1. This website uses cookies to improve service and provide a tailored user experience. By using this site, you agree to this use. See our Cookie Policy.
    Dismiss Notice

Sellers outsmarting mods with fake reviews?

Discussion in 'Forum Suggestions & Feedback' started by Voo, Feb 10, 2020.

  1. BassTrackerBoats

    BassTrackerBoats Super Moderator Staff Member Moderator Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    29,365
    Likes Received:
    55,492
    Occupation:
    Generic Human Being
    Location:
    As Close to Heaven as One Can Get!
    Home Page:
    The only way we can handle this is a post by post report.

    We operate on proof - you don't have to provide that when reporting if you do not want to bu the staff goes by proof to action something.

    There is actually a lot more that we see than most when it comes to an issue but we cannot just warn/ban/slap in the face/punch in the neck someone without proof.

    I, and others as well, appreciate you want to help keep the forum clean but we need proof to act.
     
  2. Voo

    Voo Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2019
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    344
    Location:
    The Moon
    I know that’s the reality of things , it generally always will be for successful marketplaces as banning people purely on intuition will be the death of any business or marketplace. I’ll do what I can to help building cases against certain sellers through the reports and if enough of us do too maybe powersellers will get the hint that this sort of behaviour can result in lost business.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. 942-1

    942-1 BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2020
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    89
    Gender:
    Male
    Who the F reads the reviews anyway?
    Esp newb posts. Just do your own due diligence. Read through seller posting history and see if you can deduce what kind of person you're dealing with. How thoroughly do they answer personal queries. Look outside the forum for further information.

    I wouldn't trust reviews at all to be honest. I am a member somewhere else, a private forum where small hubs talked about signing up on other sites to cross promote each others products and services. In fact they had a VIP sub-forum essentially dedicated to 'PBNing' other sites. It was some other website they were trying to game but if it can happen there or anywhere else, why not here?

    So yeah fuck reviews. Use your own brain. And verify to the best of your ability if you're investing a lot into something.
     
  4. Voo

    Voo Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2019
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    344
    Location:
    The Moon
    I’d say a vast majority as the sellers are heavily invested in fortifying these threads ( edit : the majority that actually do practice in posting fake reviews ) with fake reviews so I’d say it’s clearly worth investing in for them it seems . For the 70% that don’t instantly get swayed by the pretty graphics I would say more than half of the remaining people would read the reviews as you would with the restaurant on tripadvisor or the hotel or whatnot, especially if you’re new here.
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2020
  5. aristocratic

    aristocratic Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    922
    Likes Received:
    443
    Gender:
    Male
    Everybody Must read the reviews before buying so you dont end up opening threads like this one.
    Reviews are very valuable.
    For example if i would have checked the BST mentioned in OP i wold have never bought.
    Lots of fake reviews means a shitty, lying seller. So you stay away from him.
    There are other BST when you have very reputable members of the forum (including some mods) that give their review on the service. If they mark it as good, i would go and try.
    Ps. Bought services up to $800 and thank God im happy with them.
    Until now i have never had a problem with services reviewed by reputable members of the forum.

    Your other question would be: “ Who are these reputable members?”

    Spend some time on the forum and you will easily note them.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. BassTrackerBoats

    BassTrackerBoats Super Moderator Staff Member Moderator Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    29,365
    Likes Received:
    55,492
    Occupation:
    Generic Human Being
    Location:
    As Close to Heaven as One Can Get!
    Home Page:
    Got proof or are you mimicking a trashy news publication like the enquirer?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 4
  7. Voo

    Voo Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2019
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    344
    Location:
    The Moon
    I was specifically talking about the vast majority that do fortify their threads with fake reviews and that keep doing it in perpetuity, I was pointing out to the user that commented one of the reasons reviews are very valuable as someone else just recently mentioned it that here too in better words than I have.

    No , as I have said before none of us really have any proof that the sellers themselves are initiating any fake reviews, just that the reviews are clearly fake. Same reason the staff struggle to tackle the issue because of the lack of evidence.
     
  8. BassTrackerBoats

    BassTrackerBoats Super Moderator Staff Member Moderator Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    29,365
    Likes Received:
    55,492
    Occupation:
    Generic Human Being
    Location:
    As Close to Heaven as One Can Get!
    Home Page:
    Please provide proof of fake reviews especially since you are saying "vast majority as the sellers are heavily invested in fortifying these threads with fake reviews".

    We take that very seriously as well as taking false accusations against any seller, buyer or member when it comes to a business transaction.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. LilMosey

    LilMosey Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    388
    Occupation:
    On my toes, Gucci, Valentino
    Location:
    Blueberry Faygo
    Home Page:
    I agree mate. Check the times of some reviews posted, and you will see the person logout the same minute the review was posted. If that is true however, the guy must be rich to buy the same service every week lol
     
  10. Voo

    Voo Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2019
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    344
    Location:
    The Moon
    As I just said I worded that wrongly, I meant that the vast majority of sellers that do actually practice in posting fake reviews do so in perpetuity and invest heavily in it. ( which was my point about why reviews are valuable ) This as it always has been since the beginning of this is thread an opinion of mine and not a fact nor any direct accusation against any seller hence why I haven’t reported any thus far. The reviews I posted in this thread already are all clearly fake that’s something I have no doubts about just purely based on user behaviour and posting habits.
     
  11. theRevolt

    theRevolt Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,367
    Likes Received:
    1,105
    Lol, sounds a little to into this to be just some random member....

    Ultimately, many sellers here keep breaking rules on purpose trying to get exposure and that's just one part of it. Some are easier to catch (op posting outside rules) ,other violations use VPN or proxy and while you likely have a hunch I guess hard to find proof.

