1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mechanical Turk to generate local reviews?

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by Bostoncab, Aug 25, 2012.

  1. Bostoncab

    Bostoncab Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    514
    Occupation:
    pain in the ass cabbie
    Location:
    Boston,Ma.
    Home Page:
    Mechanical Turk to generate local reviews? Has anyone ever tried this? I need like 20 reviews and just posted a gig on MTurk. I am wondering if it will work?
     
  2. 7878

    7878 Executive VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,382
    Likes Received:
    7,864
    Your existing reviews (link in sig) are incredibly spammy and clearly fake. This is for a legit brick and mortar - you may want to consider the impact a $xxx,xxx FTC fine will have on your business. You're talking about publicly soliciting fake reviews now on mturk.... c'mon man, you're smarter than this.

    ps Id remove that link from your sig as well. There's an element on IM forums that just likes to sit around and report things like this for kicks.
     
  3. Bostoncab

    Bostoncab Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    514
    Occupation:
    pain in the ass cabbie
    Location:
    Boston,Ma.
    Home Page:
    Why would fake reviews be illegal? Have you seen a movie poster lately? Do you have other ideas on how to generate reviews?
     
  4. 7878

    7878 Executive VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,382
    Likes Received:
    7,864
    A movie poster? Lol. Don't say I didn't try to warn you.

    http://www.nytimes.com/2009/07/15/technology/internet/15lift.html

    http://www.nytimes.com/2010/08/27/technology/27ftc.html

    http://www.drivingsales.com/blogs/exteres/2011/03/18/ftc-slaps-250000-fine-on-bogus-online-reviews

    Maybe you should research the legality of what you're doing before jeopardizing your livelihood. :)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. Bostoncab

    Bostoncab Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    514
    Occupation:
    pain in the ass cabbie
    Location:
    Boston,Ma.
    Home Page:
  6. Bloghat

    Bloghat Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    120
    Maaan, what are you arguing about? Do you think faking reviews becomes legit because you find a different niche where they do it aswell? Your are still risking a fine, no matter if others get away with it.
    'Yeah I saw that guy stealing a car, so I think it's ok to do it. No???'