1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Optimal Review Length?

Discussion in 'Making Money' started by GoldCult1, Jan 10, 2014.

  1. GoldCult1

    GoldCult1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Collecting Centrelink Payments
    Location:
    Australia
    G'day BHW,

    I'm currently working on a project where I review certain products (not electronic related). Was planning on doing a heap of reviews and tips and just chucking Adsense and Amazon Affiliate Links (to the product I'm reviewing) on the site. Everytime I review a product though, it comes up to the 300-350 word mark. I reckon I've written just about all I want to say on that particular product though, but I've heard the optimal length of an article should be around 500 words. Maybe I could do articles where I compare 2 products? Come up with a pros/cons list? I was wondering if any of you have any advice on the matter? Sorry if this thread's been done before.

    Cheers,
     
  2. heartnet02

    heartnet02 Power Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    97
    Home Page:
    Here's something you can try as a format

    Intro to the product
    Features
    Pros
    Cons
    Solutions to cons
    Conclusion

    This is what I use for my review articles and it works fine.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. michaelr1988

    michaelr1988 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    307
    Location:
    UK
    Your forum post alone is around 130 words. Almost half way to your current review length, it can't be too hard to churn out 500 words if you put your mind to it.

    Try padding it out a bit about the design and dimensions of the product plus a little information about why it stands out from similar products in the niche. If you haven't already, you can also talk about the warranty and compare it again to similar products.

    If you are still struggling to hit higher word counts, put in a bad points section where you list one problem with the product but then go on to say how you found something that corrected this problem.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. GoldCult1

    GoldCult1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Collecting Centrelink Payments
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks mate, I reckon I'll find having a format to the review will help heaps! I'll try to pepper my articles with keywords and the name of the product I'm reviewing too.
     
  5. Beven

    Beven Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    938
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    350 or 500 words isn't going to make nearly as much different as ad placement, your SEO etc.

    Don't focus too much on it.
     
  6. michaelr1988

    michaelr1988 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    307
    Location:
    UK
    I disagree. You will miss out on long tail traffic with less words. Long tail traffic is what you want with Amazon to get the conversions because it is buying traffic a lot of the time. So 350 to 500 does and will make a difference especially if you have a lot of articles on your site.
     
  7. Beven

    Beven Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    938
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I didn't say it wouldn't make a difference, I said there are more important factors.

    With 350 words you can still rank for longtail keywords.
     
  8. Reyone

    Reyone Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    1,282
    Occupation:
    Hunter
    This...

    More important than the amount of word count is the coherence and the quality of the article. If your aim is for users to read, like, share and enjoy your site, make sure to work on the overall quality of the reviews/whatever you doing.

    Following a structure is pretty important, does not mean you need to follow the same structure for each of the articles, but you can draw a few different structure styles and use them whenever you see fit.

    Following a structure is like putting a trap in the forest... it will lure the readers more into it and if everything is well set, they will bite for sure.

    /e: as for the article length, when doing any decent review, you will always get at least 400-450 words... I really cannot imagine a structured article under 400 words that aims to entice the users to purchase the product. Then again, maybe you can get it done.
     
  9. GoldCult1

    GoldCult1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Collecting Centrelink Payments
    Location:
    Australia
    Yeah, ultimately I'm aiming to make an authority site on the subject. The only way I can get returns from my webby is to make enjoyable to read reviews, but people's interest tend to dip off I feel. Maybe it's just the way I write. Maybe I should outsource some of the work?
     
  10. GoldCult1

    GoldCult1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Collecting Centrelink Payments
    Location:
    Australia
    My niche is related to cosmetics btw