1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

reputation management - yelp, local places, review sites

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by shhhitsokay, Jan 2, 2012.

  1. shhhitsokay

    shhhitsokay Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    28
    Just wondering for people who do reputation management for clients, what do you guys do when the client asks to have something done regarding negative reviews on review sites?

    I've read a few threads where people said to push it down in rank, but most people use apps so they can just see reviews on the site itself.
     
  2. iiaok

    iiaok Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    184
    Occupation:
    Pro Apple Bobber
    Location:
    Pinterested.
    You can't really do much more than push it down. The only other thing I've found (on some sites) is to contact the person that posted the negative review and fix the situation. You know, ACTUAL customer service.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. charto03

    charto03 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    76
    Occupation:
    fixing your rep.
    Location:
    Blackhatworld
    Home Page:
    at our reputation management firm we have a full time tech lawyer and we look at each case to see what can be done. RoR and Yelp will not be responsive to notices FYI
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. ESM2012

    ESM2012 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    330
    Occupation:
    Owner, SEO/Social Media Company
    Location:
    Austin TX
    The best thing to do is to make sure you respond to any negative reviews, of course, in a professional manner no matter who may of left the negative review.

    Then proceed as explained by other posters to garner more positive reviews especially for the review site in question. If it's Google reviews, then do your best to bury down the list.

    Sure, unless you get the review taken off, it will still be there, but at least prospective new customers/clients will see that you have responded.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. shhhitsokay

    shhhitsokay Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    28
    Yeah I figure users who can view reviews on apps will be difficult which would have to lead into requiring actual legwork in trying to have businesses directly contact the reviewer.

    Thanks for all the input!
     
  6. GangsterProfit

    GangsterProfit Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    69
    Home Page:
    Check out knowem.com they have a solid strategy that works well for certain things
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. shhhitsokay

    shhhitsokay Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    28
    thanks! Looks like this could come in handy
     
  8. gold33

    gold33 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    United States
    Just curious, what websites have been responsive to letters like this? Any luck with TripAdvisor?