1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does Google+ reviews pushes the rankings up?

Discussion in 'Black Hat SEO' started by rayee, May 17, 2014.

  1. rayee

    rayee Power Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    66
    Does Google+ reviews pushes the rankings up? Im wondering if any form of review have any form of impact on the rankings
     
  2. Scritty

    Scritty Elite Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,807
    Likes Received:
    4,496
    Occupation:
    Affiliate Marketer
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    No - apparently not. At least that's what Google insist.

    Scritty
     
  3. Lando Calrissian

    Lando Calrissian Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    14
    From my testing no.

    Same with fb, twitter and youtube profiles.
     
  4. pragueinhere

    pragueinhere Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, but you should be looking at more than simple pushing your rankings up...
     
  5. luccha

    luccha Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    93
    Occupation:
    Cron
    Location:
    On Earth
    I have seen the actual review on G+ being ranked above the actual product. Dont know if a link from it pushes the ranking up or not.
     
  6. Argoss

    Argoss Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    12
    Google says no, but I tend to disagree slightly.

    Having just a couple reviews isn't going to make a big difference. Combined with all of your other efforts, though, getting regular reviews would show Google that you are gaining popularity overall and may rank you higher.

    It's also better to have those reviews for people who are actually looking at them, so it's still important to get them.
     
  7. tg01

    tg01 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    103
    Probably not, though they massively improve click through rates. Simply adding ratings micro data to your site will result in 5 stars.
     
  8. BreaknBrix

    BreaknBrix Power Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    4,189
    Location:
    NE US
    Are we talking about website rankings or G local rankings?

    If you're asking if reviews will increase the rankings of your site, my answer would be no. Reviews have no effect on your site's rankings.

    On the other hand, if you're asking if reviews increase your G local rankings... then YES they most certainly do. Reviews have had a very powerful impact on every listing I've ranked. There were many times when I had reviews left and just a day or 2 later I'd notice my listing showing up in towns that it never use to show up in. And there would be a corresponding spike in traffic. Also, there have been some very comprehensive case studies that prove this. Reviews + citations are the 2 most important things for ranking a local listing.

    Most importantly, I really can't stress this enough. But the impact that reviews have on *conversions* is unbelievable. I can tell you for a fact, every G local I do, the more and more reviews they get, the more qualified the traffic is, the less they probe us for credentials, the less they ask questions in general, the more urgency there is, and the more likely they are to buy. I have 1 site that ranks poorly on Google (the site itself). But it has like 80+ awesome reviews all over the net. And that site generates between 3-5 calls a day. Till this day I still don't know where most that traffic comes from. I assume it's just an accumulation of all the different sites we have reviews on. Then I have another site that ranks #1 organically for 6 primary keywords. But it has no reviews yet. And guess what? The site with the reviews and crappier rankings generates about 3xs as much traffic as the site that ranks for its primary keywords w/out any reviews.
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2014