1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fake Reviews Do's and Don'ts

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by Kosher1, Aug 7, 2012.

  1. Kosher1

    Kosher1 Power Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    395
    I came across this, pretty recent.

    Just watch it and NOTE what bots in the Algo are looking to detect fake reviews and do the opposite.

    :)

    Thanks to the media we can now be more successful

    http://abclocal.go.com/wabc/html5/video?id=8648709&pid=8648712&section=news/7_on_your_side
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 5
  2. OldSalt

    OldSalt Moderator Staff Member Moderator Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,306
    Likes Received:
    7,541
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Sys Admin
    Location:
    US, East Coast
    Defintely a good report - it's interesting how the very things we would try to make it look more 'legit' (including 'Family' as an example) are being used to identify them as likely fake.

    Cool report - thanks
     
  3. ja1myn

    ja1myn Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    306
    Great video. It's amazing how certain words can translate into a whole different meaning.
     
  4. Checkered hat

    Checkered hat Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    169
    We are busted folks! Can't believe it, they figured out there are probably some fake reviews on the internet.
    /Gone hurriedly to delete all i, me, family and very words from reviews.
     
  5. closedCaption

    closedCaption Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    111
    Thanks for posting this, but think it's just news BS. Otherwise, Amazon would have bought that algo long before we ever heard for it. Yes, there is possibly truth in some stats, but come on, can that application really see the difference in reviews given by kids and adults or natural speakers and foreigners (kids and foreigners will surely use more I and family since their vocabulary is thinner).
     
  6. ButcherPete

    ButcherPete BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    282
    Can someone please sum up all the major points for me? It won't play on my computer... :(
     
  7. closedCaption

    closedCaption Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    111
    Sure. There is an algorithm made by some Uni that discovered that fake reviews contain more words like "I", "Me", "Family" and other positive stuff.
    There is also a mentioning of two (I think) different services that check up on reviews, banning manufacturers that are discovered to pay for their reviews etc.

    Nothing sensational IMO...

     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  8. novel92

    novel92 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    56
    Every sentence that starts with

    "I was lucky enough to..."

    is usually some kind of red flag to me when it comes to reviews.
     
  9. tnoam71

    tnoam71 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    33
    Summary: fake review flags (as allegedly determined by a Cornell study according to this news clip):


    • Mention of who the person (i.e. reviewer) was with (e.g. "my family and I visited suchandsuch")
    • Presence of full name of product/service/location being reviewed
    • Repeated usage of first person pronouns (e.g. "I" & "me")
    • Repeated usage of adverbs (e.g. "very" & "really")
    • Are simply too positive and glowing
    • Overuse of exclamation points and positive emotion!
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 3
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2012
  10. hydroflame7

    hydroflame7 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    97
    What reviews did they use to figure out this "algorithm" of theirs and how did they know which of those reviews were fake?

    Sounds like a bunch of bs to me.
     
  11. SaleC

    SaleC Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    348
    Seriously ? Another scary story,still some good points :)
     
  12. EnlightenedOne

    EnlightenedOne BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    111
    If you're working with real businesses one on one, I would say:
    Fake reviews = Don't.
    Real ones are so easy to get.
     
  13. partymarty4870

    partymarty4870 Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,035
    Likes Received:
    1,691
    Location:
    I come from a land downunder
    what I want to know is where they got the real reviews to compare too.
     
  14. Kosher1

    Kosher1 Power Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    395
    Why take a chance ? :)
     
  15. Kosher1

    Kosher1 Power Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    395
    Easy. Ask the business owner

    Lo l!!!
     
  16. closedCaption

    closedCaption Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    111
    You are absolutely right, it always good to avoid some pitfalls, but then again this news report presented the issue as it was solved 100%.

     
  17. Kosher1

    Kosher1 Power Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    395
    Valid. Unless it's a type of business that attracts aholes
     
  18. B. Friendly

    B. Friendly BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    481

    Apparantly a mixed-race lesbian couple were shocked to discover that the hotel that they slept in wasn't as nice as the reviews said it would be, so they complained to another lesbian named "Angie" who has this list that you can get on, and for $5.00 they will review a womans breasts and write the name of the hotel on a card with a picture. Well anyways, there's a college someone that has a REALLY hard math department, and they have calculated a number so complex that it has become intelligent and can actually write reviews on the hotels, and even if it's fake and doesn't have any breasts, the math problem uses the word "I" and "me" and even claims to have a family even though it's just a math problem, and so that is how you can tell it's fake. I think. Maybe that's how you can tell the breats are fake. I really can't remember because while the story was playing I had a video of a bi-racial lesbian couple playing in another window and things go a little confusing at some point so I might have a few things wrong. Oh yeah, and there's this other place called Yelp and I guess they have fake breasts too, not sure.

    One thing I am pretty sure of is that the mixed race lesbians started dating in 2008 (see quoted header information above), but maybe not because they are acting like really really old news is actually new news so they are either a well-established lesbian couple or they just met last week and they aren't very smart.

    So. stupid soft-core porn review site aside, I think it's a more relevent question to ask if the reviews need to be geo-appropriate because it seems pretty STUPID to me that a bunch of so-called expert black hat SEO experts would get their Local SEO advice from two well-dressed lesbians that like to do their photo-shoots in hotel rooms. Instead I would think that it would be pretty obvious that if Yelp or Angies List wanted to find the fake reviews of US small businesses, maybe they would first look at if the IP address came from INDIA or the Phillipines, DUH. Stupid spammers are going to have to do better than that. Can't tell the difference between an SEO video and soft-core porn.
     
  19. Kosher1

    Kosher1 Power Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    395
    Angie is a lez? For real !????
     
  20. B. Friendly

    B. Friendly BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    481
    All I can say, Pickle, is that when I showed her MY pickle, she ran away to call the cops. Not sure if lesbian or size queen? We all do the best in life that we can with what we got, right Pickle? (That's your new name, btw.) My PET name for you. But in a straight way, sort of like how football players talk to each other (but not at the urinal, that's a line-crosser). Also no booty slappin' either. That's also a line crosser. Plus my therapist says my booty is one of my "Erroneous Zones", so I figure it would be wrong if someone hit me there.