1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Review stars and photo in SERP

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by tono485, Dec 24, 2012.

  1. tono485

    tono485 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    1
    Please can you tell me how to add star ratings and author photo in SERP without editing code, but by using some plugins etc ?
    thank you very much
     
  2. Duffers5000

    Duffers5000 Elite Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,467
    Likes Received:
    7,615
    if you want the photo, then you need a google authorship account.LanceV just wrote a thorough how to guide have a look in the archives.....You can use a plugin for the stars and it has been shared on the forum have a look in the downloads section.
     
  3. rugbyjack2005

    rugbyjack2005 Power Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Review stars are called rich snippets. There's bound to be a plugin but I don't know of one off the top of my head. The photo is Google authorship and there are a couple of plugins. I use the Google authorship widget (Wordpress) and that seems to work well.
     
  4. lanbo

    lanbo Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,433
    Likes Received:
    594
    Home Page:
    Be careful adding those stars, you can get a penalty.
     
  5. tono485

    tono485 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    1
    thanks, I have found some plugins that fake review stars(I can set up the number of reviews)--Can it influence SEO negatively ?
     
  6. SEOSIOS

    SEOSIOS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    39
    just google+ with a snippet plugin
     
  7. balsagoth007

    balsagoth007 Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,101
    Likes Received:
    1,378
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    I got a penalty two fucking times! stay away!
     
  8. reallife

    reallife Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,174
    Likes Received:
    531
    I wasn't penalized - G just removed the stars from the SERPS, and shortly after that removed all stars from all sites in my niches.