1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

safely remove hardware question... a silly one

Discussion in 'BlackHat Lounge' started by johnwoo, Jan 26, 2011.

  1. johnwoo

    johnwoo Power Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    96
    guys.
    i been in computers for not so long
    when plugging a USB drive into my laptop, an icon comes at the right bottom of task-bar. it says REMOVE HARDWARE SAFELY.
    so does it mean i have to click it, when it says ok , then i have to unplug USB?
    i mostly just plug out USB drive without doing such thing.

    Although question seems real silly. but i am looking forward for answers.
    cheers
     
  2. popcrdom29

    popcrdom29 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    518
    If it's a USB hard drive, unplugging it without safely removing can cause you to sometimes lose files. Safely removing will save the files.

    On other devices I haven't had any problems just unplugging them.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. theironlemming

    theironlemming Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    40
    "Removing hardware safely" is always a good practice to adopt. It prevents data corruption on that drive.

    Although windows has safety features which a majority of the time prevent stuff like that from happening its always good practice.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. homenet

    homenet Power Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    338
    Location:
    Dimension X
    The chances of data corruption are very very slim if you just unplug it. It is meant to prevent data loss when a write operation is in progress. But if the drive is just idle then you've not really got much to worry about it. Still, for peace of mind, it doesnt hurt to safely remove it if your paranoid about that kind of thing.
     
  5. wrangler

    wrangler Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    599
    To save you from yourself, by default such drives do NOT have write-cache enabled. However you can still cause issues. Unless you don't care about losing data, just do right-click, eject, m'kay.
     
  6. jarjarbnks

    jarjarbnks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    middle of nowhere
    I recommend to always use the 'remove safety' option, Couple of times i thought that there is now safe to remove my usb (i did not click the 'remove safety' cloud) and i lost my data.

    So even when it seems that it's safe to remove the usb it might not be (Windows is a very tricky operating system).