1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need WordPress Review Plugins

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by pintonbd, Aug 24, 2008.

  1. pintonbd

    pintonbd Power Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    186
    Occupation:
    Banker
    Hi,
    after searching on net i have seen some very good Wordpress Review Pluings whice can be used for making some review blog..
    can any one share any Wordpress /Joomle/Drupla Reviews tools if Have?
    or give some tips ..i want to make a good Hosting review site..
    thanks
     
  2. stroz

    stroz Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    toronto
    http://www.wpreviewsite.com/

    this is one of the better review site plugins i've seen but it does cost 97$. Here it is in action on a hosting review site of all things:
    http://www.awardwinninghosts.com/
     
  3. proxydude

    proxydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    21
    I have not used it but this gets some pretty good reviews:

    hxxp://pressography.com/plugins/rating-dominator/?download=1993

    It is wordpress plugin and it is free.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 4
  4. Tilt4832

    Tilt4832 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Over the Rainbow
    Thanks for posting this plugin, it looks interesting, and the best part is the price. Heck, if it works well, I may even send the guy a Beer or two as a token reward.

    I have a new Mu site going up tonight I'll give it a try. ;)

    History:

    I was looking for a high-quality ratings/review plugin so I could create some Web 2.0-ish sites for marketing affiliate products. I use Web 2.0-ish loosely, because the only 2.0ish about the sites was the interaction I wanted to have with the ratings. But unfortunately, I didn?t find anything that I could use. (Sound familiar? This is pretty much why I ever create a plugin? haha)

    So I took the best ratings plugin that I could find at the time - Dan Grossman?s DG Review Site - and modified it heavily to give me the power and interaction that I needed.

    The biggest changes I made was to add aggregators (Best Rated Posts, Most Helpful Reviewers, etc) and the Amazon-style ?Was this review helpful?? buttons. These buttons allow your users to effectively moderate the reviews for you. Normally, if your post has 9 ratings at 10/10, and 1 rating at 1/10, that drops your average rating to 9.1/10. But with the helpfulness ratings, if your readers mark the 1 rating as not helpful, then your post?s average rating goes back up to where it should be - 10/10. (This process happens slowly, and is based on how many helpful vs not helpful marks a rating gets)
     
  5. dangrossman

    dangrossman Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Home Page:
    The paid plugin above is the "DG Review Site" he's mentioning, but version 2.0.

    The SOurceBench plugin is over a year old (WP 1.x) and never left beta, good luck with it :)
     
  6. undergroundguru

    undergroundguru BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    465
    Anyone have any success with this?

    I'm going to try it later this week, if I have time. But wanted to know if its even worth the effort.
     
  7. Tilt4832

    Tilt4832 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Over the Rainbow
    I think the new free version is worth a shot, look at the comments section, small issues that are easily fixed.

    Heck, I might even bundle it in a package and sell it on a forum somewhere.
     
  8. dangrossman

    dangrossman Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Home Page:
    There is no new free version, the SB script was last updated 0.9 beta in 2007, and doesn't have the same features as the paid one.
     
  9. lazysurfer

    lazysurfer Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    BlackHat marketer
    He's right don't waste your time with the old free version when the new paid one "WP Review Site 2.0" is being shared on several forums.
     
  10. Tilt4832

    Tilt4832 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Over the Rainbow
    What part of this do you not understand?



    <?php
    /*
    Plugin Name: Rating Dominator
    Plugin URI: http://www.RatingDominator.com
    Description: Easily Turns Your Wordpress Blog Into A Review Site. You Can Get Help Videos By Registering at <a href="http://www.RatingDomintor.com">RatingDominator.com</a>
    Author: Jason DeVelvis
    Author URI: http://www.FlurryMarketing.com
    Version: 3.0
    */
     
  11. dangrossman

    dangrossman Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Home Page:
    "He's right don't waste your time with the old free version when the new paid one "WP Review Site 2.0" is being shared on several forums."


    Link ?
     
