New Google Algorithm Update Aimed At Product Reviews

WIZDAHL

Regular Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2019
Messages
468
Reaction score
329
sorry for newbie ask. for now after update, we need review from other website to increase ours serp??

That's not what this update is about. It targets "product review" content that is generally used by affiliate sites.
 

MisterF

Jr. Executive VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
26,132
Reaction score
39,344
Website
www.blackhatworld.com
How do we get the original images of the products? Can we use YouTube to take snapshot from the videos which are reviewing similar products?

What they are wanting are people to be reading 'real reviews written by real users of products' not writers who are rehashing other peoples content and have no idea what the product is or does and have never seen one in real life.
 

Gioware

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2013
Messages
222
Reaction score
102
What's the endgame here? Why the product reviews? Since when Google is concerned with product reviews?
 

praetserge

Jr. VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
Apr 4, 2014
Messages
3,766
Reaction score
2,639
What they are wanting are people to be reading 'real reviews written by real users of products' not writers who are rehashing other peoples content and have no idea what the product is or does and have never seen one in real life.
Precisely... And I think it's the right thing to do.
In my niche... the same rehashed outdated reviews praising this or that product (always praising the product which pays the most, even if it's crap).
 

austinn2603

Registered Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2020
Messages
77
Reaction score
101
I'm new to the party.
I'm building out a new product review site at the moment in the traditional listicle format. It feels like I am screwed.
How would you build it out now?
OK, so here is my best advice for you: You can build an affiliate site at the moment, but as you progress, try to move your content as much as possible to TikTok and FB reels.

It is not difficult to do, just simply as transforming a post to a short video (30 - 60 seconds), which you can totally do on your smartphone or hire someone for $10 on Fiverr to do it for you.

I know many people here hate TikTok, FB reels or so (I did once) but these platforms are future-proof and having huge amount of users. The best part about these platforms is that they respect the creators (or publishers as in SEO), give the creators everything to success.

This is never been the case for Google, they always screw us with stupid updates. And that's not enough, now they are developing more and more serp features to scrape your site content.

74f.png
 

WIZDAHL

Regular Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2019
Messages
468
Reaction score
329
OK, so here is my best advice for you: You can build an affiliate site at the moment, but as you progress, try to move your content as much as possible to TikTok and FB reels.

You are comparing 2 very different markets. Most affiliate marketers build spammy sites with ghostwritten content and a fake persona in hopes of getting SEO traffic.

I don't use TikTok but I highly doubt its users are searching for "top 10 widgets 2022" etc. $10 bullshit from Fiverr won't get you much far on any medium anyway. So if you're a small-time affiliate marketer that builds Made For Amazon sites, you're fucked.
 

MisterF

Jr. Executive VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
26,132
Reaction score
39,344
Website
www.blackhatworld.com
You are comparing 2 very different markets. Most affiliate marketers build spammy sites with ghostwritten content and a fake persona in hopes of getting SEO traffic.

I don't use TikTok but I highly doubt its users are searching for "top 10 widgets 2022" etc. $10 bullshit from Fiverr won't get you much far on any medium anyway. So if you're a small-time affiliate marketer that builds Made For Amazon sites, you're fucked.

The game changed a lot too when NY Times bought Sweethome and Wirecutter 5 1/2 years ago
 

danedral

Registered Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2008
Messages
50
Reaction score
17
This update is a worthless update like all others from google. Even when you get a hit after a week or two your website returns to the same or higher position than it was.
Just keep building backlinks properly and you don't need to stress.
What I meant by building backlinks properly tier1 < tier2's < tier3's rinse and repeat :)
 

spectrejoe

Jr. VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
Sep 25, 2013
Messages
3,892
Reaction score
1,955
Website
skyrocket-growth.com
1) Check the quality of your reviews compared to the top ranking ones.
2) Does your reviews meet the guidelines suggested by Google?

