1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does buying reviews for Amazon work?

Discussion in 'Making Money' started by Branjohn03, Jan 28, 2017.

  1. Branjohn03

    Branjohn03 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Just wondering if purchasing positive reviews for Amazon works? Does Amazon have a way to know if the review isn't legit or not?
     
  2. GringoMonkey

    GringoMonkey Power Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    220
    Occupation:
    Making and Spending Money Online
  3. MisterF

    MisterF Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7,160
    Likes Received:
    5,637
    Occupation:
    Conference Organiser, Business Advisor.,
    Location:
    JADIP
    Home Page:
    Plenty people still do it, as you'll see on here too.

    I tend to ignore reviews unless they're verified purchases.

    There's several groups where people will send heavily discounted / free products out to get reviews, these are shown as verified purchases.
    Hope that helps.
     
  4. hashir

    hashir Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    49
    Yes they still do... It is however hard to find reviewers on Fiverr these days coz AZ started cracking down pretty hard about a year ago.
     
  5. Branjohn03

    Branjohn03 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    What are some of the best white hat/legal methods to gain an advantage over competitors then?
     
  6. AlanWatts33

    AlanWatts33 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2016
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    62
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Michigan, United States
    Home Page:
    Amazon still allows you to do 5 giveaways a week, you just can't force them to write a review. From what I have seen, the email marketing campaigns are a big thing now, and the seller always sends a note with the product asking you for a review. Basically the seller will advertise their products on these facebook groups and the reviewers will pm them. The seller asks for an honest review in exchange. Which is still against TOS, its just safer to ask for an honest review to lower the chance of someone reporting you. Amazon all in all doesnt really care about these facebook methods because for one, amazon makes money off of biased reviews and giveaways, and its not like fiver with its own payment processor, people just pm their paypal accounts. Nothing amazon can do about that.
     
  7. Branjohn03

    Branjohn03 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    That makes sense. Is there a big difference between verified purchase reviews, and unverified? Like if I were to pay 100 people on BHW to leave a review, would that have the same impact as giving away products and getting 100 reviews with verified purchases?
     
  8. AlanWatts33

    AlanWatts33 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2016
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    62
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Michigan, United States
    Home Page:
    No not at all, in fact, in the US and UK, unverified reviews dont do anything for the algorithm anymore. Certain niches they seem to work for but chances are that 90 of them would be removed.
     
  9. Branjohn03

    Branjohn03 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Well that certainly sucks. What are the relevant methods being used now then to spike the system to quickly get 15-20 reviews? Are people still able to do large giveaways in different/more discrete ways or is that route dead and gone?
     
  10. AlanWatts33

    AlanWatts33 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2016
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    62
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Michigan, United States
    Home Page:
    Review sites and facebook groups are still a big thing. It has just become more discreet and there is always the chance of an amazon employee ratting you out. This is why I made a secret facebook group. Everyone is screened and tested. It's gold for sellers that want to be safe.
     
  11. J-S-T

    J-S-T Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    623
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Fb and BHW
    As a Buyer, i read Reviews on Amazon. But i can actually figure out the fake ones.
     
  12. Branjohn03

    Branjohn03 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    How do people get the reviews though? Before I know you could just give people a coupon code to buy the product for $1 or whatever, but can you still do that? Or does Amazon limit/monitor things like that? When you join the Facebook groups/review sites how much do the reviews usually cost?
     
  13. tripartist1

    tripartist1 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    45
    Okay, yes purchased reviews help the serps. But as stated, they have to be verified, meaning, the customer has to buy the product. Usually (aside from bulk reviewers) the price of the product is reimbursed, so the purchase is actually made, and usually even shipped. Payment is generally made through paypal, so amazon sees nothing, as long as the reviewer knows how to make the purchases look organic.
     
  14. Branjohn03

    Branjohn03 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Is there a way to do it without having to pay for your own product?
     
  15. AlanWatts33

    AlanWatts33 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2016
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    62
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Michigan, United States
    Home Page:
    No you have to fully purchase the product. There is a threshold for discount percentage but nothing that can be consistently stated. People have discounted 20% off an item and had the badge removed and people have discounted 80% off a product and had the verified badge stick. The only way to be sure is to make the full purchase and make it look organic by either searching through an organic search or linking the product out to an external page like social media, forum, blog, etc.
     
  16. tripartist1

    tripartist1 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    45
    Well, you're not really paying for your own product, as the money comes back to you once everything is processed. You're basically sending your item out for free. You pay reviewer $20 to buy your $20 product. Buyer pays $20 on amazon (which pays you $20 in two weeks). You ship the product. You now have your original money back, and are short one product.
     
  17. Branjohn03

    Branjohn03 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Yah, the $20 comes back to you minus the price of the product, shipping fees from the supplier, FBA fees from Amazon, and all the other small random fees you're charged.
     
  18. hero76

    hero76 Power Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    94
    Gender:
    Male
    i know the price of reviews has gone down in 2 years.

    2 years back i was getting $10 to $15 on average. now i get requests for $5 or even $2 reviews!

    i've moved away from it because i accumulated too much iphone cases, mirrors, beard catchers, etc. that all end up at the salvation army .
     
  19. tripartist1

    tripartist1 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    45
    I usually get $10 still, have only done 1 $5 review.
     
  20. Branjohn03

    Branjohn03 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    So if my product is $14.99, I'd pay the person the $14.99 to purchase my product and then the $5-$10 fee?