1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How I spent $100 and get sent free stuff every week (Youtube Review Method)

Discussion in 'Making Money' started by Darren9682, Jun 14, 2015.

  1. Darren9682

    Darren9682 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    630
    Location:
    England
    I have always been a fan of video, I sell video marketing and bespoke explainer videos and have done so for a long time now to make quick money but recently I've wanted to do something on youtube so chose to create a youtube channel for reviewing items and unboxings.

    However as soon as I started it hit me ...... I don't have shit to review!!. So I thought "I know ... I'll write too companies and get free shit to review!" .... anyway long story short and the tenth rejection letter later I decided to do something about it.

    There are two things that companies look for when it comes to sending you free stuff on a regular basis and that's Subscribers and Views.

    Step 1 : Find things around your home to review.

    So I looked around my home and found a few items to review. Examples were my Xbox One Games, my Moto G, Headphones, Apps, Game Demos, DVD/Blu Ray Boxsets etc ... All things I own myself. Age of the product didn't matter as long as you create some videos and upload them to youtube and be honest with your reviews.

    Step 2 : Get free views with bots
    I then used youtube view bots like enhanceviews, vagex and view2.be just to get some real views going and run them for 24 hours.

    Step 2a : Get Paid Views with Fiverr
    Head over to fiverr and buy views.It doesn't matter if they are bot views, A simple $5 gig will be enough for as many views as you can get. Find one that will spread them across your videos or buy separate gigs for each video. I spent $25 and spread them across my videos.

    Step 3 : Buy Subscribers
    While on fiver buy some subscribers. Once again it doesn't matter if they are real. It's for looks only. I spent $25 on subscriber gigs over the course of a week.

    Step 4 : Buy Ratings
    I spent my remaining $50 on thumbs up from Fiverr. All of my videos got a random number of thumbs up. One of those gigs was actually a thumbs down to make it look more natural and to make sure the thumbs up still outnumbered the down.

    Step 5 : Wait a couple of weeks and email companies
    Ok so by now you should have an account, atleast 5-10 videos of you reviewing shit around your house.

    I emailed 10 companies in week two which consisted of iphone covers ( a basic starting point for most reviewers), phone accessories, speakers, keyboards, clothing, and subscription boxes ... and so far 7 have agreed to send me free items as long as I review and show the items in my videos all because they looked at my Subs, Likes and Visitors and see me as someone worth sending stuff too.

    From this point on the "blackhat" stuff can stop and I will have genuine new items to review and later sell on ebay (Or keep them if they are good). The more subs and likes the better quality items you will get to review aslong as you ask the company. When you get to around 10,000 subs you can start aiming for companies like Vivitar and Logitech.

    Step 6 : Show me my money b*tch
    Ok so some of you may be thinking "Well ok this is pretty cool but how is this a money method???". Well once this is up and running you will of course be able to monitize your videos and receive advertisements and of course you'll be able to sell all the shit that you're reviewing. If it's something good you can also use it to get more subscribers by doing a giveaway.

    I recently did this with my channel and went from 2,456 subscribers to 5,000 subscribers by giving away a kit worth $200 which consisted of Wireless Headphones, a 64GB USB stick and a Wireless keyboard and mouse set. I then gave it away to one of my viewers. I'm half way to getting the big boys to send me stuff and loving it. So give it a try!

    F.A.Q

    Can this be done cheaper? -
    Of course, but expect to start with lesser value items as you'll have less views / subs until you build your account up.

    Do I need to be on camera? -
    No. Showing the item and your hands reviewing it is enough.

    Do I have to send the items back afterwards? -
    In most cases no as they are review copies and somewhat of a bribe to reviewers but always check the email / letter reply just in case.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 10
  2. nikiobicata

    nikiobicata Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    376
    Occupation:
    IT Director
    Location:
    New York
    Home Page:
    100% of the time youtube will delete your fake views and subscription. This fiverr gigs are always crap. Overall this is great technique if you find better ways to gain views and subscription (probably facebook ads)
     
  3. Y M C M B

    Y M C M B Power Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    118
    Won't work for everyone, specially for camera shy people like me.
     
  4. Darren9682

    Darren9682 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    630
    Location:
    England
    You can't even show your hands?

    That's why it's best to mix in bot and real as described in the post. And like I said it's purely for looks. It's not for anything else. Aslong as it looks good when the companies check you're golden.

