1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

outranking negative reviews

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by theseodude, May 1, 2013.

  1. theseodude

    theseodude Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    88
    I am working with a guy who has a one star Yelp review showing up in the serps as soon as somebody googles his name or his business name. This was definitely left by a competitor. Yelp is the first search result.

    Now here is the problem: When someone googles his name, the second search result is 40 excellent reviews from another review site.
    A great question that he asked me and I wasn't able to clearly answer is this: how do you outrank the yelp review without also outranking the other reviews? we definitely do not want to push the other reviews to page 2.

    I would negative seo that yelp URL. however, I am afraid some pissed off blog owner will write another bad review for him, saying "this guy spammed by blog"
     
  2. pandadog

    pandadog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    7
    I'm curious what others have to say about this, but I'm pretty sure negative SEOing yelp is going to be too difficult.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. oplaopla

    oplaopla Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    247
    ^This

    But you should tell him to have an incentive for clients to give reviews on Yelp for like 20 clients and he will be good to go. No need to try to outrank Yelp.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. JustUs

    JustUs Power Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    470
    Let me throw something at you. Why not use the negative review sites that allow posting without verification of the information a poster writes to your advantage. Rather than write a negative review, write a positive review posing as a negative review on the same site. Use proper on page SEO and the proper amount of keywords and you will outrank the negative review. Alternatively, you could post about how JB's restaurant has curly tailed Martians that serve the food while vaporous Jupitarians cook the food, and the raw food is carried in from the dock by Plutonians who are illegal aliens.

    You have two methods to address the issue. Write a positive review posing as a complaint, or write a bogus and obviously false complaint. The positive review helps and actually counters the negative, and enough fake reviews is a trigger to most people to ignore any complaint about that bad website about that company. Not to mention that it gives the negative review site a black eye, and that enough posing or obviously false and fictitious reports will cast those sites as fiction.

    Use your enemies strengths to defeat him. (Paraphrased Sun Tzu, Art of War.)
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2013
  5. intrepid

    intrepid Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    47
    He ought to have his happy customers post their experiences on Yelp. That shouldn't be difficult if he's got a legit business with best practices.
     
  6. JustUs

    JustUs Power Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    470
    Here is the problem with bad review sites: if you post a response to the bad review, even though well intentioned, it helps the page rank higher due to new content. So what a person needs to do is to create a new complaint that is actually a positive review, or so much fiction that it is obviously false.

    Both work equally well. Propaganda is a bear.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. pandadog

    pandadog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    7
    That is an excellent point.
     
  8. mogaz

    mogaz Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Messages:
    968
    Likes Received:
    56
    Just us i agree with you too, thats is actually how it works.
     
  9. AR!ZONA

    AR!ZONA Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    391
    Location:
    Cactus Island
    The correct (in my eyes) way to do things is to respond to every bad yelp review, trying to console the customer.
    Start new google listing reviews with positive comments.

    The blackhat in me tells me to write some review pages, spin like crazy, and post a shit ton of ORM so that Yelp actually falls off the front page.

    There's a service here that does ORM in the top CPM spot onsite.
     
  10. Seo-Devil

    Seo-Devil Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    207
    Occupation:
    Making Money
    Location:
    頂級谷歌
    Just get positive review on same site, make it 90% positive 10% negative <br><br>Nobody will take attention in it (even it will look more natural)
     
  11. pathart

    pathart Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    654
    Location:
    Dublin - Ireland
    build web 2.0 properties related to your company name and rank them, even build them with terms like 'company+scam' and 'company+review'.

    Good luck
     
  12. JustUs

    JustUs Power Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    470
    If you were addressing a legitimate complaint where the complainer identified themselves, then your approach would be correct. However, when dealing with sites like Yelp, ROR, Pissedconsumer, Complaintsboard, or other sites that allow anonymous complaints, it is difficult to address the complainer, or the complaint. Most of these sites operate on the principle of anonymous complaint with the intention of compelling a business/person into paying them a maintenance fee of some type to moderate the negative information. With Yelp, it is paying advertising fee's; with ROR it is the Corporate Advocacy Program with initial fees as high as 50k and monthly fees as high as 5k; with Pissedconsumer and Complaintboard it is a $500 fee per complaint.

    While anonymity is good in that it allows a person to say something that they may not say otherwise, it is also bad for the same reason. Abuse of anonymity is more often the case on the complaints boards. Say for example a customer is mad because you did not give them a ten percent senior discount because they were not a senior. They anonymously write a negative complaint and propagate that complaint across several complaints boards. They are mad about not getting a senior discount, but you were entirely correct in not giving them that discount. This is a false complaint made for a false purpose, and is done anonymously with the sole intent of causing harm and obtaining vengeance. You can address the complaint and give it more visibility, thereby causing yourself more harm. You can pay the company the fees that they are falsely extorting from you. Or, you can that complaint in another manner.

    I do some ORM. I can tell you that I play dirty. In one instance, I found out who made a false complaint. I fired up SENuke and created 1500 pages targeting that person and the city that the person lived in. They are not happy. They were told upfront what my terms are - take down all the BS and pay damages. Since they made some of those false and vengeful complaints on ROR, the complaint cannot be taken down. So until they pay those damages, and the fees Magedson wants, the pages I put up stay up. And if you want to know, it was an unscrupulous ORM firm that did that.

    In each case, the person or business must decide what to do and how to best address the matter.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1