1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installing 30-40 VM's On A Server For Reviews... Stupid Idea or What?

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by BreaknBrix, Nov 11, 2014.

  1. BreaknBrix

    BreaknBrix Power Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    4,189
    Location:
    NE US
    My brother offered me a free server he got from his job (At&t). I already have all the processing power I need so I got this weird idea.

    "What if I install a bunch of VM's on the machine, different operating systems, unique mac addresses per machine, local dedicated ip's, then use it for reviews"?

    I read online and see people with 18 VM's running on 1, 8 core pc. I did not get the specs on this server but my brother told me it's worth over $1000 used, in it's current condition. He already has multiple servers for his job, multiple servers he's not using.....has no room for this one and no time to sell it on ebay. So I said "yes of course I'll take it".

    AFAIK, memory will be more of a bottleneck than CPU? Correct?

    And is this "overkill" by assigning unique operating systems / mac addresses per machine? I want to use it to post reviews on yelp, angies list, g local, yellow pages, insider pages, etc. But I'm not even sure if I'd need to go through all this bs. Would local dedicated IP's be enough?

    I searched online "whats my mac address" just to see if sites can pick up this information, and it appears they can not. So instincts tell me this whole idea is overkill. I was just thinking I could have unique operating systems, browsers, etc on each machine to make the reviews seem that more legitimate (especially for yelp).

    I was going to build different profiles on each VM, get friends on yelp, age the accounts then anytime I need a "starter kick" of reviews I just load up the server.

    My main question is.... am I overcomplicating this?


    -BB
     
  2. FBGuru

    FBGuru Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    1,171
    Location:
    Personality Type : ESTP
    You wouldn't run all 40 instances at the same time, Would you? Both Memory and CPU will become bottleneck when you turn on all virtual machines and work on them simultaneously but the bigger bottleneck will be the HDD. Servers are best used on RAID's with 15k RPM Drives. If you were to go with this route, I suggest you to pick a good Solid State Drive.

    Since you're gonna use it only to post stuffs via browser, you can install Windows XP on the VMs. Bare-minimum hard drive space to install Windows XP is ~800MB so we're talking about 32GB for the basic installation alone. Linux Distro's also takes similar disk space. Add 1GB per VM for the Pagefile to the chart and we're at 72GB already so pick a 96/128GB SSD. <- This Drive shouldn't be used for your Host operation System and you need an extra drive to install windows server or whatever OS you'd like for the virtualization.

    When talking about memory, XP uses ~150MB when idle so allocate 8GB Memory for the VM's and another 8GB for the host so you don't get any lags while working on them but it's recommended to have atleast 16GB or better yet 32GB Memory to handle the memory spikes/leaks.

    Before working on all this, spin up the server and see what processor is on the box and look at their benchmarks and see if it'll be able to handle that many VM's.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. BHopkins

    BHopkins Moderator Staff Member Moderator Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,311
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ORM and SEO company owner
    Location:
    California
    Home Page:
    Where are you going to get local dedicated IP's that are no obviously proxy IP's?

    You don't even need a server, you can just use Chrome and Firefox and change your IP. The IP is the problem, not the computer.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Artyy

    Artyy Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    23
    Hmm, wouldn't private (geo targeted) proxies do the job as well?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. Archemike

    Archemike Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    42
    Hey Man,

    So there are a few points to consider. You should create full social profiles to really make the reviews real. Mac doesn't matter, neither does multiple vm's but other things do.

    Local Ip's are VERY important, also, another big thing is user agent. Reviews shouldn't all be chrome alone, you should diversify to mobile browsers as well like an iOS or Android headers in user agent. This plus ip per social profile will service you fine. Just one VM is needed with ways to control these parameters.


    Regards,
     
  6. ThreadKiller

    ThreadKiller Power Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    303
    Location:
    London
    It is true that one can run a very large amount of virtual machines on one server. Unfortunately XP is not supported anymore, and might be exploited very intensely soon. However, if you know about firewalls etc, you can switch off most hazards.

    Your MAC address can not be read by anyone. That is true.

    Get a package from Reverseproxies. Their IP's will appear like regular subscriber lines to Yelp.

    Not sure where your bottleneck will be, but it probably will be I/O. I suggest you just add virtual machines with OS's until you start seeing problems.

    You will still need to host your server somewhere, and co-lo could cost the same or more compared to a regular server. You will not want to run it from home. Most servers are very loud and quite bulky.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. phatzilla

    phatzilla Supreme Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,366
    Likes Received:
    1,017
    Sell the server, use the proceeds to buy proxies.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. BreaknBrix

    BreaknBrix Power Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    4,189
    Location:
    NE US
    Thanks man! And no, I wouldn't be using them all at the same time. I was gonna load up 1 VM, post, load another, post, etc. But judging by the posts below I may be overcomplicating things. Thanks for the advice anyway.


