1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

google reviews

Discussion in 'BlackHat Lounge' started by watchdaride, Jun 2, 2011.

  1. watchdaride

    watchdaride Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a mobile business detailing where i go to peoples houses .i am trying to build up my google places reviews. I ask people to leave reviews but there lazy asses never do. I know with google reviews if you use the same ip adress they will drop you. If i was to use my android phone at the customers home and let the customer log in there google accounts and connect to there wifi at home . Would google be able to tell all the reviews came from my phone even though i am using the customers google account and their internet ip adress?
     
  2. littleg2008

    littleg2008 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire, UK
    Yes.

    Your using an ANDROID phone.
     
  3. dking73

    dking73 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thats a great thought, I am in the moving biz and im trying to get more reviews from my clients (they are lazzyass)... Maybe we need to buy a laptop, get the review and go exchange the laptop for a new one, lol
     
  4. englandrm

    englandrm Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    942
    Likes Received:
    431
    Location:
    Canada
    Offer Incentive to leaving you a review, and make it as easy as possible. Make a link on your website yoursite.com/GPP, or something along those lines. Buy a super easy to remember domain, and redirect it to your place page. Even offering a discount or something else (I'm not familiar with your business).
     
  5. Taktical

    Taktical Elite Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,657
    Likes Received:
    3,227
    Occupation:
    Jr.Executive VIP
    Location:
    USA
    Be very careful. If the gov't gets the idea that you're faking reviews they could accuse you of "astroturfing".

    Its illegal and carries a severe penalty.

    .
     
  6. Taktical

    Taktical Elite Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,657
    Likes Received:
    3,227
    Occupation:
    Jr.Executive VIP
    Location:
    USA
  7. watchdaride

    watchdaride Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    damn i have to find a way to get customers to remember to leave reviews . i like the idea of a link on my website . I will make one for google and for people that want to use facebook insiderpages
     
  8. the_demon

    the_demon Jr. Executive VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,177
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Occupation:
    Search Engine Marketing
    Location:
    The Internet
    @watchdaride: Simple, give them an incentive...

    "Leave a review of our store and submit it at #WEB PAGE HERE# and you will be entered to win a $100 gift card to #STORE#."
     
  9. watchdaride

    watchdaride Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    i was thinking of giving a free lapdance for each review at the titi bar . LOL
     
  10. englandrm

    englandrm Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    942
    Likes Received:
    431
    Location:
    Canada
    I've heard about this, and something about the FTC cracking down. I remember a few months/years ago a bunch of "guru's" had to change all their sites around and remove a ton of their reviews.

    On a 3rd party site, does it still count? You aren't hosting the reviews, and I think that you can't be responsible for what other people post on your site (how RipOffReport can have all the posts).

    I guess encouraging posts could be bad. But honestly, if you're a real company, and have real clients, why not get real reviews. Or get them to at least write out reviews, and then post those.


    And just Googled "astroturfing." Interesting/.
     
  11. watchdaride

    watchdaride Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    because happy customers dont leave reviews only unhappy ones ,
     
  12. Taktical

    Taktical Elite Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,657
    Likes Received:
    3,227
    Occupation:
    Jr.Executive VIP
    Location:
    USA
    Good point.


    .
     
  13. TNphoneman

    TNphoneman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177
    Likes Received:
    695
    This is interesting.....

    Our government at work.