1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[ORM] How do you encourage people to leave a review?

Discussion in 'Offline Marketing' started by rszarc, Apr 1, 2014.

  1. rszarc

    rszarc Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    36
    I must ask you people who provide orm services how do you encourage business clients to leave a review? For example a hotel:
    -they submit the email address at reception and you send inbox message later asking for a review
    -give them business card with the review funnel url
    -offer a random prize for those who leave a review montly
    -offer them something free at the leaving of the hotel or when they stay there(that would make they feeling compelled to leave a review)

    I'm think that 90% of clients will not leave a review if you just give them a visit card or just tell them. They will put it in the wallet and forget about it. Are there any ways you can make they leave a review?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  2. FlightSchool

    FlightSchool Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    24
    Either on the spot there, and give them a prize AFTER they do a review, or tell them to come back with proof that they left a review (screen shot or something) and they will get prize.


    offer the prize afterwards.

    that's all i can think of
     
  3. Alinea

    Alinea Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    545
    I agree with you there. People aren't going to leave a review just because you ask. I mean they will, more often than if you don't ask, but you want to give them motivation to do so. Not just with prizes, but with customer experience. A hotel would have many opportunities to make their guests feel special. So it goes a bit beyond just trying to ask for reviews, but changing the way your client treats customers. Convincing them to change is another thing though.
     
  4. salman200867

    salman200867 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    2
    by selling 3rd class products lol
     
  5. rszarc

    rszarc Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    36
    So the hotel manager have to do half of the job in this to improve their reputation.
     
  6. Alinea

    Alinea Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    545
    "ORM" is just a tactic... just a thing or means to improve and amplify reputation. One slice of the pie. It's not something you implement and expect magical results. If the business has its own problems, that's not something you can force a business owner to fix. Trying to pile on "solutions" like ORM isn't going to do much. Yes, it can be hard to change towards a more customer-centric culture if you're resistant to change, but it's not hard to head there.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. thedorf

    thedorf Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,193
    Likes Received:
    700
    Occupation:
    what? I gotta have a job?
    Location:
    BHW - Where else?
    Try giving something away to people as they are leaving the hotel, with the expectation they will leave a review if they take the gift.

    Gifts are cheap and plentiful. Search DollarDays.com and buy 20-50 of something, like fleece blankets at $3.29 each or go even cheaper with Tealight candles (for her) around $1.16 each or whatever for him. Visit your local dollar store (in the US) and look around - again - gifts can be cheap and plentiful and people will do many things to get something free.

    No, I don't work for dollardays.com or dollar stores, but I do purchase gifts from them myself, to be given out for things like this. This also allows you to put a price point on getting legit reviews, so you can test and optimize.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1