How do you guys deal with customers who blackmail your client over 1-star Google reviews?

buhari4u

Regular Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2011
Messages
217
Reaction score
73
Rather than fighting with them, why not compromise in a way by give a discount for their next order for a change it to positive review? Both will be happy and less mess up.
 

macdonjo3

Jr. VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
Nov 8, 2009
Messages
8,396
Reaction score
8,696
Rather than fighting with them, why not compromise in a way by give a discount for their next order for a change it to positive review? Both will be happy and less mess up.
I don't think you realize how scummy some people are. Some of the altercations turn physical or at least threaten physical damage because they are so mad they have to pay for damages. Once a week the police have to intervene and sometimes even lay charges against the customers.
 

macdonjo3

Jr. VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
Nov 8, 2009
Messages
8,396
Reaction score
8,696
Anyone who specializes in ORM, don't hesitate to drop a knowledge bomb. I'm trying to get a case open at Google. Anyone with experience lmk.
 

KlaudiaK

Banned - selling outside of the marketplace.
Joined
Jul 26, 2019
Messages
421
Reaction score
318
There's a very easy solution to this. I got over 20 1 star reviews removed for a client. It's an easy process to do. Just surprised the man who behaves in other threads like he knows it all, doesn't know how to deal with this
 

janist

Jr. VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
1,559
Reaction score
983
Website
seolutions.biz
Is it on the GMB?

Aside from flaggin it as fake (also do it via GMB Support - https://support.google.com/business/gethelp) and responding individually to each review (Google takes their sweet time with removing those fake ass reviews)you can also try the following: Try to get a handful of local guide accounts (high level 5-10) and report the reviews using a VPN with close proximity to the business (use a new IP for each local account, when flagging as fake).

Tryign to
 

BHopkins

Elite Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2010
Messages
2,613
Reaction score
1,748
Website
DiamondLinks.net
@BHopkins our very own ORM expert can definitely add value on this thread
I appreciate the mention!

For Google reviews, you just need a consistent strategy to secure good reviews. Companies like BirdEye (and many others) provide a simple to implement solution that the customer can take over themselves. They need to collect client info, and then input it into a system that will automatically take over the customer feedback loop.

If one review will sink the business, there are likely bigger issues.
 

macdonjo3

Jr. VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
Nov 8, 2009
Messages
8,396
Reaction score
8,696
If one review will sink the business, there are likely bigger issues.
More so, 10 negative reviews stemming from 1 negative review campaign by a group of customers may cause as much as 10% less sales in the travel niche - this equates to $100,000s of dollars so it's of the things I'm working to fix for the client.

Do you have experience dealing with review blackmail?
 

kilovats

Junior Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2016
Messages
151
Reaction score
81
Well, the other side may have a $20000 lawyer. You know someone who gives you 10x 1 star review from random accounts must be secured somehow.
I know those people. They have money in case something bad happens. :)
Majority of people don't have lawyers behind them. What I suggest is to turn to a lawyer that deals with small claims cases. They usually have a template for such pre-court notices that essentially warn the person in question about possible claim brought against them. Most of the people get scared and either 1) pay up or b) hide. In very rare cases a client might have a strong lawyer behind their backs. Really depends on the service you provide and the clients you have.
 

clock

Junior Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
118
Reaction score
2,098
Bigger companies pass losses to customers with slightly higher costs. Just another $10 over hundreds of good customers should cover the cost of the odd pricks.

Perhaps already covering any losses could mean they can happily negotiate with the assholes. Any money they do get back will be a bonus and the twats are happy thinking they’ve saved a lot of their potential full loss of deposit.
 

KlaudiaK

Banned - selling outside of the marketplace.
Joined
Jul 26, 2019
Messages
421
Reaction score
318
More so, 10 negative reviews stemming from 1 negative review campaign by a group of customers may cause as much as 10% less sales in the travel niche - this equates to $100,000s of dollars so it's of the things I'm working to fix for the client.