    Just read the reviews and u will likely see many sound so similar that you could use author analysis and find it's one and the same person.

    As was said here before look for
    - how new is the account posting reviews. While a certain amount of new ones is realistic, the vast majority is not
    - writing style. Hard to tell often but same punctuation and sentence structure is a pointer
    - too much defense for the seller. Some truly may feel that way but again the majority will not be part of it
    - think about it you tend to review when you super happy or super upset...so if all you find is super positive dog deeper, you may have found a unicorn or just a good plated turd
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  12. Voo

    Voo Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2019
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    344
    Location:
    The Moon

    Yup that’s my point all along as I have said to @BassTrackerBoats . While it’s obvious that the seller could be practicing with fake reviews it’s hard to prove so I can’t provide you any sort of proof in regards to any seller directly which is why I never accused anyone by name directly.
     
  13. simplify

    simplify Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2018
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    179
    Home Page:
    Okay no issues. Thanks for creating awareness tho. And let's have mods continue on their good job.
     
  14. ThatSEO

    ThatSEO Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    1,286
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Self employed marketing stuff
    Location:
    Sometimes UK
    You know when Facebook had LOADS of issues a few years ago with fake accounts liking adverts to look real?

    You know about negative SEO?

    fake reviews is a thing. I would guess that ‘some sellers’ might be using fake reviews to review competitors to make it look like it’s then doing it etc... could be happening

    Where am I going with this? It makes the mod hard, well hard / clean cookies, ips and odd random postings then never seen again.... many people will sign up to a forum, have a surge then never see then again, most could very well be real but things like crap English, some members bashing etc so see ya, gone.

    You can’t really bash a seller on a hunch, you need facts and ammo...
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  15. Voo

    Voo Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2019
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    344
    Location:
    The Moon
    I had a hard time understanding what you said but I’m guessing you summarised it with your point at the end and the point was I shouldn’t bash a seller on a hunch? My answer is , I wasn’t targeting anyone in particular as could be totally wrong myself about my own posts just purely posting an observation , bringing awareness to it and reading peoples /staff responses.
     
  16. Lychnobius

    Lychnobius Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,220
    Likes Received:
    693
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Issuing Free Review Copies
    Location:
    ↓↓↓ On My Sale Threads! ↓↓↓
    Home Page:
    Exactly what I was saying before, yes jealous competitors know to try things like that. But still there is someone to bash for there and "the vast majority" does what OP said.

    Everyone can now go and create fake accs, post a few replies on someone's thread and publish a post accusing the member a week later and ruin their reputation, but hey the majority joins bashing and punching.

    And I disagree that the vast majority does this, i know people that spend 12 hours per day doing free review copies and they get 1 review for 10 free orders and the same people join tomorrow to grab more free stuff and sell $5 services on Fiverr.

    Does that make them guilty for someone without morals trying to be smart? No.
     
  17. BassTrackerBoats

    BassTrackerBoats Super Moderator Staff Member Moderator Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    29,365
    Likes Received:
    55,492
    Occupation:
    Generic Human Being
    Location:
    As Close to Heaven as One Can Get!
    Home Page:
    The bottom line is this - if we are able to detect a fake review by a seller they are really not happy with the response and reaction from the staff but we need actual proof.

    At times people share proof with the staff and at times staff members catch it but without proof no action can be taken.

    Guessing, speculation, what appears to be, I'm sure this is but have no proof, this guys is posting fake reviews but I have no proof, <insert what you want> do not work as we only action based on proof in hand. Heck, we chat among our selves using those thoughts but we cannot act without proof in hand.

    That would denigrate the integrity of the marketplace as much as fake reviews would.

    If we do not act impartially on all levels the forum suffers on many levels and we are charged to not be that guy.

    This is turning into a circular conversation but closing it could cause us to lose value in that there may be something shared that would help the members individually as well as the forum as a whole.

    That may have come off as offensive and I apologize for that. I was commenting to make a point and not to offend so I am sorry for that.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 4
  18. Ely

    Ely Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2019
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    160
    Gender:
    Male
    Seems strange to me. Bought a lot of services on BHW in last 2/3 months and some of the best results were from that seller and 1/2 others (while haven't noticed any improvement from other 10/15 sellers).

    I don't know if he is buying fake review... or maybe someone trying to damage his thread...

    P.s. i'm not in any way connected with that seller.. just bought a couple of services from him...
     
  19. Voo

    Voo Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2019
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    344
    Location:
    The Moon
    I agree with everything that you said and yes this thread did start to go in circles.


    Precisely what I said earlier in the thread. We don’t know how far down the rabbit hole this goes. This could be competitors trying to sabotage sellers prompting reports or it could not be. Either way we probably won’t find out without concrete proof.

    Side note : I actually don’t think a lot of these sellers are offering a bad product or service, in fact some appear to provide quality offerings, it’s purely to do with the ethics of how business is done.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 11, 2020
  20. theRevolt

    theRevolt Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,367
    Likes Received:
    1,105
    If you want to hold sellers accountable to not break the rules , here's what you can do and is easy to proof contrary to fake reviews.

    Report the posts of sellers bumping their BST on an ongoing basis. Often you will see it's the same sellers you may suspect of fake reviews but can't prove it.

    Sellers can only respond once every 24 hours regardless of any other factors.

    They can also only post promos , reviews etc once every 3 days no exceptions.
    If no user posted they also can only bump once every 3 days.

    When I was selling I made that mistake once as well but then no more.. so u know if someone does this all the time it's likely just another way trying to game the system.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1