1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Google Reviews for Dentist - Bad idea to set up laptop in the office?

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by mqs1000, Apr 15, 2014.

  1. mqs1000

    mqs1000 Power Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    56
    A couple of dentists have mentioned the idea of setting up a laptop on their office with basic instructions for patients to leave a Google+ or Yelp review before they leave. Is this a good idea? Does the fact that all the reviews will be coming from the same IP address be bad?
     
  2. Reyone

    Reyone Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    1,277
    Occupation:
    Hunter
    I think the IP should not be a problem for as long as the person uses that same account in other IPs different from the dentist's one. Good idea btw.
     
  3. bartosimpsonio

    bartosimpsonio Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    8,903
    Likes Received:
    7,492
    Occupation:
    ZLinky2Buy SEO Services
    Location:
    ⇩⇩⇩⇩⇩⇩⇩⇩⇩⇩⇩⇩
    Home Page:
    I'd hand them a business card where on the reverse side it shows a tiny url(or QR code) link to the review page. I think several reviews coming from a single IP will raise flags.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 7
  4. techblog

    techblog Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    383
    Occupation:
    Freelancer
    Location:
    Email Server
    Other option would be giving them discounts on follow up ,so that they do put up a good review!

    Posted via Topify on Android
     
  5. mickyfu

    mickyfu Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    5,279
    Likes Received:
    15,473
    Location:
    Jennifers Office.
    Dentists are notorious for charging high prices and carrying out work that does not need doing. Would it be a good idea to get people to review whilst leaving? I doubt it.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. Osiek

    Osiek Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just use private proxy.
     
  7. BassTrackerBoats

    BassTrackerBoats Moderator Staff Member Moderator Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    22,028
    Occupation:
    I don't actually have a job
    Location:
    It's an Algo, of course it can be gamed.
    Home Page:
    The QR code idea goes a long way and people are impressed that you would have one on a card for them... works nicely for client reviews.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. Typlo

    Typlo Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    499
    Location:
    New York
    Home Page:
    If the people are drugged up and feeling good... could work well.

    Down fall would be reviews may not look like quality ones though.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. Techxan

    Techxan Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,093
    Likes Received:
    3,585
    Occupation:
    Local SEOist
    Location:
    TEXAS (you have to yell, its the law.)
    There are two simple rules for review acquisition.

    1. Unhappy people will leave unfavorable reviews, do not assist them.
    2. Happy people will probably not even leave a review, encourage them to do so.

    This laptop in the waiting room is a singularity bad idea. The people who are n the waiting room are bored and waiting, and very likely to complain about the waiting, especially if they are in pain.

    The truth is that most people only leave reviews when they are really pissed about something. Most happy people are getting what they paid for and it does not occur to them to leave a positive review. They might leave a review if your service/product/meal were beyond spectacular, but excellent service from someone you are paying for is expected today, and we seldom think to leave a positive review when we encounter it.

    Instead of the laptop idea, you should set up a review acquisition system using QR codes and the users mobile phones. Build a landing page for the mobile phone that offers the reviewer a variety of places to leave a review, use a QR code to send the visitor to the review funnel.

    When your staff checks out a customer, teach them to screen for happy customers, and simply ask if the customer would mind giving a review quickly if they can do it by phone.

    If they agree, let them scan the QR code and leave a review (at one of the places you have decided you need them at). When done this way, they leave the review while the service is fresh on their mind, there is a certain "pressure" on them to go ahead and leave the review since someone is standing there to see if they do, and if they are happy when they check out the review will most likely be positive.

    Not only that, but if you need yelp reviews, simply include it in the list of places the customer can leave a lead at on the landing page. When you have enough, switch it for some other review site.

    If you are smart, make the landing page have a "trap" to pull unhappy customers out of the review funnel and into a dialog with the company. Often, a little personal attention will stop a bad review from ever getting posted in the first place.

    If you go with the laptop thing, use a tablet instead (kids will pull the keys off the laptop keyboard, ask how I know), and do not let it have unrestricted internet access. Let it be for the reviews only.

    I bet over time the IP's will be a problem if done from an office.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 3
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2014
  10. Extropy

    Extropy Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Do NOT set up a PC in the office. (Or any business that wants reviews) The single IP is a huge red flag with both Google and Yelp and will cause the reviews to be spammed. Unfortunately this is also the method most likely to get you good reviews as well...

    I ran GlowingReviews.com which posted many reviews on about 20 different sites and know the nuances of each. (I've shut it down due to legal worries)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. randybishop

    randybishop Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    348
    Occupation:
    Keyboard Monkey
    Location:
    In the Interwebs
    Yep, single IP will piss google off and they will yank the reviews.
     
  12. pxoxrxn

    pxoxrxn Supreme Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    2,066
    This about this scenario. You've just been to the dentist and has your tooth pulled out and all you want to do is go home and lay down. The dental assistant then asks you to review their service... I would punch them in the face and laugh as I'm walking out before I took the time to do that shit.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. randybishop

    randybishop Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    348
    Occupation:
    Keyboard Monkey
    Location:
    In the Interwebs
    Hahaha! True! :D
     
  14. Cratos

    Cratos Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    1,095
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    SEO
    Location:
    Where The Elite SEOs Dwell
    Dentists are also straight blackhatters and scammer sons of female dogs.
     
  15. CribWare

    CribWare Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    24
    Used Private Proxies mate.
     
  16. DasWonderful

    DasWonderful Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    With services like Chatterbox Reviews, acquiring reviews is pretty simple so gaming the system really isn't necessary and normally small offices don't have the technical resources to game the system so the IP address issue will bite them in the butt.
     
  17. bizhack3r

    bizhack3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Don't do it, I wouldn't even put a Yelp link on a clients website because they always track back to the refferer. This is against their Terms & Conditions.
     
  18. Techxan

    Techxan Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,093
    Likes Received:
    3,585
    Occupation:
    Local SEOist
    Location:
    TEXAS (you have to yell, its the law.)
    It goes without saying that the person screening candidates who might leave a positive review have a functioning brain.

    Most dental office visits are maintenance.
     
  19. macdonjo3

    macdonjo3 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    5,563
    Likes Received:
    4,317
    Location:
    Toronto
    Home Page:
    The waiting room laptop idea may be bad because they're waiting, but it would sure be easier to get a customer to leave a review if you're standing there at the desk talking to the about their experience after the service is complete.

    A client of mine is bothering me about wanting to have customers leave reviews using their laptop, after the service has been complete. I think if the customer uses their account and since the laptop uses mobile internet, just unplugging the wireless stick and plugging it back in should reset the IP. I think I'll let my client try this tomorrow.

    QR codes are a great idea, but how many people actually know how to work them? Surely them using their mobile phone would offer customer password protect and a unique IP.

    Interesting thought about the referrer. Should I be blanking the referrer? I imagine that'd set off alarms. Otherwise, a QR code on a flyer with codes to each site (Google, Yelp, TripAdvisor, etc) would leave the referrer blank I suppose.
     
  20. irdeto

    irdeto Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    163
    I've done something similar before as a campaign for a group of hairdressers.

    What worked well is getting the customer to do the review themselves just before they leave. I created marketing material for them that advertised something along the lines of 'review our work and show us your review for a 10% discount'.... not those words exactly.

    that way you bypass the ip issue.

    and considering how much those pigs charge for dental services customers will be thrilled to give a review to get a discount.

    your idea will work very well. its tried and tested.