Do you have experience dealing with review blackmail?
Your in the wrong game If you don't know how to remove the reviews. Why not point your client to a real professional who knows how to 100% remove these reviews. Instead of winging it. Due to your past behaviour, I refuse to tell you answer but be assured there is a way of getting them removed in less than 24 hours. It's quite clear you don't know what you're doing in this aspect of things
 

KlaudiaK

Banned - selling outside of the marketplace.
Joined
Jul 26, 2019
Messages
421
Reaction score
318
Bigger companies pass losses to customers with slightly higher costs. Just another $10 over hundreds of good customers should cover the cost of the odd pricks.

Perhaps already covering any losses could mean they can happily negotiate with the assholes. Any money they do get back will be a bonus and the twats are happy thinking they’ve saved a lot of their potential full loss of deposit.
True but the company are loosing money paying OP who in the past acts like s marketing king on other threads but this one has exposed him for having no idea really what he's doing. If a few reviews are are causing such loss it speaks volumes. What even more concerning is he's claiming it's loosing $100,000s but can't afford to pay a true expert to have them removed in less than 24 hours but is still taking money of the company for marketing, whilst knowingly know they could be loosing 100s of thousands of dollars. Just pay a real expert who knows what he's doing and be done with it.

He's been caught with his pants down on this one.
 
Last edited:

KlaudiaK

Banned - selling outside of the marketplace.
Joined
Jul 26, 2019
Messages
421
Reaction score
318
More so, 10 negative reviews stemming from 1 negative review campaign by a group of customers may cause as much as 10% less sales in the travel niche - this equates to $100,000s of dollars so it's of the things I'm working to fix for the client.

Do you have experience dealing with review blackmail?
How can you fix something you quite clearly have no idea about ? Sounds like you were hoping someone was gonna soon feed you the answer. If you are loosing $100,000s of dollars then you are saying the company is worth millions. Why not just pay a real expert to remove them and be done with the matter.

I believe you may have reviews but your numbers are off and a few other things In your "story"

So let's say the numbers are real ? You are saying company could loose $100,000s like you claim, then what is your issue with paying 1k to get this sorted. Instead because you can't admit you don't know what your doing, you are the real issue here tbh IS YOU, as your causing another business to loose money. Just be straight with them and tell them YOU HAVE NO IDEA. The real thing that's costing the company here is your ego by not been able to admit to them that 10 X 1star reviews is too complex for you to handle. I would suggest if you want the issue sorting, pay for it!
 

albos

Newbie
Joined
Jul 18, 2013
Messages
15
Reaction score
15
Been doing the replies and been spending about $2k/month on new reviews but it's exhausting. You earn hundreds of great reviews just to get hit with some scum for 10 negative reviews.
Who isthe scum? The client who does damage and dont take responsibility for it or the property owner who is after his rightfull money??
 

drak99

Registered Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2020
Messages
73
Reaction score
51
Client has the address and govt ID of each individual.



That's what we are doing - the $1000 discussed in OP is a deposit and they get PISSED when they lose it because they smashed up the rental equipment.

They already have a 40-minute training video plus on-site setup.

The damage is pretty obvious. If I drive my jet ski into your ski at 40 km/h, and you drive your jet ski into mine, one will likely sink (or both) and the repairs are pretty evident.

Keep the ideas rolling though - interested in implementing any advice. Client is the largest of its kinda in North America so they've tried a thing or two in the education department but that doesn't mean I'm not open to your ideas. I'm heading to pickup some more cash from them and discuss somethings now before I head for dinner but I think I might get a lawyer on it as recommended. I just figured there may have been a cheaper solution roaming the forums.

attachment.php


@LaurenceM - see above. Keep the suggestions rolling.
how bout hitting their credit reports? probably the customer contracts would have to be modified to support that capability and certainly wouldn’t fix the past but would be a great deterrent to future nutcases. and pulling credit reports/vetting, as someone else suggested.. maybe make the deposit larger too?
 

drak99

Registered Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2020
Messages
73
Reaction score
51
Client has the address and govt ID of each individual.



