying; "Do we did a Good job? Please leave a review on xxxx.com" be creative! Must people would love writing his own review. If they don't have a Gmail account they may use another site... Think! Good luck!
     
  7. mqs1000

    mqs1000 Power Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    56

    I just like to offer people incentives to do things. I don't like to ask for free work. In my business, we're not dealing with 100s of customers a day in which we can ask them all and hope that the good samaritans leave some reviews. It's a small customer base which is why I don't think I can play the numbers game and need to offer an incentive.

    By the way, what happened to glowingreviews?
     
  8. originalposter

    originalposter Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    518
    Nothing much, just being sued by Edmunds right now.

    I understand everyone should mind their own business, but I am not a big fan of offering incentives for reviews. Sure, a draw each month for a big prize is okay, but definitely not $5 per review - because that's no difference than buying reviews. Just my 2 cents.
     
  9. dr.pepper

    dr.pepper Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    97
    I do SEO for a printing company. I suggested to him that with every order he sends out, he puts in a little flyer saying "10% off your next order if you leave a review".

    Obviously with him being a printing company its very cheap for him to execute this kind of thing.

    He liked the idea and ran with it. Now he gets 2 natural reviews per week on average. Which does not sound like much, but when you think that local businesses only have 20approx reviews, this is alot!