    I'm doing this myself right now so I know it works.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. Evostance

    Evostance Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    66
    I guess this means Adsense :(
     
  6. Darren9682

    Darren9682 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    630
    Location:
    England
    Absolutely. Although reselling the free stuff I would suggest to be the main income with this at first as we all know we would need to create a HUGE youtube channel to really earn a decent living just through ad revenue.
     
  7. Nonilol

    Nonilol Elite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,671
    Likes Received:
    567
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Media Informatics & Webdev Student
    Location:
    Hamburg, GER / Southampton, UK
    Home Page:
    There are plenty of good youtube views provider around, especially here on bhw.
    The views I deliver have never dropped. And I think Bigbuddy, XLviews, Instavisits also deliver good quality. I didnt expirience any drops when using their services.

    Just make sure you dont buy addmefast shit.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. Darren9682

    Darren9682 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    630
    Location:
    England
    Absolutely right. tbh I probably could have done this without spending the $100 but I was impatient and just wanted to get it done.
     
  9. soulcollector

    soulcollector Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    304
    Location:
    USA
    I have people contact me for my games to review, usually I o get a boost in sales if the gaming channel is good, but not worth the pricing they are asking for the boost, and most overinflate and won't negotiate down because they think a $30 game is worth $85 per sale.
     
  10. Darren9682

    Darren9682 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    630
    Location:
    England
    Yeah with software it's a little trickier since the reviewers don't see getting the software for free as "payment" they want additional cash as well.

    The method I posted in this thread is more for physical items.
     
  11. GurjitSingh

    GurjitSingh Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    6
    Great to hear your success. I'm also in shy group and I have tried recording video on my iPhone but it looks bad when I watch it, especially my voice, I don't seem to like it.
    And one more question I have is how did you record and edited the videos? Windows, Mac, Hacintosh? Final Cut Pro? Because these will also add up to investment.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. Darren9682

    Darren9682 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    630
    Location:
    England
    I sound shit and still do it. I do Udemy courses too. Aslong as the content is good nobody really cares about the voice plus it gets easier the more you make.

    I use Camtasia Studio 8 for my Windows PC which I erm ..... "found" online :D

    I also use a Logitech C525 HD Webcam and the built in mic. Nothing groundbreaking. You could even do this to review webcams and get a new free one :p
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. Paper-Boy

    Paper-Boy Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,118
    Likes Received:
    1,825
    That's how a lot of tech reviewers from youtube started out.

    Now there are companies like LG, samsung begging to get reviews from people like linustechtips.

    Very sound method OP.
     
  14. manolo12399

    manolo12399 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    195
    yes and toys too look like to be a good niche, and Lego, too, I think prople buy set of lego, and resell after 2-3 years for more money
     
  15. galaxier

    galaxier Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    18
    so it's a little like drunk tech reviews?
     
  16. Darren9682

    Darren9682 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    630
    Location:
    England
    Yeah exactly you're spot on. Yeah that guy has been going for 6 years now but when you look at his early stuff it was a table, one camera and him being abit nervous and not sure what he's really doing.

    Now look at him! The guy has some of the worlds biggest brands begging him for reviews.

    This method is really for the wannabe youtube reviewers who are looking for that extra start. Giving their channel the look of a quick authority just long enough to get companies to send you stuff. Once that's going it snowballs quickly.
     
  17. GurjitSingh

    GurjitSingh Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thanks a lot man. Good news is, I also "found" that one online :). Have started working on, but my Headphones' mic is not working. I'll manage somehow. And I'm also a big fan of LinusTechTips...The thing I like about him is he is really honest and blunt in his reviews. And now he has so many followers that he created "LinusCatTips" channel just for fun and you'll be surprised to see the user engagement on that channel.
     
  18. Adrian112

    Adrian112 Supreme Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,373
    Likes Received:
    2,644
    I bought my Nike Kaishi shoes and I put some showcase of 40 seconds there.

    I linked to Amazon in description.

    Addmefast made me somewhere around 500 views and organic traffic strated.

    I bought shoes for 77$ and I made 50$ so far with this one video and one link.

    You can buy things and pay out them with review easily.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 3
  19. educatedfool

    educatedfool Supreme Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,487
    Likes Received:
    540
    Location:
    Silicon City Of India
    What are you man? You own many methods, yet grab everything so quickly.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 3
  20. Neon

    Neon BANNED BANNED Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,107
    Likes Received:
    7,706
    Gender:
    Male
    Yeah that's right im Adrian112 BIGGEST FAN !!! He is just good at this by nature.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1