1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

google review stars

Discussion in 'Hire a Freelancer' started by Lauriat, Jun 6, 2013.

  1. Lauriat

    Lauriat Power Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    190
    I am not 100% sure what they are and how to get them, but none of my competitors have these. Anyone offering service to deliver 5 stars next to my domain name?
     
  2. BHServices

    BHServices Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Article Writing / Content Creation / Web-Design Co
    Location:
    London
    Hey,

    To my current belief this 'stars' are only applicable to Google play applications; these are simply user ratings for an application on the play store.

    Regards.
     
  3. innozemec

    innozemec Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    5,290
    Likes Received:
    1,799
    Location:
    www.Indexification.com
    Home Page:
    you are wrong... anyone can have stars by simply putting small html code in his page and pretty soon when the site is recrawled and refreshed in google's listing will have the stars..

    here's what i use:

    Code:
          <div itemscope itemtype="http://schema.org/Product" align="center" style="margin: 20px 0; clear: both;">
            <span itemprop="name" style="font-weight: bold;font-size: 16px;">SITE_NAME_HERE</span> is
            <div itemprop="aggregateRating" itemscope itemtype="http://schema.org/AggregateRating" style="display: inline-block;">
              <b>rated <span itemprop="ratingValue">5</span> / 5</b>
              based on <span itemprop="reviewCount">XXXXX</span> customer reviews
            </div>
          </div>
    
    simply replace SITE_NAME_HERE and XXXXX and put the code somewhere in your page..
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Lauriat

    Lauriat Power Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    190
    OK, but what is process of gaining reviews?
     
  5. innozemec

    innozemec Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    5,290
    Likes Received:
    1,799
    Location:
    www.Indexification.com
    Home Page:
  6. Lauriat

    Lauriat Power Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    190
    Can i get any penalty from google for faking this?
     
  7. lanbo

    lanbo Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,436
    Likes Received:
    595
    Home Page:
    Yes you can - becareful with it
     
  8. innozemec

    innozemec Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    5,290
    Likes Received:
    1,799
    Location:
    www.Indexification.com
    Home Page:
  9. englandrm

    englandrm Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    942
    Likes Received:
    431
    Location:
    Canada
    Someone gave you the code above, but you can go to Schema.org and see all the markup. As for getting reviews it really depends on what business you are in. Obviously real ones are best.

    And putting the code in doesn't guarantee the stars will show. It just makes it a possibility. Google Webmaster Tools also has a markup checker so you can make sure it's all put in correctly.


    Edit: I don't think the penalty would come from Google for using fake reviews. This is where the FTC could potentially come in. If you're in a small niche, it's extremely unlikely that you need to worry about it. But reviews are easy enough to get, so using the real ones are best for a long term strategy.