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If you have $1,000-$2,000 --> here is how to turn that into $40,000+.

Discussion in 'Media Buying' started by wasted, Sep 30, 2012.

  1. tripples

    tripples Newbie

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    I like all the stuffs you said but want a better way to make money faster then you have do find other ways
     
  2. jul3s

    jul3s Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

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    Great post! Thank you, i've learned a lot.
     
  3. wasted

    wasted Regular Member

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    Anybody have any new results?
     
  4. LinkBuildingServices

    LinkBuildingServices Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

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    seems it's worth to try it. Thanks for sharing
     
  5. badboyz84

    badboyz84 Registered Member

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    This thread has been very motivating! I just placed on order on buyads.com and waiting for it to be approved.

    Quick question how many impressions are needed to decide if an offer or creative is not going to work?
     
  6. wasted

    wasted Regular Member

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    I run each one of my banners to 15,000 impressions to get an accurate estimate of it's performance.
     
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  7. badboyz84

    badboyz84 Registered Member

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    Thanks for the fast response!
     
  8. ouchthathurts

    ouchthathurts Regular Member

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    Check out the webinar from last night



    Useful for those using sitescout !
     
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    Last edited by a moderator: May 18, 2016
  9. migrashin

    migrashin Registered Member

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    Thanks for the info
     
  10. wasted

    wasted Regular Member

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    OuchThatHurts,

    Saw that webinar, definitely a good tutorial to teach how to use MixRank and services like WRW to find good site placements.
     
  11. Bi-IT

    Bi-IT Regular Member

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    I don't understand exactly how MR and WRW work for SiteScout and display advertising. That tool seems like work good for CPC campaign not for display advertising.
     
  12. gulftrotter

    gulftrotter Regular Member

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    Did u watch the entire video?

    With MR u can get the list of the publishers for a specific text ads and banner ads, and u can know how long the advertiser has been advertising on this publisher (if the advertiser has been promoting on this publisher url for a long time it means that the advertiser is making money ), thus what u have to do is just export (csv file) these publisher link urls, and copy them in the Sitescout ("targeted url tab", whitelist).
    By doing these you shorten your testing step and money burning as u took/got, thanks to MR, winning publishers urls.
    Hope it is clear now.
    Cheers.

     
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  13. seochris96

    seochris96 Regular Member

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    I've tried that before and didn't have much success. When you're advertising with banner ads on a dating site, simply promoting another dating site doesn't work that well. You need to have something that's the same, but opposite. They're already getting the yin on POF, you need to give them the yang.

    It's like when I'm surfing redtube because well, all men do ... There are porn ads playing on the side all of the time, but they don't look any better than what I can watch for free. But, every now and then one will pop up where the quality is unreal and it's something I haven't seen before and I'm seriously tempted to buy a trial. If I'm tempted to buy it, just imagine how many dudes actually do.

    Just because you're in the same niche, doesn't mean you'll convert doing the same thing everyone else is. You usually need some kind of subtle alteration that people do a double take on.
     
  14. CosmicSoundz

    CosmicSoundz BANNED BANNED

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    your selling your own product?. How are you going about selling it? Is it your typical sales page (clickbank) style?
     
  15. forlearnx

    forlearnx Regular Member

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    OK. I've read the entire thread, many thanks wasted for introducing many of us to this method.

    I think this method will work wonders in my niche, am just hoping it has not been overly saturated yet. Wouldn't want to pay over the odds, otherwise I may as well buy premum adspace from the big boys.

    Anyway I've just signed up to sitescout and will probably check out a few others. Need to get a feel for conversions.

    Questions...
    Have you tried animating your banners, what are the success rate compared to static banners?

    Do you outsource your banner designs? How much does this cost on average, $25? I'm thinking most designers will do some touchups for free. So for each campaign you could have possibly 10 revisions to your banner to see which works best, and from there let it run.

    Do you have to use up all of the $500, what if halfway through you feel it actually isn't right for your niche. Can your withdraw the unused amount?

    I'm just curious here.. you need not answer.
    In your own method, you offer a free website for a their email address. Do you actually give them a website? How are you profiting from that? Are you upselling SEO or other related services? Are you selling the databases you collect?
     
  16. powerofseo

    powerofseo BANNED BANNED

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    find a niche and take action all i got lol
     
  17. forlearnx

    forlearnx Regular Member

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    Ok just checked, CPM for my niche related site geo targeted is $2.65...

    What would this actually mean in terms of impressions and costs? Am I paying $2.65 per thousand impressions? If so, I think it's REALLY important to have a banner which works. In fact probably the most important attribute to the success.

    Found another for $1.19

    Based on the above CPM I could be profitable at 300% if I have 0.3% CTR and 2% conversion. But this hasn't taken into account the fixed cost of banner design.

    Interesting.
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2012
  18. gulftrotter

    gulftrotter Regular Member

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    " The details of demographic targeting, from how it works, to costs and best practices.. Category List

    There are over 140 data points, or categories, that can be targeted. As you can see in the screenshot below, the interface also shows the estimated audience size for each data category, along with the associated data cost.
    [​IMG]
    It doesn't take long to realize how this type of targeting can be valuable. For example, if you are advertising car insurance, you probably want to targeting vehicle owners. The same applies for demographic categories like age. If you are advertising university or college options, you would probably want to target younger age groups.
    Data Costs

    The cost of demographic targeting ranges from $0.25 CPM to $0.75 CPM, which is in addition to the actual cost of the impressions purchased using the data.
    It's also important to note that if you add multiple categories, you will only pay the cost of the most expensive segment; they are not cumulative costs!
    For example, if you add three categories (not advised; see 'Best Practices' section below) and they each have a cost of $0.25 CPM, the total cost will NOT be $0.75 CPM, but rather only $0.25 CPM. On the other hand, if you've added two categories and one has a cost of $0.25 CPM and the other is $0.75 CPM, the total data cost applied to your campaign will be $0.75 CPM.
    To help identify the costs associated with running campaigns that use 3rd party data, such as demographic targeting, we've added some new columns to the campaign reporting interface:
    [​IMG]
    Here you can see the fixed CPM of your chosen data, along with the total cost (spend) of the data you have used on your particular campaign.

    Best Practices

    The following are some important recommendations on how to use demographic targeting in the most effective way possible: 1. Target run-of-network for best results. When you have audience data, whether it's from a 3rd party or your own retargeting list, you want to match as many of those users as you possibly can. The best way to accomplish this is with run-of-network targeting.
    [​IMG]
    This way you cast the widest net, so to speak, for matching the users in your audience.
    2. Limit yourself to 1-2 categories per campaign. When 3rd party audience data is involved, you always want to avoid going too narrow with your targeting. Also keep in mind that when multiple categories are added, the platform only targets people that match ALL of the criteria!
    [​IMG]
    So try to limit the number of criteria you choose, so that you don't limit your scope too much, thus limiting your overall volume. It's also important to segment categories into their own campaigns for testing purposes (i.e., determining how each of them perform head-to-head).
    3. Bid high. Users that are identifiable by 3rd party targeting data are naturally more valuable, hence the higher CPM bids for them. There is also naturally more competition for these types of valuable consumer segments, and since real-time bidding is a competitive environment, the price of impressions that match identifiable user data are that much higher!
    [​IMG]
    With that in mind, make sure to bid high if you want to see any volume on your demographic campaigns."

    Source: mail that I received from Sitescout.
     
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    Last edited: Dec 8, 2012
  19. tony71

    tony71 Newbie

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    I like this idea.
     
  20. stressfree

    stressfree Senior Member

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    when 10,000 followers all start on the same path...there goes the path!