1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please review what you buy!

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by Adam718, Aug 24, 2012.

  1. Adam718

    Adam718 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    433
    Occupation:
    Freelance writer and SEO Specialist
    Location:
    NYC
    I feel that this issue MUST be addressed:

    I scroll through countless BST threads, and see order after order being made/confirmed, but only a small percentage of buyers actually review the service and kind of results they've experienced with it.

    BHW is supposed to be a community, so lets start acting like one. You purchased a link building service? Got good results? Bad results? No results? How hard is it to leave a review? It isn't. You might think it isn't that helpful for other users, but it really is.

    Let's not beat around the bush, a lot of the services being offered here are of low quality and over priced, but make sale after sale because NO ONE KNOWS WHAT'S GOING ON. You can honestly make this forum a better place by rewarding the good, and punishing the bad, just by reviewing. So if you're reading this right now, and think back to a service you spent your hard earned money on that did not deliver results, go write a review stating so. Also, we can't forget about rewarding the good services with positive reviews.

    Yeah, I know. It isn't all about the service, because on page is a factor and blah blah. That's no excuse. Imagine a restaurant that served every dish with hair in it and no one said a thing. People would go in there and choke on hairballs all day lol.

    If you paid $50+ for a service and don't see results, or even just a slight serp increase for an EASY keyword, you got ripped off, and not making that public will result in many others being ripped off as well. I, and a lot of people here know that $50 is more than enough to see good results for non-competitive keywords if it's spent the right way.

    Imagine how much harder some of these services would try if they actually got called out for their bullshit more often.

    The goal is: If there's 50 orders made, there should be 50 reviews to correspond.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 3
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2012
  2. ThopHayt

    ThopHayt Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    5,396
    Likes Received:
    1,644
    You assume that none of those reviews are fake or bribed either. A lot of dup accounts, buddies, and "free with good review" junk floating around.
     
  3. Geshwinn

    Geshwinn Power Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    East of Eden
    Home Page:
    You've heard the saying "The best customer is the complaining customer" :)
    That's because they will give you feedback on your product/service.

    I would say that the more reasonable thing, if people are not satisfied with the service, is to take it to the provider directly first.
    If they don't get the appropriate support then they could make it public. But as you say sometimes the results are not what people expected because of other factors.

    I've seen a lot of people complaining publicly about this and that only to find out that it's been their fault and they have never contacted the seller initially.

    I agree 100% with what you say, I would just add some "common sense" before making the reviews. :)
     
  4. Adam718

    Adam718 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    433
    Occupation:
    Freelance writer and SEO Specialist
    Location:
    NYC
    Yeah. Forgot to mention that. It's ridiculous.
     
  5. toptoptop

    toptoptop BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    157
    Don't know why but when I see a lot of reviews I think they are fake and if there is no review I think that OP can't even buy reviews.
     
  6. Adam718

    Adam718 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    433
    Occupation:
    Freelance writer and SEO Specialist
    Location:
    NYC
    You'd think people spending so much money on something would take the time to praise it for good service, or bash it for bad. I always see people confirming multiple orders of a service that costs $100+. That means they spent a few hundred dollars on something that's ONLY purpose is getting them ranking better.

    Also, I HATE those reviews that just talk about "how well they communicated" or "they had good turnaround time". We aren't spending top dollar for someone to talk to - We can go to a confession booth and get the same for free. We pay to see results. Just place your order, once it's finished wait 2 weeks and report the results. It's that easy.

    I'm not one to gripe about pricing, because I don't mind spending a lot for services that actually works, which there are. It's just so damn hard to find the ones that work, and the ones that don't. So the new guys end up buying 2-3 bullshit services before they finally get to one that seems to work.