1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how to get rid of negative review on google maps?

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by Bartman, Oct 20, 2010.

  1. Bartman

    Bartman Power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    131
    My competitor used to have a negative review (1 star) which has disappeared. I am wondering, how did they do it?
     
  2. teeniegenie

    teeniegenie Supreme Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,296
    Likes Received:
    662
    Location:
    The Cool Part of Vegas
    Google does periodic sweeps of its map listing sites. It will remove the review if it sees too much activity on one site from one IP (spammy behavior), if you flag the review and convince G to remove it or the poster removes it (there may be other reasons, those are just off the top of my head).

    In the future, if you get negative reviews, G now allows you to reply/respond to the review to defend youself. Log in to your Places acct to check it out.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Bartman

    Bartman Power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    131
    if you delist your business and relist, will the negative reviews disappear?
     
  4. Highlander

    Highlander Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    9
    Occupation:
    Social Media Manager
    Location:
    Miami
    Hey Bartman - Another way is to add positive reviews, the star system is an average of neg & pos reviews. I'm currently working on a client's business listing and of the 13 reviews only 2 were positive. He got 10 of his customer's
    to list good reviews and went from 1 star to 5 stars.


    Hope that helps
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. simit

    simit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    15
    Add in reviews directly to maps.google but remember to use different accounts from different IPs to make it look more natural...also consider feeding in reviews from other sites that Google notices....eg; insiderpages.com, kudzu.com etc

    Think of the "hand ontop of hand" game on a baseball bat. ;-)

    Disclaimer: of course make sure it's kosher with the websites TOS :cool:
     
  6. HamDune

    HamDune Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    8
    Has anyone found a solution to this? I got one from somebody that I know is my competitor, because he gave himself a way in a bit of information that he posted.

    I am wondering if enough people say "No" to the question "Was this review helpful", then maybe the review falls off? Or possibly in the case of OP's competitor, they business owner contacted them and resolved the issue (which is not possible in my scenario).

    I would appreciate any feedback/thoughts on this!
     
  7. bizurk

    bizurk Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    31
    Are you getting him legit reviews or generating them somehow?
     
  8. nycdude

    nycdude Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    560
    Location:
    Mazatlán
    You could just bury it with a lot of 5 star reviews, but don't go overboard
     
  9. themanwithmanylists

    themanwithmanylists Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Google Places consultant, Lead Broker
    1. If you have a nice maps listing, it will be better for you to keep the bad review there, because google scores rank internally based on number of reviews, NOT quality.
    2. Bury it with reviews. 1-2 per week, change IP, clear cookies, and use friends accounts if you can (seasoned).
    3. If you know who your competition is i can show you how to take their place page down by force.
    4. If you want to start over, you can. Superpages allows anonymous reviews. You can post a lot that way, really easily.
    Yellowbot is good. Kudzu / insider pages allow faceB sign in.
    Citysearch is good too, local. If you put a review on citysearch, local / superpages will get it as well as they are data partners.

    I could go on for HOURS. I do this 80 hours a week for the last 2 years. Built over 2500 google listings myself ;)
     
  10. moneyfreedom

    moneyfreedom Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    373
    Occupation:
    Internet Marketer
    Home Page:
    try relisting with a different account
     
  11. Tytus

    Tytus Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    22
    Home Page:
    I think the best way is to reply on bed reviews. t doesn't look natural having only good one...thought.