1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I Want To Setup My Own "Review Network" For Google+, Yelp, Yahoo, Insider Pages etc

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by SpiderBlast, Aug 6, 2013.

  1. SpiderBlast

    SpiderBlast BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    1,283
    So glowing reviews is down and gone as we all know.

    I feared the day this would happen because their service was a huge asset to my local marketing campaigns.

    So now I am forced to develop my own personal network for posting reviews. I figure for the long term this
    is a smarter move anyway.

    For the record, I'm not doing this for other peoples websites. These are all my own sites so please don't preach
    to me about ethics.

    This is my problem. I'm trying to figure out HOW glowing reviews was doing what they were doing.
    For the last 6 months, I was able to get TONS of reviews, and all of them are still sticking today.

    I remember them saying they did 2 things:

    1) They aged their accounts.
    2) They used local proxies relevant to your area.

    So is that basically ALL I have to do to be successful with this?

    My crude plan was this:

    1) Get 30 local proxies that I can use every month (I don't need more than 30 reviews on any 1 listing).
    2) Start using those proxies to set up accounts, fill them out, make them look real, age them a bit.

    So I'd register 30 accounts on yelp, 30 accounts on insider pages, yellow pages, yahoo, etc etc.

    Do you guys think this was all glowingreviews was doing?
    I'm sure they had a TONS of local proxies, and a TON of aged accounts, as they had thousands of clients afaik.
    So they must have had a script that autoregistered accounts on all these different review sites. I can't assume
    that they did this manually cause their monthly fees were fairly low ($25/month).

    Also, I'm curious. This is a blackhat forum. Why did glowing reviews have 0 competitors?
    Why was there no formal service before glowing reviews, and why do I sense there won't be another one?

    I understand there's lots of legal problems that can result. Like they're getting sued right now.
    But for intelligent marketers / programmers ... that should be a joke to avoid.

    We have torrent sites that have been around for ages.
    Websites selling pills with no prescription.
    Places like the silkroad.

    Yet we've never had an intelligent, secure, one stop shop to get all your local reviews done.
    It would be awesome to have a site like vagex, that was made for local reviews.

    Users can post reviews on peoples listings, earn credits, then use those credits to buy reviews
    for themself. The owner of the site can host that shit in the same countries that torrent sites
    are hosted. They can even do a payment system with bitcoin or prepaid visas. Anything to
    eliminate footprints.

    Nonetheless, I'm getting off topic. But as far as setting up my own review network... has anyone
    ever done this? I've seen threads on here about people going to coffee shops to post reviews,
    but thats just ridiculous. This is 2013. There has to be some people on here who have their own
    review networks setup for personal use.

    And if any of you are reading this, I could really use some advice.
    Is it really as simple as getting a bunch of local proxies, and just registering dozens of accounts on
    all the different review sites?

    Thanks BHW

    -SB
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  2. CosmicSoundz

    CosmicSoundz BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    1,296
    honestly I just find friends on facebook to do it for me. I give them 25%-50% of what I charge my customers
     
  3. affarmy

    affarmy Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    94
    Occupation:
    Full Time SEO
    Location:
    Orange county, Calif
    Home Page:
    Sent you PM
     
  4. randybishop

    randybishop Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    348
    Occupation:
    Keyboard Monkey
    Location:
    In the Interwebs
    I am interested in doing this myself SpiderBlast. I never got to try GlowingReview.co before they shutdown (hopefully not for good). I too am surprised that someone has not jumped on the opportunity of filling the void that GlowingReview.co has left. But more anonymous. I don't have the skills to make it happen myself.

    Have you made any progress since your posted this SpiderBlast?
     
  5. Andrew Scherer

    Andrew Scherer Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,092
    Likes Received:
    452
    Location:
    Mazatlan, Mexico
    Glowingreviews is getting sued by who?
     
  6. SpiderBlast

    SpiderBlast BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    1,283
    I have yes, but in a very disorganized manner.

    What I've done so far is go back to a university I graduated from 6 years ago.
    They have about 5 libraries on campus, each library has between 30-150 computers.

    But tbo, I have no idea what I'm doing. I just went to one computer, set up an account, then
    another computer, set up an account, another, over and over and over I did this for like 4 hours
    straight one day.

    The problem is, I haven't gone back yet to start posting reviews from the accounts.
    Mainly cause I don't know wtf I'm doing. Even if it does work, it is NOT convenient by
    any means. And thats been killing my motivation. I want MY OWN fully functional network
    at home, on 1 pc, so I can post reviews anytime I need them.

    Afaik, glowing reviews was just using local proxies. They said it right on their site.
    And they also said they were aging their accounts.

    So if that is ALL I have to do, it sounds easy.

    The problem is I've been reading threads on BHW about how you need to spoof a mac
    address. But it seems that NOONE has any idea how to do this. So I'm starting to think
    its not even neccessary.