    Well, I live in New Jersey and did a footprint search of the market place. I only found 2 sellers selling local dedicated IP's for my area.

    This was the guy I was going to use (prices are a bit cheaper) - http://www.blackhatworld.com/blackh...roxies-very-fast-activation-24-7-support.html

    He say's they're "fully anonymous", they're geo-targeted as well..... so I guess that will be enough?

    Just plug the proxy in, set up an account (I'll mix yahoo, hotmail, gmails, etc) start posting on yelp, getting friends etc, repeat on a bunch of other accounts... wait a couple months then start posting? Technically speaking, I thought it would be harder. It WILL take work to build up friends/posts on Yelp but other sites should be easier.

    And overall, from the reviews we already have, we get decent traffic from these directories. Cumulatively speaking, we have more reviews than any of our competitors (I'd say 70% are on G local, 90% of which are legitimate reviews). But I want to rank within Yelp, Yellow Pages, Insider Pages, etc as well. We don't get enough clients to dominate ALL these directories. So a little system like this would deliver a huge ROI.

    Seems like it. I think I'll start with 5. Build up my profiles, age them a bit, and if it works then I'll scale to 10, 15, 20 etc.

    Thanks man. I was looking for more proxy suppliers and will check them out right now.

    That's not a bad idea at all. I'll pick up the server and see how much they're selling for on ebay. If it's as much as my brother says that will buy me a shitload of proxies.

    Thanks everyone for the advice!

    Will update in a month or 2 if this works. :)



    Thanks guys - BB
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2014
  9. Paper-Boy

    Paper-Boy Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    1,821
    This is pretty much overkill IMO.

    CL has similar security to combat spam and all you need are geo IP's for the most part.

    Would rather pay someone for yelp reviews or make a bot.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. BreaknBrix

    BreaknBrix Power Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    4,189
    Location:
    NE US
    Interesting you say that. I'm working with a developer right now to build me a bot for CL.

    I manually wrote 108 HQ ads, and he's trying to build a bot to automate the posting. He said all I would need are geo IP's.

    Only thing with Yelp I'm afraid to automate anything. Cause you need to build up a social profile first, captchas, and that would take a lot more work (afaik).

    -BB
     
  11. bizhack3r

    bizhack3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    If it was that easy everyone would be doing it instead of paying $50 a review. You obviously have no clue to how Yelp works. They have one of the most advanced spam filters on the web. They do track everything from your browser configuration to the applications you have installed. Only way to get around this is VM machines and local ips
     
  12. BreaknBrix

    BreaknBrix Power Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    4,189
    Location:
    NE US
    Look dude, don't tell me "I don't know how Yelp works" because I was ASKING how Yelp works. Not only are you pointing out the obvious but what you offer as a solution is completely useless. You say "only way to get around this is VMs and local IPs" which was already discussed in this thread 2 months ago.

    And for someone who doesn't know shit about Yelp, I was pretty damn close with my flash pan idea.

    Moreso, I've been reading a book & studies that discuss both Amazon Turk and the Yelp Review algorithm in depth. Standford and Harvard did studies on their algorithms using linguistic engineers and right now I probably know more about Yelps algo (from a linguistic standpoint) than most members on this forum. The results of these studies showed that the algo is linguistically accurate 90% of the time. Which means Yelp's algo goes far beyond just VM's and Local Ips. They have some of the worlds most brilliant linguistic engineers and just knowing how to write the reviews properly is like learning how to synthesize MDMA.

    I'm not just talking about superlatives and pronouns (there are hundreds of things they look at) but how they had lingustic grad students trying to beat the system who couldn't even do it.

    The marketers selling reviews for $50. I've seen them. I know them. Most of them can't even get their reviews to stick otherwise I'd be buying them. Just the price alone ($50) is a sign of how inexperienced they are. Cause they fuck up reviews, have to write new ones, those don't stick.... and they have to charge so much not cause of technology, but their own incompetence.

    The problem I see on here is not just vague information about vms, ips, apps, cookies, etc but noone on here has any idea how to spot a fake review vs a real review.

    For instance. If you think you know that much about Yelp lets play a game.

    I will submit reviews directly from the study (which you can't access via the internet), then the forum can watch you guess which ones are real and which ones are fake.

    And I will bet my bank account that you miserably fail the test. :)

    -BB