1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I or We? What's More Effective in Product Reviews?

Discussion in 'Copywriting & Sales Persuasion' started by roxblade, Jun 21, 2015.

  1. roxblade

    roxblade Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    3
    I was writing some product reviews and found that articles, specially the long ones with multiple products/comparison-types are more effective and converting when you write in first person rather than third. But then I wrote a couple small articles where I used 'we'. I think 'we' imparts a sense of collective research and responsibility very quickly, even if there's no mention of a team on the whole website! On the other end, 'I' simply puts an idea of personal opinions. Both ways build trust, but I want to know which style you use more than the other, or that which one is better according to your past product reviewing experience?
     
  2. FREE100KSECRET

    FREE100KSECRET Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    7
    Occupation:
    http://CeraCoat-NanoTech.com
    Location:
    NY
    Home Page:
    Good question,

    Personally, I prefer a review when it is an individaul review, as in I, not WE. It is perhaps a small issue for most, but when I post a review, it is always personal, as you cannot effectively speak for others in a broad respect if you want to have respect as a reviewer. I review many products and technologies on my boards and I always speak as one, not many. If you want to take that strategy, then you should mention others who have reviewed products or technology and they put their name to review which you can include with your review, but don't use a blind WE in review unless you identify the others to establish their credentials.

    Success to all,
     
  3. lerasophhgg

    lerasophhgg Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    2
    I only write product reviews as "I". Cannot say if it would work better or worse if I use "we" instead as I have never tried that approach. But using 'we' would be misleading as I don't have any team :D
     
  4. Cshark

    Cshark Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    184
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Grinding
    Location:
    NYC
    Some people will say "I", some others will say "we" but in reality it all can be integrated into a single piece of content. Just a thought.
     
  5. Ramse

    Ramse Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Messages:
    816
    Likes Received:
    93
    Home Page:
    Its very tricky to use we, because you have the responsibility of putting a 'tem' behind you.
    The 'I' sometimes enhances the feeling of strong personal opinion and may have a more persuading feel.
     
  6. richestmaninbabylon

    richestmaninbabylon Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    51
    Occupation:
    Getting It
    Location:
    Babylon
    Always go with "I" for product reviews. When a consumer sees "We" they automatically think paid review now.
     
  7. CjTheFish

    CjTheFish Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    13
    "I" allows the reader the feel a connection to the the individual writing the review, while "we" might make that connection more trivial.
     
  8. sara vita

    sara vita Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    6
    I always use "I" in my reviews, it just makes it more personal.
     
  9. mickyfu

    mickyfu Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    6,871
    Likes Received:
    19,730
    Occupation:
    King Of Crypto C
    Location:
    Solihull Young Offenders
    "me and the dwarfs think"
     
  10. harizd

    harizd Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    99
    I would prefer using 'I" - its personal and sounds more credible somehow to me.
     
  11. hasan7707

    hasan7707 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Once I was listening to a copyblogger podcast. There was a lady who said 'I' works better than 'You' is conversions. But she also said, it's not sure to work for everyone out there.

    Don't know about how 'We' will impact the readers but make sure you really highlight the benefits of the product you're promoting. If you're selling a laptop to a gamer, don't tell him how long the battery will back up. Instead tell him how great the processor, the graphics, ram is.

    I believe you're already familiar to this fact, still, just make sure you don't focus on "I" / "You" more than highlighting the key benefits.
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2015
  12. Bane Bentley

    Bane Bentley Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    BuildMyTraffic.Net
    Home Page:
    I believe "I" works much better than the informal "We".

    Especially when it comes to small time products like the ones we sell here, where it is obvious that most of them are one-man companies.
     
  13. JProckerzon

    JProckerzon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Los Angeles, US
    Both ways are right. But you have to be alert while writing an article.
    If you're writing with I then you have to use it on the whole article. If you're using We then you have to use it over a whole article.
     
  14. Demetrious

    Demetrious Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    "We" is a good when, you making review of something, that mention humans herd instinct.
     
  15. soulcollector

    soulcollector Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    301
    Location:
    USA
    It entirely depends on if you did the review with multiple people or not. If you have, you might just want to use I and interview that person for their opinion.
     
  16. living2xl

    living2xl Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,597
    Likes Received:
    307
    Occupation:
    Sippin dat juice - Shout it louder!
    Location:
    Not sleeping!
    Home Page:
    I think "I" and "We" both looks good.
    But it shows the working of the company, I mean the product is made by a single person or a complete team. It is one impression that can change.
     
  17. Aatrox

    Aatrox Supreme Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,432
    Likes Received:
    1,062
    Depends. If it's a product review, I use I. If it's something like software or something like that, like I'm selling it, not a review, I use we.
     
  18. Bleght

    Bleght BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    170
    I think it clearly depends on the product. If the product is for personal use, it makes more sense to use "I" because the single person looking for the product reading the review will be able to identify more with the reviewer (who is a single person as well). If the product is targeted at businesses (so groups or teams of people), it makes more sense to use "we" because the product would be used by organizations and the person that's researching the product and reading the review would likely be part of a team and identify with the reviewer more that way. In that case a "we" review would sound more realistic, natural and trustworthy.

    Self-identifying with the writer always increases the level of trust you have in what you're reading.

    Well that's my approach to the question, but I wouldn't be surprised if there are convincing counterpoints that I'm overlooking.
     
  19. Bengr86

    Bengr86 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    I prefer using "I", unless I'm actually working with someone else, in which case I have no problem using "we". In general, I feel that you should only use "we" if there is a point at which more than one option will be presented. If you and someone else are reviewing a product and agree on everything, use "I". If you both review and there are some differing opinions in the review, use "we".
     
  20. splishsplash

    splishsplash Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    1,324
    Occupation:
    Entrepreneur
    Location:
    UK
    Always "I" for reviews, blog posts or anything of a personal nature. "I" is for a personal connection, sense of trust and connection.

    "we" if you are writing the actual product landing page/company page and you want to convey a sense of authority, power and competency.