    Either way, I'll be testing lots of things. I'll be buying local proxies, trying to age some
    accounts. I'll be going back to my uni in the meantime and trying to post from there.

    But like I said my end goal is a network that I can control from home. And I don't think
    I will give up anytime soon, because reviews are worth A LOT of money to me. I was
    making really good money when glowing reviews was up. And I still am, but I can't
    scale up my local marketing anymore until this is figured out.

    Its a PITA, but I'm definitely not giving up.:)

    -SB
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  7. randybishop

    randybishop Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    348
    Occupation:
    Keyboard Monkey
    Location:
    In the Interwebs
    Hey SpiderBlast!
    Great to hear that you are still trying to solve this dilemma. Just a thought (I am not an expert so you may ignore this), don't review sites like Google + Local use geolocation to weed out fake reviews? That is, would they be able to tell that all the review accounts you set up at university were set up on the same ISP and thus look suspicious?

    I agree this is a PITA, we need glowingreviews.co back!
     
  8. veheme

    veheme Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    3,342
    Likes Received:
    1,058
    I know a few people who have setup teams just to age Yelp accounts and sell the reviews. But since Yelp is a pretty hard beast to crack, they obviously are not sharing their methods here. I know one who is planning to open up a BST though so we'll see :)
     
  9. Aprilly

    Aprilly Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am trying to do the same thing for my business. I am using HMA, and only using IPs local to my area. I set up yelp accounts. Drip feed real reviews on other business that I have really been to, thus reviewing honestly. I clear my cookies, change my IPs (local only), partially complete the yelper's profile, add a profile pic, like other yelpers reviews, request friends, follow yelpers, search other businesses that I plan to review in the futre. And guess what they are still getting filtered. What am I missing?
     
  10. SpiderBlast

    SpiderBlast BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    1,283
    I guess those people you know just so happen to be you. ;)

    And no offense, but $50 for a 5 star Yelp review, and $35 for a 4 star is outrageous.
    Thats just my opinion. I know some people are desperate enough to pay any amount for reviews, but that doesn't mean its right.

    If I want 20 Yelp reviews with you, it will cost between $700-$1000. With glowingreviews, I could have got that done for $25.
    So you're charging 40xs as much as GR use to.

    If I need google or yahoo reviews, I use people on fiver and if you use the right people, 90% of the time they stick (long term).

    But your gig is charging 5 times that amount.

    Glowingreviews did a great job in setting an industry standard on the prices for reviews. Then they disappear, and people go right back to charging insane prices. Is it the risk on your part? The potential for lawsuits that makes your prices so high? Can't you set up an anonymous membership site? And an anonymous payment system? Like where users pay through western union to get credits, and you set up like a $200 minimum? So 200 gives you 200 credits and you charge 5-10 credits per review?

    The ROI on Yelp reviews simply doesn't justify the cost. Even in high end home improvement industries, like the ones I'm in, I wouldn't pay more than $10 a review for yelp and $5 a review for Google. Some of my Yelp listings that ALREADY rank on google, barely bring in any traffic at all. If I had to guess, I'd say its less than 1% of my entire funnel.

    The only reason I like Yelp reviews is so I can put them on my site, to increase conversions. But for now I'll stick to fiver gigs for google, yahoo and kudzu.

    One of these days a brilliant marketer is going to come into the review market and do things the right way. They'll use a membership site like glowingreviews, auto drip feeding, cheap reviews, the only difference is everything will be 100% anonymous, from payment to posting. So there will be 0 risk of lawsuits.

    Until that happens, I'll continue to use fiver and the few aged Yelp accounts I have. Because it takes me less than a minute to post a Yelp review, and if I ever charged other people $50 for that 1 minutes worth of work, the guilt alone would drive me to suicide. :)

    /end rant

    -SB
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. veheme

    veheme Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    3,342
    Likes Received:
    1,058
    Kind of like how some people charge $1,500 - $5,000 per month for SEO but they just buy a $100+ package from BHW on the client? Last time I checked, nobody committed suicide yet.

    The difference between that and the advertised review service's prices is that the "overpriced" service is risking getting sued plus having to set-up a complex system in order to stay anonymous. How sure are you that the OPEX for setting up the accounts, improving them to pass the filters aren't high? For all you know, I could be spending $100 a day getting the accounts improved to a point of having Elite '13 accounts.

    PS: I don't own the service as it's a local anonymous service. I just happen to be the guy who closed a partnership deal with them and getting 100% rights on advertising and selling their service online.
     
  12. chumpss

    chumpss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    84

    I have setup a nice network for the LA/SD/SF area. I started the second glowing reviews went down and about to start offering reviews to people. You need to have aged accounts, run vmware and use dedicated private proxies.

    I have been testing it on various business' and so far my stick rate is 100% for over 30 reviews.