1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fake reviews are ILLEGAL.

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by CosmicSoundz, Nov 17, 2013.

  1. CosmicSoundz

    CosmicSoundz BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    1,296
    Hello friends.

    I just recently saw a non jr. vip try to pre sell a BST of a fake review service.

    Let me be clear when I tell you to STAY AWAY from those types of services. They are 100% illegal.

    http://www.ftc.gov/opa/2009/10/endortest.shtm

    Not just illegal for yelp or google, they are illegal FOR ANY FAKE REVIEW ANYWHERE.
     
  2. oplaopla

    oplaopla Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    246
    • Thanks Thanks x 3
  3. greenmusic

    greenmusic Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    161
    I hate the " non jr. vip" part honestly.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. WizGizmo

    WizGizmo Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    3,846
    Likes Received:
    55,442
    I think the individual you are speaking about was
    a bit naive about the whole thing. I have since
    deleted his thread and explained a few things
    to him.

    Cheers! - "Wiz"
     
  5. CosmicSoundz

    CosmicSoundz BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    1,296
    What's to hate?

    Its forum rules that you you can't sell on here unless you are Jr. VIP.
     
  6. greenmusic

    greenmusic Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    161
    I didn't even know this.... But hey! it's good to know that we have people that care about other like you right? : )
     
  7. CosmicSoundz

    CosmicSoundz BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    1,296
    I wish there were more people who cared enough to keep the shit out of this forum.

     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  8. thedorf

    thedorf Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,193
    Likes Received:
    700
    Occupation:
    what? I gotta have a job?
    Location:
    BHW - Where else?
    I'll second that, well said.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. artizhay

    artizhay BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,867
    Likes Received:
    1,335
    So would it make a difference if the person was a Jr. VIP? Since you felt the need to mention that.
     
  10. Adam718

    Adam718 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    433
    Occupation:
    Freelance writer and SEO Specialist
    Location:
    NYC
    It's going to happen regardless, but it's important for actual customers to leave reviews, whether they're good or bad, to give the service the most accurate impression to people checking it out.
     
  11. SpiderBlast

    SpiderBlast BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    1,283
    No offense, but fuck "real" reviews. You people see a couple lawsuits and now everyone's got their panties tied up over fake reviews. So let me just state my opinion on the matter.

    Fake reviews are the shit.

    The FTC might say its illegal and you can be fined, but most of the time they're only going after the vendors. Its the same thing with the online drug market. It is illegal to sell pot online? Sure. But are there dozens of people still selling it? Yes.

    Have some of those vendors been around for years and years? Yes. Why? Because they're not stupid like glowing reviews.
    Have the gross majority of pot vendors never been prosecuted? Yes.

    In fact, I've only seen 2 major busts over the last decade. One was the farmers market the other was silk road. But all the small vendors have managed to evade LE and so have 99% of the buyers.

    I'm just using the drug market as a frame as reference here. Its the same as copyright laws, as fake reviews, the government
    can suck as many dicks as they want trying to enforce these laws.... but they will NEVER win.

    FFS all they ever succeed at is taking out 1 large operation every few years, then they get all this publicity behind it in effort to
    scare weak minded people into not breaking laws that the government can't properly enforce in the first place.

    Now look at online reviews. I've seen like 2 maybe 3 lawsuits in the last decade. There was glowing reviews who were awesome but stupid. They even advertised right here on this forum, when the laws were the same as they are now, but now because of 1 lawsuit everyone wants to jump on the bandwagon and become an advocate for real reviews.

    GIVE ME A BREAK PEOPLE.

    Fake reviews are highly profitable. My pet monkey told me he made a small fortune using
    them and still does. He is one smart fucking monkey.

    They are damn near impossible to trace if you have the slightest clue what you're doing.
    The FTC does NOT have the time or resources to go after small, intelligent operations.
    Or even large, intelligent operations.

    So the problem isn't the law. The problem is how you people perceive the law.

    You can also get fined for driving above the speed limit.. but how many people do that?
    You can get fined for talking on your phone when driving... how many people do that?
    Or turning w/out a blinker?
    Or downloading a torrent?
    Shit, in certain areas of Texas you can be arrested for smoking a CIGARETTE on sidewalks.

    You can get arrested for possession of cannabis, but how many people have it in their
    homes right now who aren't being arrested, and never will, because they don't go around
    parading their shit like a bunch of morons? Then there is the real smart people who store
    their shit in secluded areas away from their property.

