1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

just wondering do bloggers get free stuff to review on youtube?

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by Marcink99, Jun 18, 2013.

  1. Marcink99

    Marcink99 Power Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    99
    like laptops,tvs, cell phones etc? It makes me wonders if big companies send out expensive stuff just to get a review... or do they just barrow it to the bloggers and ask to have it back when done.... anybody ever got anything free to review?
     
  2. osnapitzari.labs

    osnapitzari.labs Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    16
    Youtube does send equipment to partners who are doing well. I don't know how you qualify for free equipment, but I know you need quality videos to catch Youtube's eye.

    I know of one channel that shows the equipment that youtube has sent them. Most of this equipment was filming equipment; a canon dslr, lighting equipment, etc.

    I can provide you a link to the video if needed.


    EDIT (Reread question):

    Companies DO send out products for bloggers to review. Most companies expect the products to be sent back, but some bloggers are allowed to keep the equipment. It depends on the company and the power of the blogger.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Reyone

    Reyone Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    1,277
    Occupation:
    Hunter
    You have to show your titties

    they just barrow
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. MissioneR

    MissioneR Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,565
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    In my GUTS
    It depends on the product cost and worth of the blog review. If product owner thinks both are equal or blog reviews worth more. They will send product to blogger for free and get review done.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. wasuki

    wasuki Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    45
    Occupation:
    Blogger and offsite optimization expert
    Location:
    Houston
    Home Page:
    they do send products to bloggers for reviews. However those bloggers are generally famous and well established. And depending on the product either the blogger can keep the product or review it and return it.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. TimeToGo

    TimeToGo Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    246
    You can buy the product and return it withing 24 hours.
    Hope this helps.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. prab1996

    prab1996 Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    3,496
    Likes Received:
    2,028
    Occupation:
    your gf's <3 ♥♥♥♥
    Location:
    Prab1996.com
    Home Page:
    a company can give products to cnet or any other BIG blogger for free.

    but a owner of reviewforfreeblabla.blogspot.com will have to go to store and check product , they will not even get it for 1 hour .
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. Seankearns

    Seankearns Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    365
    Location:
    Canada
    Yeah, you have to be fairly big already before you'll start with the swag. A nice little blog with 300 hits a day shouldn't expect anything.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. Marcink99

    Marcink99 Power Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    99
    Thanks guys I appreciate all the responses and consider my question answered.
     
  10. educatedfool

    educatedfool Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,487
    Likes Received:
    534
    Location:
    Silicon City Of India
    Sometimes yes and sometimes no. Yes, when the product manufacturer is new, want to build a brand, costs under a couple hundred $$s. No, when it's a product from someone like Samsung, etc and cost more than a few hundreds or thousands.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. Jasonlf

    Jasonlf Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    258
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    EMS pilot
    Location:
    C90B
    Home Page:
    I get free ban hammers all the time for great spamming. :p
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. Micoli

    Micoli Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    128
    Home Page:
    As I know, only popular reviewers get free stuff. Most of the beginners or less popular just get some devices to review from the store they're working for. And, if they are good enough and get a lot of views, then they may receive those devices for free because a good youtube review is a powerful too as a lot of us, before buying a product search it on youtube, so it's a great advertisement for companies.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. MatthewWoodward

    MatthewWoodward Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    992
    Likes Received:
    1,681
    Occupation:
    SEO
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    I used to write for a games website and we got pre-release games sent to us every week that we never had to return.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1