1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is there any risk to buying reviews?

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by petaluma, Feb 1, 2013.

  1. petaluma

    petaluma Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    I've noticed that when I ask my customers to leave legitimate reviews they get filtered by yelp because the accounts aren't active/aged. This makes my REAL reviews look fake, whereas if I purchased reviews from aged yelp accounts they would appear as REAL. Doesn't seem fair but I guess that's how the game works...

    My question is, is there any risk to purchasing reviews? Does yelp have any ways of finding out that an account has been used for selling reviews and banning businesses that have gotten reviews from that account? What are your experiences with purchased reviews?
     
  2. ScripterAlex

    ScripterAlex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    29
    Yes there is always risk. Yelp is actively infiltrating groups that are selling reviews, and when they discover it they leave a nasty little note where the reviews used to be. Yelp wants you to advertise with them, and then magically bad reviews disappear and good reviews don't get filtered anymore.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. petaluma

    petaluma Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    IC... at $300 per month minimum advertising costs , that is a lot to be paying indefinitely to keep up your yelp reputation. But maybe its worth it for some businesses...
     
  4. Furious George

    Furious George Supreme Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1,437
    Likes Received:
    2,176
    Have you thought of putting a WTB thread on here? How many reviews are you trying to get? I've not messed with yelp, but I think it would be simple to add good reviews, without being flagged. I've done it with trip advisor fairly well.
     
  5. petaluma

    petaluma Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    ya i will do that, i only want like one review per month to make it seem more natural
     
  6. social1

    social1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    954
    Likes Received:
    279
    Location:
    Sunny SoCal
    OP where is your business located? I have some good aged accounts with 100% review stick ratio.
     
  7. wordgeist

    wordgeist Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    8
    any of you had bought itunes review for your app?
     
  8. calebmann

    calebmann Power Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    298
    Occupation:
    FULL TIME INTERNET
    Location:
    Digitopia
    Just post a review exchange with other members of the forum. There are others out there with the same problem
     
  9. jayrat14

    jayrat14 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    BHW on Mars!
    Ok where is the post?
     
  10. unclemike

    unclemike BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    984
    Their are risk with any artificially inflated reviews.
     
  11. wordgeist

    wordgeist Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    8
    it would be nice to know where is the post.
     
  12. twitter.followers

    twitter.followers Elite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,768
    Likes Received:
    2,208
    Yelp has updated its policies and has been tracking down fake reviews recently..
    You can find more details about their update here:
    Code:
    http://mashable.com/2012/10/18/yelp-fake-reviews/
     
  13. USProxyKing

    USProxyKing Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    100
    Same thing as ripoffreport. This is just extortion. Pay the fee and we'll be your reputation management. Ah.. well.. It is the american way, right?
     
  14. excellentfs

    excellentfs Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    4
    If somebody finds the most secure way to trade yelp reviews, let me know. I'm thinking that purchasing them might be a higher risk than trading!
     
  15. lvegasguy

    lvegasguy Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can hook you up. PM me. 5 for 100
     
  16. Aaric

    Aaric Elite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,575
    Likes Received:
    1,120
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    $5 for 100 reviews?