1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Clickbooth is now auditing blogs and review sites

Discussion in 'CPA' started by Biscut, Apr 3, 2009.

  1. Biscut

    Biscut Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    259
    Has anyone else received Clickbooth's new rules regarding blogs and review sites? Here is part of what was in the email.

    We are now communicating this to all of our partners to continue to ensure that all publisher traffic generation methods are 100 percent compliant with regulations and not misleading to the
    consumer in any way. Clickbooth's senior director of compliance, Ziare
    Brown, has been pivotal in this entire process.
    This process entails more than a set of guidelines. We will also be
    auditing any blog and review sites via an ongoing audit process to ensure the full compliance of everyone in the partner relationship.

    We have now posted our initial guidelines and review process so other
    advertising and affiliate networks can follow our lead and ensure the compliance of their partners as well. They are available for review at
    hxxp://w3.clickbooth.c0m/compliance_review_guidelines.html.

    Please review these to ensure that your review site or blog site meets the
    standards we have set
    out. There is no margin for less than 100 percent compliance. That is
    our standard and that of the
    partners we will continue to work with.

    Here are a few points on their website:

    -Review websites must disclose review process and steps taken to ensure a fair review

    - Each such Publisher Website must contain a clearly worded disclaimer disclosing the fact that the proprietor of the Website has a commercial relationship whereby it receives compensation for referrals that result in sales of the product(s) featured on the Website

    -Links to products must have an asterisk leading to a disclaimer that discloses affiliations and compensation

    - Clickbooth will ensure Blog and Review websites comply with these guidelines by reserving the right to review each such Publisher Website randomly for compliance. At Clickbooth's request publisher must provide copy of Driver License or other form of Government ID of consumer depicted on website as well as confirm or authenticate facts stated on website. Publisher must respond satisfactorily within 5 business days of an audit or account will be terminated

    I wonder how many people will replace their ads with another network. From the sound of this you won't be able to cloak your links with them.

    What do you think?
     
  2. dotthei

    dotthei Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    73
    W....t.....f.
     
  3. tywebb

    tywebb Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    In the fairway
    Thats just insane. Do they really expect advertisers to stick with them considering the limitations? What are they asking us to do is obviously going to cut conversions WAY down. Im thinking they might change their minds once they see the affect this is going to have on their business.

    I know I wont be using them if all of that is required.
     
  4. bargain

    bargain Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    3
    april fools joke?

    that is quite possibly the gayest thing i have ever seen. Ziare is clearly retarded.

    lol @ clickbooth, if they want to protect themselves against litigation, they should change the jurisdiction of where they are incorporated?!?! or are they doing this out of care for the surfer?!?!
     
  5. imontie

    imontie Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    64
    Sucks for them. I guess I'll be staying away from Clickbooth.
     
  6. Biscut

    Biscut Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    259
    I am sure there are plenty of fake review sites for products like Acai but I think the biggest problem they have is the fact that they get rebilled and it is hard to cancel. That's not the affiliates fault, that is the advertiser.

    It was nice of them to send this out on Friday. It gives me time this weekend to change my ads over to one of the many other networks I use. I never did like their Net 60 crap so this gives me another reason to change them out.
     
  7. itrader2

    itrader2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    17
    That is ridiculous. But its only review sites and blogs.

    itrader2
     
  8. photoads

    photoads Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    96
    Pretty insane how do they expect to manage this? Lets hope none of the other networks follow suit!
     
  9. secretboy08

    secretboy08 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,369
    Likes Received:
    877
    Occupation:
    Internet marketer
    Location:
    Global Citizen
    none other will follow them because they want business,unlike clickbooth.
     
  10. rogerrabbit

    rogerrabbit Registered Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    15
    Occupation:
    Aritcle Content Production / CPA Offers / Black Ha
    Location:
    New York City / Suffolk County
    This is actually pretty funny because if you talk to your COPEAC AM they will GIVE you a review site LOL
     
  11. omgreally

    omgreally Guest

    Now, if only they enforced the same audit policies on their shady advertisers. This is ridiculous. The advertisers are sometimes worse then the publishers.

    Oh well. I'm not so disappointed at being canned by Ziare last week. I think he's been brought on as the 'enforcer'.

    Everyone using Clickboof start DMR'ing your links :p
     
  12. helpnub

    helpnub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    43
    World's gone mad, first Click booth then Amazon. Obviously they don't realise how much money independent marketers make for them.
     
  13. ShadeDream

    ShadeDream Elite Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,209
    Likes Received:
    5,230
    Location:
    He who laughs last, laughs longest.
    This is bullshit. The only reason they are telling people to do this is so that when the surfers view their website and see that it's a commercial site where they earn money via affiliate links then the evil surfer will decide to drop out the affilate link and visit the site directly which will mean you lose out on A. Traffic B. Money. ClickBooth thinks that because they are big they can fuck around... :| LOL
     
  14. joker790

    joker790 Jr. VIP Jr. VIP Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    173
    Occupation:
    SEO consultant
    Home Page:
    I got the same message from CB. Some aff. networks want to look more legitimate, but seem to be out of touch with their affiliates. In this case, I think they're better off monitoring the official landing pages of their advertisers that say Free Trial when there's nothing free about it instead of trying to monitor the thousands of pages their affiliates create.
     
  15. Biscut

    Biscut Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    259
    They are definitely out of touch. On one hand they look more legitimate and bring on more publishers and on the other they piss off the affiliates and have less traffic coming in. Then they will lose the publishers AND the affiliates.

    How do they know that affiliates using double meta refresh aren't using blogs and review sites? I'll bet DMR will be next on the Clickbooth chopping block.
     
  16. westee

    westee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    29
    Occupation:
    Lo.okin at it..+(medium size producer)
    Location:
    ~~\(o.O)/~~
    thats crazy, hope all networks don't follow with this...i dont have an account with CBooth but if I did I would most likely switch to another network rather then but up with this bs...j mo
     
  17. Zoolu

    Zoolu Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Area QLD.
    Maybe they're trying to get rid of the true money mkaing sites on their network and replace them with their own crap review sties and blogs. Look at how clandestine Ebay is with their future plans against sellers, etc.

    You never know with people these days. Blackhatters in high places so to speak.

    What you do you all reckon?
     
  18. lovekanewangbo

    lovekanewangbo Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    3
    just i just see this from their blog
     
  19. blackhat50

    blackhat50 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    103
    its no biggie, theres so many affiliate companys to join, if they put that up and stick with it, competition will take the ones that don't want to follow those guidelines, i think its not a good choice for them, its good for the merchants but whos going to push those offers?