1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Intro & Review of Magic Traffic Bot

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by sorn2008, Apr 9, 2008.

  1. sorn2008

    sorn2008 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    24
    Ok first i'll start off by saying Hello, just joined the board a few days ago and been lurking reading alot here. Glad to be here and hope to share any information I have as well as soak up any available.

    Secondly let do a simple review of 'Magic Traffic Bot' and if you are a fan of it you should stop reading now this isn't a favorable review.

    I installed this 'gem' last night and from the instructions you are supposed to run a keyword search on google, let say for 'DOGS' copy the url from the google result page into the MTB and put the referrer link (your website) you want to ping.

    Now the premise behind this software is to generate pings or hits to all these websites and curious webmasters either link back to your website or at least visit it, generating you a bit more traffic. Ok that is fine and dandy and the basis of this program is sound and reasonable. And I agree with what it does and does it work, yes.

    On the other hand it is very poorly written, A little background into myself, I am a hobbist programmer who has written several application for the underground community in the past. Mostly working on projects dealing with http authentication, referrer spoofing, and various other server penatration techniques. Ok back to MTB it is poorly written because it uses a IE (Internet Explorer) web module. Is that all I have? Well no, it is a hidden module so you do not see what is happening in the background. Now the software visits each page injecting a fake referrer into the HTTP header, this method works, and is very simular to some cracking projects I was working on several years ago (mid/later 90's) however since it is actually visiting the page through a IE window it also allows anything to come through.

    So I set this thing up ran it for about 30 mins hitting about 539 websites. About every 30sec I had to click a 'javascript' error box to continue. Where did this javascript error box come from? The websites themselves. I can live with a bit of an annoyance with some software if it works as intended 'Most of the Time'. However the method this software uses to connect to each page is unacceptable. So after my mouse clicking finger gave out from canceling all the errors, I shut the program down.

    What came next you ask? Web bugs, Virii, Spamware, and Spyware. My Spybot Seek and Destroy started going haywire, every 3 secs a registery entry was coming in. The IE module this software uses allowed every spyware, spamware, and IE virus to enter my computer from all the pages it was pinging. It took me nearly 5 hours today to finally clean and disinfect my PC, and in the end had to do a complete system restore.

    In short there are better methods to accomplish what this software is doing, I might actually release a tool that does this correctly in the future. But my suggestion is to stay away from this software if at all possible.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 6
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2008
  2. tsincaat

    tsincaat Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    106
    Good review! Nice to see someone clear up what this program does, and how well it works.
     
  3. artswerdstone

    artswerdstone Power Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    764
    Your review really impressed me. I couldn't write it better. I'd only add MTB is a promotionware.
    Time being there is an alternative software, called PRStorm, which doesn't stop on errors.
    Eventually you may review it, as you've already gained some aouthorithy with your MTB review.

    Your intention to release a better tool in the future seems very interesting.

    Let's hope we will not have to wait much for it.
     
  4. sorn2008

    sorn2008 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    24
    Thanks for the replies guys

    I'll try not to keep you waiting too long, I've been blackhat in the past went grey then white now back to black just a new arena instead of website security now it's SEO stuff vey new to all this but programming techniques are all the same and that I am familar with! :)
     
  5. Zephrus

    Zephrus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hey sorn did you ever develop a better tool than MTB? I was thinking about trying it but don't care to catch the bugs, virii, spamware and spyware. If it wasn't for that it sounds like a great tool.
     
  6. sorn2008

    sorn2008 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    24
    Nah bud been caught up with CPAXtreme my CPA software I developed, it's sapped nearly all my time to keep it updated and push out the latest release.

    This however is still on the to-do list just been pushed to the back burners.
     
  7. cjmo75

    cjmo75 BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    422
    I know this review is older, but I'm very glad I read it.

    I just got the software today, and I'm poised to return it. Thank goodness I didn't install it on my own computer.

    I always go to the public library and use their computers whenever I have to use any bots or the like.

    Let them deal with the crap. I don't want to mess up my computer.

    I've pinged out about 1,000 sites today. Can't wait to see about the results.

    I'll agree, it comes up with a lot of errors. Not worth $30. Not even worth $3 if you ask me. Very simplistic and poorly built software.

    They couldn't even take the time to check their spelling. what does that say for the designer?
     
  8. adultvish

    adultvish Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hellooooo

    First of all, I think I am really fortunate to become aware of this great forum.
    I was just downloading magic traffic bot, when I tried to have a review of it.

    And, I must say that except this review posted over here; all other reviews available on net to me were actually in favor of MTB. It is only after reading the review that I decided not to download MTB for use.

    And, I am very much thankful to the TS aka sorn2008 for taking the pain of apprising common layman like me about the pros and cons of MTB.

    Guys, I am really in need of some excellent SEO techniques and understanding; and I hope this forum can help me a lot.

    Again thanks to all and cheers for such useful information
     
  9. adamnovak

    adamnovak Newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thank you for the clearly review, but what is the working bot to send safe traffic to any website?