1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

is it legal to "sell" REVIEWS? How do ORM professionals deal with this if so...

Discussion in 'Online Reputation Management (ORM)' started by cryptexicebone, Aug 30, 2016.

  1. cryptexicebone

    cryptexicebone Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    79
    Occupation:
    Baller
    Location:
    los angeles, ca
    title pretty much sums it up....

    Is selling reviews on yelp and google something you can get into trouble for as a seller or ORM company? or just frowned upon

    If so, what are your methods of circumventing this, any loopholes or recommendations?

    Been wondering this for a while.
     
  2. BHopkins

    BHopkins Moderator Staff Member Moderator Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ORM and SEO company owner
    Location:
    California
    Home Page:
  3. davids355

    davids355 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    10,422
    Likes Received:
    8,120
    As BHopkins said, selling reviews is illegal. I am guessing that a legitimate ORM company will work to funnel genuine customer reviews to a particular review service in order to get real reviews but to manage the rate and location of those reviews.

    For example I have heard before of plugins that will take customer feedback and then redirect that customer on the fly depending on their happiness - ie if they are happy then they are redirected to trust pilot or google places or something and if they are unhappy they are redirected to your clients contact page - maybe that practice is also a grey area but obviously you could keep it above board by just randomly directing customers to different review services as required.

    @BHopkins I think this is what you do for a lving (?) so if I am talking rubbish just say :)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. BHopkins

    BHopkins Moderator Staff Member Moderator Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ORM and SEO company owner
    Location:
    California
    Home Page:
    You're exactly right! Review funnels asking real customers for reviews is fine but publishing fake reviews is illegal according to the FTC.

    My main focus is suppression, and I don't do a whole lot with reviews, but there are a lot of people doing that type of thing.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. LuckyCharm007

    LuckyCharm007 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Messages:
    1,915
    Likes Received:
    1,149
    Occupation:
    Affiliate Amazon Content Writer
    Home Page:
  6. johnstonsmith

    johnstonsmith Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    15
    does the fake review problem also cover comments too?
    that seems like it could be just as effective depending on the site
     
  7. BHopkins

    BHopkins Moderator Staff Member Moderator Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ORM and SEO company owner
    Location:
    California
    Home Page: