How to respond to bad reviews?

Discussion in 'Online Reputation Management (ORM)' started by Corydoras007, Oct 10, 2018.

  1. Corydoras007

    Corydoras007 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    76
    Sort of interested in ORM so naturally I was going through the ORM forum and saw this "How Not to Respond to Reviews" (https://www.blackhatworld.com/seo/how-not-to-respond-to-reviews.1045926/)

    After reading, I thought what if this was in a different medical field (e.g. internal medicine) and the negative review sounded like this:

    Misdiagnosis by Dr. Doe caused (a beloved person/ pet) to die. The whole time it was cancer but Dr. Doe misdiagnosed it as stomach flu...By the time it was properly diagnosed it was too late stage 4.... blahblahblah.... and etc.

    Fortunately this is just a scenario that popped in my head. But I'm really curious esp. for those doing ORM professionally, how do you respond to such kinds of reviews?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  2. BHopkins

    BHopkins Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,533
    Likes Received:
    1,653
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ORM and SEO company owner
    Location:
    California
    Home Page:
    We would just take that as a negative and suppress it. I advise my clients not to reply, but to be patient while we push it to page 2, 3, 4 or wherever they want it to go.

    Responding usually causes a whole new set of problems.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 6
  3. fasttrak

    fasttrak Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    384
    Gender:
    Male
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Corydoras007

    Corydoras007 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    76
    Yes. I can see that happening. But I also wonder if ignoring can also be as damaging.

    I've been doing some Googling around and there are those that prefer/recommend to respond just for the sake of showing other potential customers who are viewing the reviews. Although the reviews they respond to aren't as severe as the sample I provided above, it does seem that responding shows potential customers that the owner is at least acknowledging and most likely trying to fix it.

    Personally I would reply just to verify if the comment is real or not by asking more details. But then again, this can be a double edged sword.

    I guess we have to wisely judge whether or not to reply. Suppressing negative reviews will indeed to take time.

    Thanks.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. AccountAttemptNo4

    AccountAttemptNo4 BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Respond to the positive, ignore the negative. Suppress everything with positives.

    EDIT: And if these are doctors, make sure responses are HIPAA-compliant.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. noopower

    noopower Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    21
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Business owner
    Home Page:
    It depends on many factors, including the validity of the complaint, its importance, its "language", the type and size of your business, the actions taken, etc.

    I would recommend to always look through the eyes of potential clients who read the review. The most losing options are:
    1. Get involved in the dispute and blame the complaining client
    2. Start making excuses
    3. Do not respond at all

    In my opinion, the best response is to tell that you have heard the complaint, are studying its validity., and if you find that there really is a problem, you will take necessary measures to prevent it in the future.

    This will show readers that you are responding correctly to criticism, while problems happen in any business, and everyone understands this.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. doepjohn

    doepjohn Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    47
    Negative reviews are just a part of the game, and even helps legitimize a business IMO (long as the majority aren't negative of course).

    I'd say just ignore it and work on getting more positive reviews to eclipse the negative one. People will skip past 1 scathing negative review if there are a lot of positive reviews - makes the lone bad review leaver seem like a hater/bad customer.
     
  8. TheVigilante

    TheVigilante Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    6,864
    Likes Received:
    4,524
    Location:
    Theatre of dreams :)
    lmao
     
  9. 296628

    296628 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2018
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    20
    Absolutely the right answer.

    Find a website that charges $8-$10 for a real-live American microtasker's service user to write a positive review on sites. I'm sure there's others as well.

    This is the type of thing you need. Spend $160-$200 and bury that negative review with 20 new, positive reviews.

    Be careful though with who you buy from. A lot of foreigners love to sell stories on-line today and that could be bad if done wrong
     
  10. Roger Marquez

    Roger Marquez Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    99
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IM Newbie
    Location:
    Maracaibo, Venezuela
    Not all bad reviews are bad reviews. If it is in fact a negative and unconstructive reviews just let it be man. You have to build a really thick skin in this. But if a "bad" review leaves a constructive critism then thank the person, take note and improve.
     
  11. Seven4

    Seven4 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    203
    Just continue to work hard and ignore the negatives for now. Accentuate the positive and you will go far.
     
  12. Zannan Aumenko

    Zannan Aumenko Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    6
    Occupation:
    Ship-building company
    say it wasn't you
     
  13. BHopkins

    BHopkins Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,533
    Likes Received:
    1,653
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ORM and SEO company owner
    Location:
    California
    Home Page:
    I didn't mean suppress it with positive reviews. I meant suppress it, as in, push it down in the Google search results. Fake reviews are almost always considered illegal.