Depending on the answers, I'd either edit, it completely rewrite the reviews.
Just taking info from an Amazon sales pages isn't enough. You need to put in why it's good and what things you don't like about it. This is really the case of knowing the niche inside out so that you can stand out amongst the crowd.

There's a reason my sites stand out from the other ones. I'm ranking above newspapers and Which in my main niche because I understand the products being reviewed, whereas they're just taking the manufacturer info, adding in some fluff and expecting to rank high. Also, the newspaper and Which are a lot older than my site, with high DR/UR DA and PA. They're still faltering despite this.
Do you not put the product info at all? Just straight up review?
 

bartosimpsonio

Jr. Executive VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
Mar 21, 2013
Messages
21,235
Reaction score
26,508
Website
coinmarketcap.com
What they are wanting are people to be reading 'real reviews written by real users of products' not writers who are rehashing other peoples content and have no idea what the product is or does and have never seen one in real life.

What about all the major news sites rehashing each others news reports?

Also, how they gonna do this, other than tracking everyone's logins and checking accounts for "authority".....this sucks big time IMO.

We need web3.0 ASAP. Google has destroyed the once free WWW.
 

spectrejoe

Jr. VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
Sep 25, 2013
Messages
3,892
Reaction score
1,955
Website
skyrocket-growth.com
Personally my site got hit kinda hard by this update, can some of you guys that managed to get a nice boost from it give some tips on what you're doing?
1648382276856.png


That's a 25-30% Drop since the 21st of March.

The way I do the "Top 5 Best XXX" posts is:

Introduction
Table with products
Each Individual Product Review (I just post Amazon Features and then get AI to rewrite them again into a couple sentences, it generates extra content for the article and it's unique)
Expand Upon the subject below, such as discussing why it's important to select the right product for you, what to consider before choosing one, etc...
FAQ at the bottom with a few different H3 questions from the "People also ask"

Like, I could obviously just find some IRL pictures of each product and watermark them to make them unique & expand on each individual product, however, how the hell does Google even know what's right or wrong and if something looks like it was actually tested by the writer or not...
 

Shwepps

Power Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2015
Messages
524
Reaction score
192
Just another google update to f*ck everyone. Like if any of "authority" sites use the products they review in their "best" articles lol.
Today figured out a few of my keywords got top 1, but google cached table and basically my ctr for that article is 2-3 per cent. Niiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiice........
 

sarfrazk9

Newbie
Joined
Jan 18, 2016
Messages
49
Reaction score
18
Personally my site got hit kinda hard by this update, can some of you guys that managed to get a nice boost from it give some tips on what you're doing?
View attachment 205965

That's a 25-30% Drop since the 21st of March.

The way I do the "Top 5 Best XXX" posts is:

Introduction
Table with products
Each Individual Product Review (I just post Amazon Features and then get AI to rewrite them again into a couple sentences, it generates extra content for the article and it's unique)
Expand Upon the subject below, such as discussing why it's important to select the right product for you, what to consider before choosing one, etc...
FAQ at the bottom with a few different H3 questions from the "People also ask"

Like, I could obviously just find some IRL pictures of each product and watermark them to make them unique & expand on each individual product, however, how the hell does Google even know what's right or wrong and if something looks like it was actually tested by the writer or not...
I have suffered these types of hits since 2017. It's very hard right now to keep up with everything. And tier 1 natural backlinks didn't improve anything from me. And I am talking about the major authority websites linking to mine for natural and original content.
 

Solopreneur

Newbie
Joined
Jul 16, 2019
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
matt diggity says it's nothing different from last update, but I haven't got time to look into this.

I'm also doubting, all updates google made is to make it easier for them to steal, short and conclusive content from websites, to show directly in serps. Just like rich result or feature snippet, so users won't have to click on websites.
I've the same thought as you. In fact, what Google say, I do the opposite and it ranks well :))
 

austinn2603

Registered Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2020
Messages
77
Reaction score
101
Personally my site got hit kinda hard by this update, can some of you guys that managed to get a nice boost from it give some tips on what you're doing?
That should be a secret sauce so I dont think me or anyone here would tell you.

