1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

making money with review sites

Discussion in 'Making Money' started by ebric, Nov 9, 2008.

  1. ebric

    ebric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    29
    anyone know how to make a review site similar to ign or game spot or maybe one even for phones
     
  2. scottb99

    scottb99 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    5
    The short answer to your question is yes. Will someone teach you or do it for you? That I do not know.
     
  3. ubuntuser

    ubuntuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    2
    Review sites make money on adsense and affiliates. Then for the hardest part you need to generate traffic.
     
  4. Patrat

    Patrat Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    549
    Occupation:
    Entrepreneur, Blogger & Internet Marketer
    Location:
    England, UK
    I run review sites in many markets such as gaming, travel, entertainment, shopping etc. My advice to you would be to not focus on just reviews. Bulk the site up with other features such as news, comparisons etc.

    I earn my commissions through various monetizing strategies such as adsense, affiliate banners. However the content my sites provide is not mine. It is all provided by content partnerships and API'S.

    For example reviews on my many sites come from content partnerships such as CNET, Amazon and Epionions. You can also use content feeds such as Google News and API's such as Kelkoo and Shopping.com. Although it all depends on what niche you are based in or what you are trying to promote.

    These are the methods I use. However these are the methods I use for building my brand website portals. These are no just throw away websites and I would not suggest using Black Hat methods or traffic on them. Mine are White Hat based.

    I do have Black Hat review sites but these are of a different strategy. For these I just have a landing page review style website with a few products on reviewed. I find these the best types when using Black Hat methods to promote.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. abbygirl

    abbygirl BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    662
    To ebric:

    I had one of my review site: plz have a look on this:
    hxxp://weightlossfast.we.bs/
     
  6. ebric

    ebric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    29
    looks pretty good..did you just start creating websites
     
  7. Yukinari84

    Yukinari84 Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,474
    Likes Received:
    4,665
    Occupation:
    I'm retired ;p
    Location:
    Somewhere in space...
    as long as you have a nice chunk of consistent, targeted traffic, you could monetize the site with Adsense and affiliate offers for starters. If your site has a shitload of traffic and ranked well in Google, you could even sell advertising on your site.

    just be a little creative.