1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please review my blog

Discussion in 'Blogging' started by athard, Jun 18, 2009.

  1. athard

    athard Newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently created a wordpress blog for electronics review with affiliate links. I am yet to buy a domain name, still creating pages.

    Would some of you please look at it and let me know what things I could improve on? I could really use some tips.

    Currently, I am working on the title, buying a domain name and adding more reviews.

    Thank you in advance.

    electronicreviews.byethost13.com

    P.S. : If I have posted in the wrong place, please let me know, I'm a newbie here.
     
  2. Alex Brooks

    Alex Brooks BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    297
    Looking good, you should get some professinal hosting, I'd suggest host gator, but you can get hosting for 12 months from dream host for $10.00, they have a special deal on at the moment, so I'd suggest checking that out, how is your traffic converting at the moment? Are you generating many sales?

    I read a post here a few day's back about setting up review pages on differnt products and stuffing it with your affilate links, then ranking high for the products keywords, working with the latest products, it's not overly hard to grab some good keywords, such as the full name of the product instead of the shorter version, but I still need to get around to building the website, thinking about doing something very similar to what you are doing.

    Are you using a plug-in to stick the 'price' box thing in? Or are you doing it by hand?
     
  3. ronnymundster

    ronnymundster Newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    7
    It looks good. One problem is that the actual postings are really narrow, I have the same problem on my blog. One thing that as a user I would really like is a glossary of the terms. I really appreciate the fact that you haven't overloaded it with web bugs and the such. When I check out a blog and it has google analytics and stat counter, and quantserve I never go back.

    Good luck.
     
  4. Alex Brooks

    Alex Brooks BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    297
    @Ronny, what's wrong with monitoring your website? I like to know as much about my visitors, where they came from, where they left, unique hits, page views, etc.
     
  5. bl4ck1ce

    bl4ck1ce Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    77
    Occupation:
    Web Design & Marketing
    Location:
    British Columbia, Canada
    Web bugs? I have so many stat trackers on my sites that I know just about everything about my visitors except what color underwear they're wearing... and I've been thinking of adding a poll for that... ok maybe not that much info..

    anyways.. the blog looks decent, and a reasonable amount of stat tracking is good. :)
     
  6. athard

    athard Newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm going to answer all here:

    Alex: Right now, the site is live,but not live. I haven't bought a domain name or done any real SEO. I doubt it is even indexed. I wanted to do final tweaks before promoting it. I am not using a plugin for the price box. I couldn't find any decent plugin. So here is what I did. I created a spreadsheet where i listed all my TV's along with the appropriate affiliate link from each of the affiliates that I am a member of, CJ for 2 links, Amazon and B&H. Then, in another tab, i put in the general parts of the HTML in certain cells and pulled the links from the first tab, so each time I put in a TV name, the code comes in automatically. Then I copy paste it to my blog. It took me about 6 hours to set up but i created 90 posts in about an hour after that. Since things are set up, i can keep adding more electronics to the first tab and grabbing the code from the second. So it will take me less time in the future. i am also using the info from the first tab for other things like generating meta tags and article marketing, so it helps and keeps me organized.

    Ronny: Could you clarify on the glossary? I have links to different manufacturers on the left. As far as web bugs, the only one i will put in is statcounter so that I can monitor traffic and do targeted SEO.
     
  7. dragonheart

    dragonheart Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    244
    Maybe I'm missing something, but personally, I think you could do some reviews.

    Why would someone come to your site to see product specs? I can't see you getting any SEO benefits for having the same stuff on there as the manufacturer. Maybe you'll get folks to click on your links to actually find out some information kind of like an MFA site, but I doubt you'll get any organic search results and they'll never come back.

    But hey, I don't know anything about this stuff and I'm always surprised to find folks making money with sites like this.

    Take care.

    DH
     
  8. athard

    athard Newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, that's why I wanted input from you guys. I am willing to do whatever it takes to make this succeed. If that means doing more reviews, i'll all for it. I'm not afraid of the hard work, i just don't want to be working hard on the wrong thing.
     
  9. dragonheart

    dragonheart Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    244
    Athard:

    Sorry if I sounded harsh to your post, I guess I was actually responding to the folks saying nice job etc.

    Anyway, what I do when I don't have the product on hand is to go to a site like Amazon and read the customer reviews and if there aren't any I go surfing. ;)

    And when I get home, I look online for complaints or praise for the products and then rewrite them in my own words.

    DH
     
  10. athard

    athard Newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    no worried dude, no offense taken. :)

    I get what you're saying though. I will add a few reviews. I'm thinking of allowing comments and putting in reviews within the comments.
     
  11. CreativeWriters

    CreativeWriters Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    185
    Occupation:
    Chartered Accountant & Content Writer
    Location:
    Somewhere Safe!!
    Home Page:
    Blog looks good. I guess what would be better is that you increased the size of the left menu and added something like a glossary or an extended menu by which people could goto the product easily.

    Also i think dragonheart is completely correct. You need to add much more then just product comparisons, there are various websites online which would allow you to compare products, lots of big e-shopping sites.

    Add a review section or some other stuff, which would allow the readers to get YOUR opinion of the product.
     
  12. ronnymundster

    ronnymundster Newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    7
    @alex et al.

    Nothing wrong with tracking your viewers. I just take umbrage at some of these sites that have 4 or 5 trackers installed. And then even more in the form of facebook pingers and the such. All things in moderation.