That's what we are doing - the $1000 discussed in OP is a deposit and they get PISSED when they lose it because they smashed up the rental equipment.

They already have a 40-minute training video plus on-site setup.

The damage is pretty obvious. If I drive my jet ski into your ski at 40 km/h, and you drive your jet ski into mine, one will likely sink (or both) and the repairs are pretty evident.

Keep the ideas rolling though - interested in implementing any advice. Client is the largest of its kinda in North America so they've tried a thing or two in the education department but that doesn't mean I'm not open to your ideas. I'm heading to pickup some more cash from them and discuss somethings now before I head for dinner but I think I might get a lawyer on it as recommended. I just figured there may have been a cheaper solution roaming the forums.

attachment.php


@LaurenceM - see above. Keep the suggestions rolling.
two more things:

1: cameras on the equipment that record only when on (probably have to put that in the contract)

2: have someone trained in conversational hypnosis deal with the uncooperative customer, u should be able to get negative reviews removed and even positive reviews out of this.

for number 2, if it’s always the same person who deals w these folks then just have them go thru an intensive training for this, i have two names but i don’t wanna get this post deleted in case it’s seen as promotional but u can dm me, i’m no affiliate on those either.
 

petertang

Registered Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2021
Messages
95
Reaction score
29
Google only cares about removing positive feedback, and hell Google will even do it on their own, removing legitimate positive reviews, so you will be forced to pay google adwords to rank.

You can report to Google, Google extremely rarely will remove any review left, absent a court order, or someone saying something illegal using profanity, obscene languages. These kind of Negative feedback ransom scheme is getting popular because of Google's reluctance to act on it.

But when there's a need, there's a way. There's a new business that comes with it called "Google negative review removal". Ya it's a thing, you can google it.

Some even do it on a no-removal-no-charge basis.

You can also find similar products on Fiverr.

In the alternative, you can seek help at Google Community Support. Google it, you will find it.

I personally don't recommend paying the ransom, as they will come back for more later.
 

petertang

Registered Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2021
Messages
95
Reaction score
29
Additional note. Don't be naive folks. These spammers are in Eastern Europe, Africa, India, you think they scare of Canadian law or USA law or the UN Hague Convention. Come on haha. They are using phony account that they set up using VPN and proxies.

And Google won't do anything about it either. Post on Google Community Support if you have zero budget or spend a little bit of money and use one of the google negative removal service, I think they call it "reputation management" nowadays. Some even offer "No Negative Review ever" service, where you pay a certain amount of money, and they will remove any negative feedback if they see it. I recommend it. As the spammer will probably come back and leave another negative feedback soon with a different account, if you DON'T purchase the additional warranty, you WILL NEED to pay for each negative feedback removal and it WILL BE very costly.
 

thebotmaker

Jr. VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
Oct 11, 2018
Messages
764
Reaction score
772
How can you fix something you quite clearly have no idea about ? Sounds like you were hoping someone was gonna soon feed you the answer. If you are loosing $100,000s of dollars then you are saying the company is worth millions. Why not just pay a real expert to remove them and be done with the matter.

I believe you may have reviews but your numbers are off and a few other things In your "story"

So let's say the numbers are real ? You are saying company could loose $100,000s like you claim, then what is your issue with paying 1k to get this sorted. Instead because you can't admit you don't know what your doing, you are the real issue here tbh IS YOU, as your causing another business to loose money. Just be straight with them and tell them YOU HAVE NO IDEA. The real thing that's costing the company here is your ego by not been able to admit to them that 10 X 1star reviews is too complex for you to handle. I would suggest if you want the issue sorting, pay for it!
Someone's bitter
 
Top