1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Re. Review Copies

Discussion in 'BlackHat Lounge' started by Parker2010, Jul 20, 2017.

  1. Parker2010

    Parker2010 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2017
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    158
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    SEO Consultant
    Location:
    BHW
    Home Page:
    Hey Guys:

    I was wondering - what is the actual meaning of Review Copies ?

    You expect a review from your customer or a customer who buys this review copy (at low price) is suppose to give you a review or it's just a name or something else ?

    Any thoughts, please?

    Sincerely,
    Steve
     
  2. blogzandstuff

    blogzandstuff Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    5,229
    Likes Received:
    2,413
    Occupation:
    blog creator
    Location:
    UK
    Normally it means you get a free copy or software, service etc in return for writing a review on their sales page
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Phenomix

    Phenomix Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2014
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    189
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    A review copy is you offering your product or service to someone either for free or at a discount in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

    Review copies can help get sales threads started because people aren't as willing to buy a new product or service if they haven't heard anything about it. So, a review copy is essentially social proof, good or bad.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Parker2010

    Parker2010 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2017
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    158
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    SEO Consultant
    Location:
    BHW
    Home Page:
    So after offering a review copy, when do you expect a review from them ? Suggestions are appreciated.
     
  5. I know SEO

    I know SEO Marketplace Mod Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    15,901
    Likes Received:
    6,144
    They leave the review when they feel like it's best, it's down to the user.

    They must state that they received a free/discount on the product when they leave the review.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. Reaver

    Reaver Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,850
    Likes Received:
    5,313
    Gender:
    Female
    I just did a review for a new service yesterday.

    I usually do it the day the BST is approved. I suppose within a few days (like 3 or 4) is fine.

    If you have a problem with people leaving reviews within a timely manner after recieving review copies, tell the mods. I've seen it happen once. It's not acceptable.
     
  7. ContentWriter

    ContentWriter Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    2,738
    Likes Received:
    349
    Occupation:
    Content Writer
    Home Page:
    Hi, Steve (@Parker2010).

    Everything they've said is correct. I just want to add that it's at your discretion how you want to define your "review copy".

    You can say that you offer a review copy:
    - for free
    - at a discounted price
    - or say that they have the option to place a small order at your regular price so they can test water with one foot only
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. Parker2010

    Parker2010 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2017
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    158
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    SEO Consultant
    Location:
    BHW
    Home Page:
    Really appreciate your valuable views. So, If I inform to MODs, what could be the possible conclusion or outcome ?
     
  9. Jayder

    Jayder Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    988
    Likes Received:
    874
    Location:
    Pays-Bas
    Home Page:
    Its about getting stuff for free. There is one user on BHW who's making a sport of it.

    He has 'good luck with your BST, any review copy available?' under his ctrl-v.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1