  12. lazysurfer

    lazysurfer Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    BlackHat marketer
    Are you asking for the link?

    Sorry it is on the do not share list!

    But any Blackhat worth his/her weight in salt can find it.
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2008
  13. dangrossman

    dangrossman Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Home Page:
    Pretty proud that you can steal software someone worked hard to make, huh. Loser.
     
  14. T-5102030

    T-5102030 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    West of The East & East of The West
    Well, Dan, it goes a little something like this:

    If you are out to make money, do not expect everybody else to do your work for you for free,
    as that makes you a total cheapskate... err.... Loser.

    Since you stand to make a solid profit of $80+ per sale, the least you can do when expecting
    somebody to help you protect your shit is to pay them.

    Does your patent or intellectual property attorney work for free???
    Does he track violations of your copyrights for free? NO.

    Do not expect us to do so either. Besides, if you are going to do nothing more than post
    about how "the super mega mega shit" your product is, why not do like everybody else
    trying to pimp a product and pay $20 to list it properly.... make your business look like
    a legitimate business.

    Either way: pay up, or shut up.

    There, that professional mentoring session (advice) is free... this time.

    ~ T
     
  15. lazysurfer

    lazysurfer Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    BlackHat marketer
    Well, smart-guy, I didn't steal your software. I'm just saying, while your sitting here hitting your refresh button to see if anyone is posting a link to your software, people are sharing it everywhere. So if you want to keep trying to put me down I could easily use some automated software to post links to your software on every blog, forum, newsgroup, chat room, torrent site and email box I can find. Then you would be the loser!
     
  16. leftbrainer

    leftbrainer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    21
    Hey Dan,
    I hope you read this. I think it would be great if you thought about bringing down the price to around $49. Take for instance phpbay pro. It's easily worth $99-$149 but he charges a lower amount. People are basically honest and if they get something that's really useful to them at a reasonable price, they will happily go ahead and pay for it. I AM IN NO WAY SAYING IT'S SHARE STUFF but when you are on a budget, some people do cut-corner kind of things. Me personally, I am no saint but if I use something that makes me money on here, I have no problem sending in an anonymous payment to the developer because honestly, I think it's kinda right.

    I guess what I am saying is that people are going to download it anyway and I know I'd feel mad as hell if someone was doing it to my stuff but that's where the double standards come it. If the price was lower and given that it seems to be a good product, the average person (even on this forum) would probably buy it vs. downloading it for free. I'm not excusing anyone's actions I'm just giving you a tip because you seem like you are committed to providing a good product and in my opinion black hat means screwing the system not throwing one's morals out the window.

    Anyway, I know for sure that what goes around comes around because as much stuff as I have downloaded here, this past week I caught a virus which wiped out my hard drive and I couldn't even complain because karma is real! LOL

    Off my soapbox now and good luck to you...
     
  17. rudyvise

    rudyvise Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    169
    Occupation:
    Corporate Copywriter
    Location:
    England
    Its the same with all these "Secret Ebooks" and software stuff. If its valuable to folks, then the developer will do well. If it's a pile of crap then they are basically wasting their time anyway. And i'm not going to be caught spending money on crap products.

    Rudy
     
  18. dangrossman

    dangrossman Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Home Page:
    I completely agree, and I'm glad to see some BHW members bought the script from this thread even though they know you can get it for free. I'm not going to go after anyone that's sharing it on those crazy Russian forums... too much work when I should be focusing on helping the people that do buy it with their sites. They're looking really good.

    Thanks for the advice everyone, I take it to heart, I shouldn't have asked for help finding the pirated copies. Long live BHW :)
     
  19. dangrossman

    dangrossman Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Home Page:
    I'll think about it when the sales slow down, which is probably when the posts on all the blogs that wrote about the plugin get old :)
     
  20. flyyafly

    flyyafly Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    more info:
    http://www.blackhatworld.com/blackhat-seo/download-requests/21682-req-wpreview-ite.html