But anyway, here is my best advice for you: Wait a few weeks (usually 2 weeks) until this update finish rolling out. Then check your most affected keywords and see who are ranking high, what they doing.

Try to mimic that and do 10x better than your competitors. That's exactly the kind of content Google want to see.

That's a 25-30% Drop since the 21st of March.

The way I do the "Top 5 Best XXX" posts is:

Introduction
Table with products
Each Individual Product Review (I just post Amazon Features and then get AI to rewrite them again into a couple sentences, it generates extra content for the article and it's unique)
Expand Upon the subject below, such as discussing why it's important to select the right product for you, what to consider before choosing one, etc...
FAQ at the bottom with a few different H3 questions from the "People also ask"

Like, I could obviously just find some IRL pictures of each product and watermark them to make them unique & expand on each individual product, however, how the hell does Google even know what's right or wrong and if something looks like it was actually tested by the writer or not...

Well, maybe early to guess but I think in the next few Product Reviews updates, Google will favor and display more videos from Youtube Shorts, FB reels, TikTok and push down ordinary articles to the bottom of serps. You can rewrite an article but you cant "rewrite" a video.

That's just my guess and hopefully it not gonna happen.
 

Dhilariousdandy

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2016
Messages
265
Reaction score
102
OK, so here is my best advice for you: You can build an affiliate site at the moment, but as you progress, try to move your content as much as possible to TikTok and FB reels.

It is not difficult to do, just simply as transforming a post to a short video (30 - 60 seconds), which you can totally do on your smartphone or hire someone for $10 on Fiverr to do it for you.

I know many people here hate TikTok, FB reels or so (I did once) but these platforms are future-proof and having huge amount of users. The best part about these platforms is that they respect the creators (or publishers as in SEO), give the creators everything to success.

This is never been the case for Google, they always screw us with stupid updates. And that's not enough, now they are developing more and more serp features to scrape your site content.

74f.png

Apt! I'm yet to figure out how to go about the Tiktok and FB reels stuff in my niche (Outdoor). Like I have to convert my already written articles to informational videos and product reviews to video content? Or create a new video reviewing some products?

I'm yet to get the concept here, could you please explain?
 

Ozzyzig

Jr. Executive VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
Jun 10, 2011
Messages
1,885
Reaction score
1,518
Do you not put the product info at all? Just straight up review?
I put in the product info but that's because I know about it in depth.
For talkings sake if I was doing a best of list for the best hammers, I would talk about the construction and length of it. But then I'd be expanding it out on why these features are important and also discuss how I felt about using it. Both in terms of comfort, grip and how easy it is to use it over prolonged periods.

It's all about adding in enough relevant information so that it's clear as day that you have used these products. When I follow those steps, I've never not had a review and best of list rank in the first 5 spots on page 1.
 

Dhilariousdandy

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2016
Messages
265
Reaction score
102
Personally my site got hit kinda hard by this update, can some of you guys that managed to get a nice boost from it give some tips on what you're doing?
View attachment 205965

That's a 25-30% Drop since the 21st of March.

The way I do the "Top 5 Best XXX" posts is:

Introduction
Table with products
Each Individual Product Review (I just post Amazon Features and then get AI to rewrite them again into a couple sentences, it generates extra content for the article and it's unique)
Expand Upon the subject below, such as discussing why it's important to select the right product for you, what to consider before choosing one, etc...
FAQ at the bottom with a few different H3 questions from the "People also ask"

Like, I could obviously just find some IRL pictures of each product and watermark them to make them unique & expand on each individual product, however, how the hell does Google even know what's right or wrong and if something looks like it was actually tested by the writer or not...
How do you find IRL pictures?
 
Top