1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How Can you Provide Reputation Management when Yelp Filters all the reviews? Any Solution?

Discussion in 'Offline Marketing' started by the45master, Mar 26, 2014.

  1. the45master

    the45master Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    10
    I am trying to get into helping bussinesses increase their yelp and google reviews, using their own customers. But I go to my clients yelp page, and theres only 6 reviews. But at the very bottom there are 38 additional reviews that are "not recommended", and hidden, you have to click it. Some are 1 stars, some are 5 stars. Some are even posted by elite yelp members. Why the hell does Yelp do that? They are legit reviews, negative and positive, by long standing members. So how can I help my clients get their customers to post reviews, if all the reviews are being filtered?

    Thanks
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  2. Andrew Scherer

    Andrew Scherer Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,092
    Likes Received:
    452
    Location:
    Mazatlan, Mexico
    The best rep management makes Yelp irrelevant, you can push them off the firs few pages if you want to. Figuring out their review algo is difficult, but I will say that the IP of the reviewer plays a part.
     
  3. the45master

    the45master Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    10
    Wait, push them off? Why would you push your clients yelp listing off the first few pages, you would want it on the first few pages right?

    I know whats not what you meant, but Im not sure what you were saying.

    Thanks

     
  4. funkybunker

    funkybunker Supreme Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    1,238
    Likes Received:
    1,760
    Occupation:
    BOSS
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    He did mean to push Yelp off the front page. They're complete assholes regardless of what they spew in your face (our algo is not dictated by advertisers).
    Get great testimonials on the MANY other review portals and build press releases, feature on high authority blogs/sites in a positive light etc.
    You can use Yelp but you'll continue to deal with their shit.
     
  5. the45master

    the45master Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    10
    oh okay. But a lot of people actually go directly to yelp to search for businesses, like "Dry cleaners". So then you'll need good ratings.

    Besides that, I just cant see being able to get anything to rank higher than the yelp page for a car dealership or any local business....Google like is almost always going to show either yelp or google reviews over anything else no matter the amount of SEO.


     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2014
  6. funkybunker

    funkybunker Supreme Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    1,238
    Likes Received:
    1,760
    Occupation:
    BOSS
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    The only way I've learned to keep Yelp reviews from being filtered is to make sure your reviews are coming from active users. This means honest reviews left by 1-time customers will disappear, so you'll need to promote to people "We're on Yelp! Tell us what you think!" or something to that extent.
    They only want people in the Yelp community's opinions to matter - I don't believe it's that harsh on Google+. If you get great & legit reviews on citysearch, yahoo local, merchant circle, tripadvisor then visitors won't think anything of your Yelp page. Push those pages more!
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. BHopkins

    BHopkins Moderator Staff Member Moderator Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,311
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ORM and SEO company owner
    Location:
    California
    Home Page:
    This is false in almost every city in America. People go to Google and search "dry cleaners".

    Bury yelp and then you don't have to worry about their extortion business model.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 3
  8. Yanni6

    Yanni6 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    6
    How do you bury yelp though? I have just started reputation management. What would be the best tactic for pushing a yelp review page off page one. I have already made a bunch of social media profiles( the keyword is a doctors name), but they haven't started ranking yet. I made them a week ago. Any suggestions?
     
  9. YelpMyAss

    YelpMyAss Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    4
    Occupation:
    Online Marketing - Online Reputataion Management
    Location:
    South Asia
    Give those social media sites you made plenty of Backlinks. It's the only way to push Yelp out of page one. If you made ten or so social media, then make sure you give all 10 Backlinks. My guess is that you'll need at least 600 Back-links each to get Yelp off first page. I agree, yelp is a bitch.
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2014
  10. BHopkins

    BHopkins Moderator Staff Member Moderator Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,311
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ORM and SEO company owner
    Location:
    California
    Home Page:
    You need to learn how to do SEO before you can do SEO. Why would you take on a job that you don't know how to do? Your best bet is to outsource the work to someone competent who can actually get results.

    You've done less than 1% of the total work that I do when working with a new client.

    How many social media profiles? I build 100 the first day a new client starts with me. After they finish on day 3 I start link building. Each profile gets 5,000 links to start. Those finish by day 4.
     
  11. Yanni6

    Yanni6 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    6
    It's not my usual job. I'm doing it for a family friend and if I can't get any results then he will outsource it. What do you do after you have created the 100 social media profiles and back linked all of them? Your right I created them manually a week ago, but they haven't started appearing in google yet. I thought I would wait and see if they appear naturally, before back linking. I also am getting a video and I'll backlink that. What software are you using for back linking?
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2014
  12. BHopkins

    BHopkins Moderator Staff Member Moderator Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,311
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ORM and SEO company owner
    Location:
    California
    Home Page:
    Nobody is going to spoon feed their business model to you. People like myself literally spend thousands of dollars a month testing backlinks to see what works and is effective. Anyone who gives you info is giving your public info like "buy from the BST" or hasn't actually spent time and energy to get effective rankings.
     
  13. Yanni6

    Yanni6 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    6
    Fine, could you at least critique what I have done thus far. 10 social media sites + directories (already ranking just not beating yelp) all heavily back linked by gsa ser (started 2 days ago). I'm getting a prbuzz press release and a youtube video as well. How long should it take for my social profiles to reach page one?(they are on page2,3,4 after just being indexed). I am not trying to bother, but I know you seem to enjoy helping others on the forum, so I thought I would try my luck.
     
  14. BHopkins

    BHopkins Moderator Staff Member Moderator Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,311
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ORM and SEO company owner
    Location:
    California
    Home Page:
    This is a good start, but not all links are created equally. An effective SEO strategy for pushing up those properties you created is what you need. As I mentioned, 10 sites isn't nearly enough in my opinion.

    1 press release and 1 video aren't enough either. I do everything you do, but about 10-20x more in the minimum.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  15. matthewseo

    matthewseo Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    14
    Can you push down yelp with regular web 2.0 pages created by a SENUKE or GSA or Scrapebox or do you need to buy PBNs? About how many links am I looking at to go above a Yelp site that has 0 links to it but is ranking #1 for a company name?
     
  16. BHopkins

    BHopkins Moderator Staff Member Moderator Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,311
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ORM and SEO company owner
    Location:
    California
    Home Page:
    In a nutshell, you need to have decent sites and decent links. Link building changes at least a few times per year. Decent sites change a few times per year as well. What is working right now is not likely to be working in 6 months.

    Yelp is an extremely strong domain right now and will likely be strong for a long time. The amount of links is completely irrelevant because Google is giving Yelp a bonus based on the yelp.com domain, not the total number of links to the page.
     
  17. frankie828

    frankie828 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    31
    yelp filter is impossible to beat
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1