1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is there any way to limit fake reviews.

Discussion in 'Membership Sites' started by Lauriat, Mar 13, 2014.

  1. Lauriat

    Lauriat Power Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    190
    I am thinking about creating website where sellers can advertise their products, but there will be no direct purchasing involved. How do i limit sellers leaving good reviews for them selves? this problem has been in my head for a while now, but i can't seem to figure out.
     
  2. Aaric

    Aaric Elite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,575
    Likes Received:
    1,120
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    under moderation filter .
     
  3. axeny

    axeny Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    32
    And one more option for you - limit the access to ''comment'' option only to people who have logged into the system with their social media profiles. This should limit the ability of the sellers to post too many fake reviews for themselves.

    Best regards,
    Axeny
     
  4. albimorkal

    albimorkal Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    At Small Village
    Umm, you will have a hard time controlling this but a couple of things:

    1) If a product has enough reviews you can get a clear picture of the product's worth. A seller can only put so many fake reviews.

    2) Moderate. You don't have to make every review semi automatic. Make sure the reviews that show are approved and screened for "fakeness"
     
  5. yggdrasil

    yggdrasil Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    6
    or you can code it like amazon to leave only "verified purchase review" so it locked most fake people out.
    I dunno if you can grab it from amazon api or something since there is alot of amazon plugins anyway.

    Worth a thought though :)
     
  6. Reilly1985

    Reilly1985 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yeh the verified purchase review is the best way although there are still ways to fake that. Have you ever seen on odesk where people have like 15 jobs for 1 hour at $1 to fix their star rating up if someone gives them a bad review lol.
     
  7. Kaleesi

    Kaleesi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    21
    Umm, Am I missing something or your contribution to this thread is not very clear?
     
  8. myinternetempire

    myinternetempire Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    139
    Occupation:
    Internet Marketing | Software Development
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    Home Page:
    They can use fake social media profiles. As you know there are a huge number of fake Facebook profiles available. I think it would be difficult to stop fake reviews.