    I'm just getting sick of how easily people are detered from breaking bullshit laws. Laws that
    are virtually impossible to enforce if you have more common sense than a monkey.

    What we need is bigger, better, smarter, fake review operations. More anonymity for the
    vendors and buyers. Call me anti-social, but I don't follow laws just because they're laws.
    I follow laws I think are just and moral. You'll never catch me drinking and driving because
    thats a law that makes sense.

    But as far as fake review laws, I take them as seriously as copyright laws. Who am I
    harming? Customers? Am I misrepresenting facts? Great! I don't f##king care. Because
    9/10 of my competitors may not be doing fake reviews, but they are still incentivizing
    their customers with gift cards.... which is technically illegal.... depending on how you
    word it on the card I suppose. :)

    If the FTC had any balls or integrity, they'd start fining Google and Yelp for their gross
    inability to monitor fake reviews. But they won't do that because their pussies.

    So fuck the FTC, fuck real reviews, fuck the government, fuck the war on drugs, fuck all
    you weak minded law abiding citizens. 90% of the reason these bs laws get legislated is
    because 1 ripe dipshit manages to ruin a good thing for the rest of us.

    Corporations are allowed to market their bs highly addictive drugs to us every 10 seconds
    on tv and the radio, where are all you moralistic preachers for that debate? They're allowed
    to genetically modify our foods without telling us, every few years the DSM has a new
    excuse to lock you up in an insane asylum. America was built on corruption when standard
    oil signed contracts with the government to monopolize the oil industry and put thousands
    of family's out of business. In the 80's, the first owner of LA fitness got away with raping
    clients into 12 month contracts after he read research saying that 90% of new customers
    would never return after the first month. He got filthy rich and everyone started copying his
    "trick" and doing the same thing. Look at the housing bubble, real estate, wall street, how
    casinos were started.... corruption is the blood that runs through the veins of the entire
    world.

    So if someone wants to get on my case about a few fake reviews, what can I say other
    than I don't GAF?

    -SB
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 10
  12. MadStacks

    MadStacks BANNED BANNED

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,494
    Likes Received:
    493
    Clearly what the OP meant about the "jr.VIP" thing is that it is against the rules. He was not demonizing non jr.VIPs
     
  13. No.RuleZ

    No.RuleZ Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    358
    they have to sue more people because spam is everywhere
     
  14. KardoseR

    KardoseR Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    151
    They can be illegal, but how can you prove they are fake?

    stop shitting your pants, business is business and lots of big corporations does this
     
  15. Andrew Scherer

    Andrew Scherer Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,092
    Likes Received:
    452
    Location:
    Mazatlan, Mexico
    This is blackhatworld... What did you think the black hat stood for?
     
  16. pitbully

    pitbully Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    197
    I know I'm still kind of new here, but why are we talking about fake reviews? This is BHW. Should we hang everybody who crosses the street outside of a designated crosswalk as well?
     
  17. Wania

    Wania Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    96
    I'd like to remind everyone that FTC has no jurisdiction whatsoever outside of USA.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  18. DamageX

    DamageX Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,692
    Likes Received:
    1,687
    Occupation:
    Unemployable
    Location:
    Former nomad
    Of course, you can forget about ever travelling to the US, if you end up on their radar. Unless you wanna pay some hefty fines.
     
  19. Scritty

    Scritty Elite Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,807
    Likes Received:
    4,496
    Occupation:
    Affiliate Marketer
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    Surprised how few people in IM are aware of their responsibilities as affiliates.
    While most of the stuff won't get you caught. The laws do exist that will hammer a lot of stuff that many affiliates routinely do - and fake reviews and testimonals are one of them - but there are more should the law decide to act. The legislation already exists in most of the Western World.

    So having a server stack run by and in the name of a local out there - but working for you - in places like Uganda or Indonesia is really pretty useful.
    (AHEM)

    Shit worth knowing....

    http://www.demondemon.com/2013/03/18/your-responsibilities-as-an-affiliate/

    Scritty
     
  20. Aquarius.

    Aquarius. Power Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    79
    Exactly... This is not a place to make the OP's argument...

    And if a product sucks fake glowing reviews won't save it anyways; people will eventually find out it's bullshit... Now if it's a decent or even a good product fake reviews will help boost its sales significantly...