1. This website uses cookies to improve service and provide a tailored user experience. By using this site, you agree to this use. See our Cookie Policy.
    Dismiss Notice

How can I successfully leave product reviews on my own websites?

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by shags38, Apr 4, 2019.

  1. shags38

    shags38 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2019
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    I am looking for a way to leave product reviews on eCommerce website(s) that I own in an effort to improve ranking on these sites - they rank reasonably well (bottom half of page#1) but I need to get into the top half (don't we all). I am not sure however I think more reviews will help my rankings.

    I am able to log in to an actual customer's account in the back end so leaving a review on their behalf would be about an actual sale. Problem is how can I mask this from Google, if at all?

    cheers, Mike
     
  2. Elegante

    Elegante Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    104
    • There is no proven relationships between reviews and ranking. You should still give it a try.
    • Google may decide to not show up stars in some or all of the search results where you website appears even if you setup the schema markup correctly.
    • Depending on your website's CMS, you may be able to create fake reviews by yourself very easily. The best way would be to encourage natural reviews with reminders and discount codes.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. doepjohn

    doepjohn Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    84
    There are addons/plugins out there than will simulate that.

    There are case studies out there that show a positive correlation between comments/reviews and ranking. Of course your stars/ratings might now show and thats entirely up to google, but you have a better chance of selling with reviews and comments than without.
     
  4. Invoker

    Invoker Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    327
    You can PM you website I'll leave a positive review np
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. shags38

    shags38 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2019
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Many thanks for your reply. I respect your opening comment - some say there is, some say not - I figure it may in respect to Googles emphasis on customer satisfaction as a focus of how they present sites in SERP's ? As long as Google doesn't pick a review as a definitive fake then reviews if not a positive ranking factor will not be a negative, right? (assumption).

    1. There is no issue in me being able to write the review - I am concerned that Google will know it was me that submitted it, (by IP address?), even if I have logged in via the back end using a master password as one of my legitimate customers. Can Google trace the real source of the person logged in? i.e. once they are on the site? (I go to the site via the back end admin login, then access the customers account (legally, used in instances of phone orders) then log in to the front end as that customer, then write a review on a product they have actually purchased .... will Google trace that back to my IP address and penalize the site? I cannot afford for the site to be penalized :)

    2. Yes you are right about encouraging natural reviews - it does work but the success ratio is less than 1 in 100. The product is very much a once off buy, very little repeat business, it is a necklace worn during pregnancy, so offering a discount on a future purchase is no real incentive. My major competitor has a much higher ratio of reviews - I reckon they may be paying for reviews, either ' fake' or maybe a refund of some kind to the purchaser. I figure I should but from them and then experience first hand how they farm their reviews from actual customers if in fact they are not fake.

    cheers,
    Mike
     
  6. shags38

    shags38 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2019
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Many thanks for the offer - not sure how to PM you - went to your profile page but could not find a link to messaging ... maybe because I am a newbie I am restricted or am I not navigating correctly?
    cheers, Mike
     
  7. iggypop

    iggypop Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    70
    I did this for an old heavily modded PHPBB based amazon affiliate site. Created hundreds of fake users (me) and used those accounts (again, me) to ask the "site owner" (also me) for product recommendations. I kept tweaking until i pictured myself as an unknowing internet surfer stumbling across it and being persuaded to buy in one shot. It worked quite well. Make the reviews believable and emphasize adding the trust the reviewer has gained in the website's owners / curators. That can go a long way. This is all, of course, outside the scope of using such reviews to achieve a better google ranking, but it can be extremely useful to show site trust.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. shags38

    shags38 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2019
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks for the response - there does appear to be differing opinions on the actual ranking signals that reviews send and no doubt we will be kept in the dark for a while longer yet.
    cheers, Mike
     
  9. shags38

    shags38 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2019
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Many thanks for your response - very interesting. I have a site on Etsy selling the same product as my website and have hundreds of reviews in that shop (Etsy have perfected the art of getting customers to leave reviews - it is in their interest as much as it is the shop owners) so I can draw on those for inspiration for originality.

    My main concern as stated previously is putting the site at risk of penalty if Google was able to trace that the reviews are generated by the site owner/admin. Using Google Analytics as an example it seems they can track not only incoming IP but also movement within the site - just not sure if they can track my entry into the site via the back end/admin login access as the 'landing page' then track through? I personally think not but am far from sure, that is why I posted this thread.

    cheers, Mike
     
  10. iggypop

    iggypop Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    70
    Well, if you're talking about mirroring your reviews from etsy on your wordpress site or similar, then no i dont see why it would be a problem. Woocommerce and shopify seem to have plugins that allow you to do this importing of etsy product reviews, and in that case google would be penalizing lots of sites that use trusted ecommerce platforms for their intended purpose. That's all theory though. Someone who has actual experience with this will hopefully chime in and give a straight answer from experience... Which i don't have in this particular scenario. Best of luck to you!
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. shags38

    shags38 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2019
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Very useful info - the major competitor I mentioned in here is in fact a Shopify site so that may be a clue - I will checkout Shopify and take a look at their plugins and their forum to get some more insight.
    Many thanks
     
  12. shags38

    shags38 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2019
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Found the plugin on Shopify site - seems the app imports Products and Reviews from Etsy into Shopify, not unlike exporting and importing Etsy into other platforms (eBay,Amazon etc) via csv file - thanks again for the info.
     
  13. shags38

    shags38 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2019
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    So being a Newbie and not being able to PM you can I put the link in here in broken form like mysitedotcom/bla bla / bla bla?
     
  14. D1cko1980

    D1cko1980 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2019
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    I'm looking for this exact thing as well.

    How to hide my IP etc. from Google so I can create fake comments on my own site...

    Would a VPN work?
    Got one of those - swear I read somewhere VPN may not be the best idea if you are looking to trick Google?
     
  15. elodavid

    elodavid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    18
    Ive added fake reviews to my own shopify site in the past. Didnt help a ton. But it looked better for sales
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  16. shags38

    shags38 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2019
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Many thanks for your response.
    So no penalties to your site by Google that you are aware of? So it helped engender customer confidence seeing the reviews I take it?
     
  17. elodavid

    elodavid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    18
    Yes it did. I did it with an app. I forget the name now, if you want I can look it up for you.

    Ofc it was free
     
  18. evezius

    evezius Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2019
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    16
    Gender:
    Female
    I have some important method, If you want you can follow it-

    Leverage customer reviews to build reputation.
    Respond to reviews quickly.
    Make it easy for customers to review.
    Turn customers into brand ambassadors.
    Keep a regular check on review sites.
    Share reviews in promotional emails.
    Share customer reviews on social media.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  19. jenifarlopez

    jenifarlopez Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    27
    Gender:
    Female
    your opinion is authentic, I will follow you. thanks for good suggestions.
     
  20. Bigstar20

    Bigstar20 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    221
    Location:
    Australia
    It's best not to share your site publicly on here.

    You only need a few more posts (15 total) to be able to PM. Take a look around the rest of the forum and you might be able to answer some peoples' questions or help out to get your post count up.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1