1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to find local businesses with negative reviews

Discussion in 'Offline Marketing' started by wally666, Dec 28, 2012.

  1. wally666

    wally666 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    38
    Hey all,

    I haven't seen this, so I thought I would post it. If you are doing ORM and want a bit of an easier way to find local businesses with negative reviews, I just tried out this search and it actually worked, so why not share.

    I'm sure there you can tweak this to search for Yelp or the other directory review sites without much work, but this one is for Google local or whatever the hell they are calling it this week.


    Just plaster this into Google and add your city and state (I'm sure just the city would be fine)

    site: plus.google.com city + state "overall poor to fair"


    Here's one for Yelp:
    site:yelp.com city + state "2.0 star rating" <---- substitute "2.0 star rating" with 3.0, 1.0 etc


    Insider Pages:
    site:insiderpages.com city + state "terrible" (Replace "terrible" with other adjectives...)




    Enjoy!
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 15
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2012
  2. AtlasMeh'd

    AtlasMeh'd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    19
    Occupation:
    Paper Chaser
    Location:
    Right here, right now
    I wish I saw this before manually going through google local one by one for each category :banghead:

    Awesome tip.

    I'm definitely going to outsource this to one of my VAs
     
  3. Alinea

    Alinea Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    545
    No need to replace the ratings for Yelp, just include it in the search query! If you're looking for a specific rating, be sure to exclude ratings of 4 or 5 in your search since they sometimes show up. Add -4.0 -5.0

    Code:
    site:yelp seattle wa + "1.0"|"2.0"|"3.0" "star rating" -4.0 -5.0
    I can't use links, so replace yelp with the proper URL.

    I also suggest 'never' as a keyword for Insider Pages since people usually say things like "I'm never coming back!" or "I've never had such bad blah blah".
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2012
  4. Daisysiegal

    Daisysiegal BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    16
    Hey guys,....i'm not getting this?
    site: plus.google.com city + state "overall poor to fair"

    for example.
    godaddy.com plus.google.com gainesville+florida "overall poor to fair"

    IS THAT RIGHT?
     
  5. wally666

    wally666 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    38

    Close!

    Did you mean to type godaddy? Because you don't want that one. This search will find "overall poor to fair" reviews on Google + local. So for Gainsville FL you would use this exact phrase:

    site: plus.google.com gainsville fl "overall poor to fair"

    You can also substitute "overall poor" too.
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2013
  6. cubsfan0

    cubsfan0 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    Once you find these business, do you email them, what do you tell them you can do for them fix there ratings

    Thanks
     
  7. wally666

    wally666 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    38

    For me, I am going to call them. I have seen 7878's method and while I love it, I didn't get any results with my 20 letter test, and the cost was close to $50. Calling sucks, but it's much cheaper than that, and I don't have to wait for the mail....I can get an answer instantly.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  8. thisismymp3

    thisismymp3 Power Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    290
    why dont you walk in and hand the report to them....
    be the postman, be the sales person and be the man!

    walk in like you own the place and your giving them a subpoena, ask for the owner/manager in charge they got there current report in and your there to deliver it.
     
  9. thisismymp3

    thisismymp3 Power Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    290
    site: plus.google.com new york + ny overall poor to fair + seo company

    look at the first one, lets all send them a letter trying to help out
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2013
  10. Alinea

    Alinea Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    545
    Where do you live?
     
  11. wally666

    wally666 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    38

    Haha...no doubt.
     
  12. OriGrin

    OriGrin Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    Occupation:
    Local Seo Expert
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Hello everyone I am looking for Yelper accounts for Positive reviews on my local businesses account
    I'm willing to pay of course.
     
  13. Daisysiegal

    Daisysiegal BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    16
    Darn it...still not getting it (sigh).

    Can someone type the text for this site.
    http://www.piesanostogo.com/

    Thanks very much...
     
  14. wally666

    wally666 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    38

    If you are trying to find the negative reviews on Google you use this: site:google.com city state "overall poor to fair" Replace the city state with a city and state of course.

    What that does is it searches Google for any reviews people have left on the Places page of a business with a rating of "Poor to fair". You don't want to put in the URL of a particular business unless you already know that business has negative reviews, and even then you don't really need to do that.



    All you need to do for this pizza place is search for their business name: "piesanos gainesville" in Google. Then you just click to look at their places page, and sort the reviews by lowest score (See images)

    If you search piesanostogo.com for "overall poor" you won't find it because I doubt they would publish that on their own site....Click Here for image---> howtohere.jpg
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  15. thisismymp3

    thisismymp3 Power Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    290
    me too in serious need of yelp reviews that stick
     
  16. wally666

    wally666 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    38

    I don't know how true anything is about Yelp, but I've read many times that Yelp removes positive reviews from people who don't want to pay for their advertising services and leaves the negative ones up.


    You can search around and find plenty of people who swear that Yelp is unfair and all of that...so if you are having trouble with positive reviews sticking, that may be why.

    Here are a few sites you can check out if you want.

    http://yelp-sucks.com/tell-your-yelp-story/

    http://www.forbes.com/sites/jimhandy/2012/08/16/think-yelp-is-unbiased-think-again/ <---- From forbes.com, hardly some local SEO mad about a few reviews!

    http://pixsym.com/blog/reputation-m...awsuits-dismissed-are-they-back-at-it-in-2012


    There are plenty more, just search for "yelp negative reviews staying" or something similar in Google
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  17. Daisysiegal

    Daisysiegal BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    16
    Thanks Wally,

    Now what does this reflect---SEO results?
     
  18. wally666

    wally666 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    38
    I explained what it is in the post right above yours....

    Edit, a few posts above, THIS POST <------- That is the post that explains what this does.


    Using "site:blabla.com" "keyword" is just an advanced way of searching Google. Look at what's in the search and you can see what it will do. You are searching Google.com or in this case plus.google.com for the words "overall poor to fair" which is the main choice a person can choose for a negative review.


    So if you search for site:google.com NYC New York "overall poor to fair" you are saying "Hey Google, look through all of your reviews in NYC for ones where people have rated a business poor.


    That's all it is.
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2013
  19. wally666

    wally666 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    38
    Also..


    site:plus.google.com reno nv "would not recommend"
     
  20. Daisysiegal

    Daisysiegal BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    16
    ok Wally....got it (i think)

    This technique is basically to find out if a site has negative reviews (left supposedly by customers).

    At that point...what can you do for the business?

    I guess you can tell them to get some of their friends to put up some good reviews (especially if its a restaurant).

    thanks!