1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I wouldn't recommend buying Yelp reviews. Here's why...

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by QualityContentWriter, Oct 18, 2012.

  1. QualityContentWriter

    QualityContentWriter Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    75
    Occupation:
    copywriter
    Location:
    Finger Lakes
    Home Page:
  2. BigFatWallet

    BigFatWallet Power Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    927
    lol....a sting operation by Yelp! Sounds funny to me. :p

    On a more serious note, there isn't a way surefire method by which they can differentiate between fake and real reviews, so buy reviews with confidence from trusted providers. :eek:
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Seadragon

    Seadragon Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    267
    Location:
    UK
    Fuck em... still aint going to put me off from buying reviews.
     
  4. Doomc

    Doomc Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Smart on their part.
     
  5. Qokaine

    Qokaine Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    122
    lmfao they're just catching really stupid non web savvy business owners

    but with that said, whats stopping us from pretending to be a business owner just to get them hit with that on their yelp profile
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2012
  6. 97695695089

    97695695089 BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    19
    Business owners are lucky but anyone can become a business owner, no one can stop that!
     
  7. The IT Crowd

    The IT Crowd Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    What I see happening is competitors buying reviews hoping to get Yelp to think that their competition is adding fake reviews. Dunno how Yelp would handle a legit business getting hit with fake reviews from a competitor buying them. How could you defend that?

    It would be too easy to buy reviews from overseas and post them to a competitors Yelp listings. Yelp would see all this influx of reviews from different IPs and hit them with the consumer alert and there's nothing that listing could do because there's no proof they could provide that they didn't buy the reviews.
     
  8. Bostoncab

    Bostoncab Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    514
    Occupation:
    pain in the ass cabbie
    Location:
    Boston,Ma.
    Home Page:
    Anyone have a solid yelp and places provider? I have tried fiverrproviders. Their reviews last a week tops.
     
  9. artizhay

    artizhay BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,867
    Likes Received:
    1,335
    Lol that's funny. We always think it's better to get real customer reviews from a proven reputation management system. Even if Yelp or the other review sites don't catch you, customers are quite savvy at spotting fake reviews as well.
     
  10. TZ2011

    TZ2011 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    863
    Occupation:
    Cleaning servers
    Its just a matter of time before someone publish ads on craiglist posing as a competitor company.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. Khoi rook

    Khoi rook Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Smart
     
  12. QualityContentWriter

    QualityContentWriter Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    75
    Occupation:
    copywriter
    Location:
    Finger Lakes
    Home Page:
  13. TargetWebs

    TargetWebs Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Web Desicn & SEO
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area California USA
    Home Page:
    Hard to satisfy Yelp unless you have a well established listing that's been around for years. We have struggled and strugged the 12 months we set up our listing. Over 75 of our "REAL" client's 4 & 5 Star reviews have been filtered. The 5 bad reviews that has stopped most of the new client flow we were getting before are there proud and tall.... no getting rid of them or watering them down with good reviews. We service over 500 cleints every month,,,,,, with that amount of volume you will always be hit with a bad review from time to time no matter how perfect your service.

    We miss the beginning when we'd get about 25 new clients from Yelp every month...... until the few BAD reviews hit.
     
  14. powforlife

    powforlife Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    74
    Occupation:
    Directing Traffic
    Location:
    A to the Z
    Yelp doesn't even play by their own rules, one of my business had 20 real reviews all from actual customers and when I turned them down on their PPC campaign, which is $600 per month for 12 months BTW they filtered all of my reviews. They lack integrity in their own business practices, I usually try to rep companies that are from where I grew up but there is a reason yelp on is 2.5 stars on yelp.
     
  15. QualityContentWriter

    QualityContentWriter Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    75
    Occupation:
    copywriter
    Location:
    Finger Lakes
    Home Page:
    That's true about Yelp stacking cards, I hear that a lot, to push their advertising. But the best workaround for online brand management- when a negative review hits then a professional response should be posted fairly quickly. There are always people you can't make happy, but anyone who does pick a business based on reviews will be able to tell when a reviewer is just difficult.
     
  16. affarmy

    affarmy Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    94
    Occupation:
    Full Time SEO
    Location:
    Orange county, Calif
    Home Page:
    Same here. I dont use yelp for this reason. Sux and totally biased.

     
  17. n2zen

    n2zen Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    70
    Pretty hard to deny you've got all those fake positive reviews following a competitor fake-positive-review-attack!

    How do you defend against this?
     
  18. zoomsixx

    zoomsixx Senior Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    882
    Likes Received:
    460
    Occupation:
    SEO, Social Marketing
    Location:
    BHW!
    They can flag some accounts and call the media claiming it was a "sting" all they want but they are still just a website. Nothing else.

    People buy reviews all the time. It's nothing new.
     
  19. eyecandy

    eyecandy Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes PM me. I can't PM since my account is new.
     
  20. evilclown

    evilclown Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    575
    Occupation:
    Party Clown
    Location:
    Clownville
    So go to craigslist and offer to buy reviews for your competitors and BANG!! You win?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1