1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Review funnels still ok?

Discussion in 'White Hat SEO' started by burdsthawurd, Feb 14, 2014.

  1. burdsthawurd

    burdsthawurd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    4
    Occupation:
    App marketer
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Are review funnels getting penalized by google now or is this practice still considered to be ok?
     
  2. mrcheese

    mrcheese Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    22
    For SEO or Adwords?

    They're both impacted differently
     
  3. burdsthawurd

    burdsthawurd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    4
    Occupation:
    App marketer
    Location:
    Netherlands
    For ORM?

    Services like feedbackmagnet and getfivestars
     
  4. funkybunker

    funkybunker Supreme Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    1,767
    Occupation:
    BOSS
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    How does ORM get penalized when it's played a huge role in Local Rankings right now?
     
  5. burdsthawurd

    burdsthawurd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    4
    Occupation:
    App marketer
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Sorry i dont understand your question?

    I am just trying to determine whether services like the two I mentioned in my post above, are legitimate in the eyes of review sites, such as google, yelp, urbanspoon etc etc
     
  6. anthonyseoul

    anthonyseoul Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    8
    Are you asking whether these review sites have caught on to this review funneling by tracking links coming from the same page?

    I am also curious about this. It seems like these sites could easily determine that all these 4- or 5-star reviews are being left by people who come from the same site.
     
  7. burdsthawurd

    burdsthawurd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    4
    Occupation:
    App marketer
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Exactly!

    I am also wondering if they are possibly avoiding this using some clever link masking techniques so it doesn't look like they are coming from that webpage...?

    I am asking becuase if this isnt being penalised, I plan to implement my own version of a review funnel for my clients.
     
  8. mrcheese

    mrcheese Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    22
    They are using the respective companies' APIs so no. The customer is filling out the review directly to the service, so the review is technically not coming from any site.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. Biznik

    Biznik Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    70
    But G could track referrers.
     
  10. funkybunker

    funkybunker Supreme Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    1,767
    Occupation:
    BOSS
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    If you know how to properly build and maintain your review funnel, you won't see any trouble. Plenty of people here would be tossing complaints around if they weren't effective anymore - which is not the case.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. mrcheese

    mrcheese Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    22
    Yessir. They can but it really doesn't matter. They're legit reviews coming from legit IP addresses. If the funnel itself was feeding the reviews it could be a problem but the APIs are read-only. They just display a list of sources for the customer to go to directly. Its pretty much a page full of iframed review portals. The only thing they can use the key for is to aggregate the review data for your clients...we all know why there will never be a writeable API on yelp, etc. Lol
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. burdsthawurd

    burdsthawurd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    4
    Occupation:
    App marketer
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Thanks for the info mrcheese!